Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > INTERESTS AND ACTIVITIES > Ammo and Reloading
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Ammo and Reloading Factory Ammunition, Reloading, Components, Load Data and more.

Old 12-23-2010, 7:41 PM

Default Winchester AutoComp powder?

Just wondering if anyone has tried Winchester Auto Comp powder for reloading. I bought a pound of it upon a local dealer's recommendation and have had rather inconsistent and poor results. So far I've only tried it in .38 special loads, so it may be that it is only good for semi-auto loads with cases that are filled more completely than the .38 cases are. The powder is a ball type powder that doesn't have much volume to it compared to other powders I've tried. I'm still a novice reloader but I've had better results with other powders I've tried so far.

I've noticed that the kick for each shot is very inconsistent. Some rounds feel rather hot and other rounds feel very light. I've loaded a total of 200 rounds with a Dillon 550 and shot them all. About every 15 rounds I checked the powder charge weight and they have all been consistent, however the recoil characteristics are still very inconsistent. I've also had 4 squib rounds that I've had to punch out of the barrel from this 200 round batch. I was very careful to check that each round had a powder charge after I got an initial squib in the first 50 rounds that I loaded to test fire. This alone is unacceptable to me.