Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > INTERESTS AND ACTIVITIES > Ammo and Reloading
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Ammo and Reloading Factory Ammunition, Reloading, Components, Load Data and more.

Old 05-23-2011, 6:27 PM

Default Which powder/load for 45 Colt in a Marlin 1894

Hey everybody, im new to reloading the 45 Colt. Ill be using it in my Marlin 1894 Cowboy. Ill be using a lead 250 grain RNFP bullet. I have been doing a lot of research and most of the loads im finding are more on the light side for the SAA type revolvers. I cant seem to find much load data for rifles. Im seeing that Unique is a pretty popular powder along with W231. Im leaning towards Unique due to its versatility and popularity. Once i get my load data guide that comes with the Lee die set ill see what that says but im curious what loads you guys use in your rifles. I was thinking about starting off with 9 grains of Unique and go from there. I dont want a light SAA pistol type load but i dont need a high velocity hunting load either, just something in the middle for fun plinking around if that makes sense lol

On a side note, It'd be nice if the powder will work with the Lee Perfect Powder Measure, which i hear is not too accurate when it comes to certain powders like Unique, the small flake type powder. What powder measures do you guys use with Unique?
Thanks fellow Calgunners!

Last edited by Thomas1190; 05-23-2011 at 6:32 PM..
Old 05-23-2011, 9:49 PM