Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > POLITICS, LITIGATION AND ACTIVISM > California 2nd Amend. Political Discussion & Activism
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

California 2nd Amend. Political Discussion & Activism Discuss gun rights activism and 2A related political topics here. All advice given is NOT legal counsel.

Old 08-24-2006, 3:44 AM

Default Are steel core bullets considered armor piercing?

I'm looking at some component bullets to reload for .223.....

some of them are steel core.....are these legally considered armor piercing (and therefore illegal in ca?)? or is that something different? and can someone explain the difference?

Thanks....
Old 08-24-2006, 7:11 AM
Internet Dictator
CGN Contributor - Lifetime

first off: i'm not a lawyer

i know for a fact that the SS-109 bullet, the kind on M855 ammo, is not armor piercing legally (and in practice). The steel core gives it enhanced long-range penetration, but it's not really an AP round. AP rounds are usually made of stuff harder than steel, like tungsten-carbide

so i know the SS-109 bullet you're good to go. As for other, i refer you to the ATF:

Quote:
Originally Posted by BATFE
"Armor piercing ammunition" is defined in federal law [18 U.S.C. 921(17)(B)] as "a projectile or projectile core which may be used in a handgun and which is constructed" of various metals harder than lead, or "a full jacketed projectile larger than .22 caliber designed and intended for use in a handgun and whose jacket has a weight of more than 25 percent of the total weight of the projectile."
there's some gray area, such as "intended" for use in a handgun. The fact that there ARE 5.56mm handguns doesn't help. But if the steel tip is under the jacket, not part of the jacket, AND you have a mostly lead core, you should be good.