Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated Centerfire rifles, carbines and other gas operated rifles.

Old 05-27-2011, 9:03 AM

Default AR 15 Double Tap

I am new to Calguns and I have an AR15 problem.

I have a DSarms lower and a DPMS lower parts kit. I have fired my AR a few time and never had a double tap but my friends have. Yesterday I was out shooting and my AR fired twice when I pulled the trigger. I changed the magazine and fired again and the same thing happened. I then pulled the trigger and held it back and then released and it fired again. It is not the magazine or the ammo I am using. I have check all the springs and they are in the correct place and not upside down.

Thank you for your help.
Old 05-27-2011, 9:05 AM
Vendor/Retailer

You most likely have a problem with the disconnector or the associated spring. Take the FCG apart and fix it ASAP. Don't shoot it until this issue is resolved by you or a competent gunsmith. Have you done a function test on the lower?

How to do the function test is here at 4:40:

Check out our e-commerce site here:

www.ebrworks.com

Serving you from Prescott, AZ

Last edited by EBR Works; 05-27-2011 at 9:18 AM..
Old 05-27-2011, 9:15 AM
Banned

Quote:
I then pulled the trigger and held it back and then released and it fired again
worn hammer/disconnector trigger. When you release the trigger it releases the hammer, the disconnector trigger grabs the hammer and waits for the trigger to pull back again.
Replace your disconnector trigger and hammer.

Last edited by dieselpower; 05-27-2011 at 9:26 AM..
Old 05-27-2011, 9:18 AM

Yes I have done a function check and it works just fine.