Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > POLITICS, LITIGATION AND ACTIVISM > California 2nd Amend. Political Discussion & Activism
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

California 2nd Amend. Political Discussion & Activism Discuss gun rights activism and 2A related political topics here. All advice given is NOT legal counsel.

Old 02-11-2011, 10:29 PM

Default CA resident buy firearms in NV?

Hey quick question, I am a CA resident and I will be taking a trip to NV in a couple of months. I was wondering if it was legal to buy a firearm in NV? Is it even allowed? Do you have to be a resident of NV? Are there different rules for handguns, shotguns, and rifles?
Old 02-11-2011, 10:30 PM
Oy vey
CGN Contributor

IIRC you have to have it shipped to an FFL in California for paperwork processing
Old 02-11-2011, 10:30 PM

You can have it shipped to an FFL dealer in California and complete the transaction there. But purchasing a firearm outside your state of residence is a violation of federal law.

"Criminals are a small minority in any age or country. And the harm they have done to mankind is infinitesimal when compared to the horrors—the bloodshed, the wars, the persecutions, the confiscations, the famines, the enslavements, the wholesale destructions—perpetrated by mankind's governments."
Ayn Rand, Capitalism: The Unknown Ideal (1967)
Old 02-11-2011, 10:33 PM

If you have a C&R license you can buy a C&R rifle and bring it home. You also can buy a C&R pistol, but must register it within so many days of coming into California. The form is available online. I don't remember the link off the top of my head.
Old 02-11-2011, 10:42 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zak View Post