Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > INTERESTS AND ACTIVITIES > Ammo and Reloading
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Ammo and Reloading Factory Ammunition, Reloading, Components, Load Data and more.

Old 05-26-2011, 8:38 PM

Default Question about powder loads for 9MM

I'm new to reloading (I only cleaned and de-primed my brass so far) but was getting ready to start and now would like some help from folks who know.

Question: How do you decide which data set to use and believe when selecting reloading data?

Example:
Lyman Reloading Handbook 49th edition page 341:
9MM 115 Gr Jacketed HP using Titegroup powder, the min load is 4.0 grains (Pressure CUP 27,100) and the max is 4.5 (Pressure CUP 31,400).

According to the label on Hodgdon Titegroup for 9MM, starting load is 4.32 and the max load is 4.8

According to Hodgdon.com reloading center, the starting load is 3.9 (Pressure CUP 25,800) and the max is 4.3 (Pressure CUP 30,500)

I'll start using the Lyman load but the charge on the label looks significantly higher then either the website or the book. How do you select which data set you will follow? thanks.
Old 05-26-2011, 8:47 PM
Banned

i trust the loading books. the internet is a good second, and i never use the label for reloading.

i run 4.3gr with my 9mm. 1.150 COAL and chronos around 1085/1100.

but thats my way of choosing a load. i also own 4 manuals....so i compare too...

R
Old 05-26-2011, 8:53 PM

If you are just reloading plinking ammo, stick to the minimum first. Load a few and try it out at the range. If you are not getting any malfunctions and your grouping is decent, stick with it. If not you can fine tune it by going up slowly.
Remember, just because there is a maximum load doesn't mean it's more accurate.
Originally Posted by zfields View Post