Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > OUTDOORS, HUNTING AND SURVIVAL > Hunting and Fishing
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Hunting and Fishing Rifle, Shotgun, Handgun, Archery, Blackpowder Saltwater and Fresh Water

Old 09-12-2010, 9:54 AM
Senior Mumbler
CGN Contributor

Default Hunting mag capacity

I'm new to hunting and just took my hunter safety course. I know my shotgun must be limited to 3 rds but what about my rifle? I thought I remember a 5 round limit on magazine capacity but I've heard conflicting stories. I would be using my ar15 for varmint and predators. Any help is appreciated.
Old 09-12-2010, 9:55 AM

No limit on rifle magazine capacity, just make sure it is a legal configuration (non-AW)
And the wisdom to know the difference.
Old 09-12-2010, 10:02 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by professorhard View Post
No limit on rifle magazine capacity, just make sure it is a legal configuration (non-AW)
EXACTLY! THE green pants FUD STOPS here!
Old 09-12-2010, 10:07 AM
Banned

Also no limit on the shotgun capacity when hunting varmints or predators. 3 round limits are for the birds.

Then again, if you dont pop your coyote within 3 rounds with the shotgun, you need to practice. LOL

Just make sure you use some #4 buckshot in 3" (outside of condor territory) or Dead Coyote in 3" (inside condor territory) and a full or even tighter choke.
Old 09-12-2010, 10:33 AM
Senior Mumbler
CGN Contributor