Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > California handguns
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

California handguns Discuss your favorite California handgun technical and related questions here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2010, 9:46 PM
noveskePL noveskePL is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 52
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default want to purchase handgun from a friend

from one CA resident to another (private). What steps do I have to take? 10 day wait still?

can I purchase a .50 Desert Eagle from another CA resident who bought it pre-ban?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2010, 9:55 PM
mds2004's Avatar
mds2004 mds2004 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 945
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Default

Youre fine with a PPT (private party transfer). With the PPT the handgun does not have to be on the approved list. You both need to go to a dealer, and you will pay $35 ($25 DROS + $10 fee) and then the 10 day wait begins. Another plus is that you arent limited to one handgun per 30 days with the PPT
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:02 PM
Ed_Hazard's Avatar
Ed_Hazard Ed_Hazard is offline
Calguns Addict
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LosAngele/310
Posts: 5,176
iTrader: 160 / 100%
Default

Pretty much what was stated above. The buyer will need to have his HSC card prior to purchase. Available at dealer for $25 testing fee.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sic Boy
And I bet Jobs surfs porn. If he doesn't, I'll eat a live baby on stage at the next Apple event.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJAX22
Don't F with those guys... they can probably use their teabag to inflict blunt force trauma.


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:13 PM
Cyc Wid It's Avatar
Cyc Wid It Cyc Wid It is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,496
iTrader: 24 / 100%
Default

1. Ten day waiting period.
2. $25 fee for background check.
3. Clean criminal and mental health record.
4. Valid California Driverís License or California Identification Card.
5. Handgun safety certificate.
This means that you will need to take and pass a 30-question test, in the store, to receive this certificate. There is a $25 fee and it is good for five years. A hunting license is not acceptable. The exemptions are:

a. Active or retired peace officer.
b. Active or retired military (20 years and out).
c. Peculiar and limited authority peace officer.
d. CCW holders.
e. Certified firearm instructors.
f. FFL holders.

6. You need to be a California resident, and will need to prove your residency by providing ONE of the following items:
a. Rental or lease agreement.
b. Utility bill within the last three months.
c. Property deed.
d. Government license with expiration date.
e. Signed, dated and notarized rental agreement or contract.

Unacceptable proofs of residency are:
a. Cellular phone bill.
b. Passport.
c. Pay stub.

7. When you purchase or pick up your firearm, you will need to perform a safety demonstration with the gun you are purchasing, in the store.
This requires that you follow all firearm safety rules, checking to see that the firearm is unloaded, remove a trigger lock from the gun, load one dummy round into the gun and chamber the round, and unload and relock the firearm.
8. Before leaving the store, you must have a California approved lock box, safe, or trigger lock for your firearm.
9. You will need to have your thumbprint taken.
__________________
Please search/read stickies and permanent links AT THE TOP OF EVERY PAGE before making a thread.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2010, 12:03 AM
Anchors's Avatar
Anchors Anchors is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Dystopia
Posts: 5,943
iTrader: 44 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyc Wid It View Post
8. Before leaving the store, you must have a California approved lock box, safe, or trigger lock for your firearm.
Just to clarify. For handguns you need a trigger lock regardless of whether you have a safe/lock box. And it has to be purchased at pick-up or within the last 30 days (with receipt.) (Guns that come with factory trigger locks are okay.)

Tip:
If you have any trigger locks laying around you can sell them to a friend for $1 and buy them back for $1 (creating receipts for both transactions.)
Then just bring the receipt your friend wrote up when selling it back to you.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2010, 1:50 AM
JanG's Avatar
JanG JanG is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,152
iTrader: 45 / 100%
Default

i thought locks have to be purchased new within 30 days...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-01-2010, 1:58 AM
Ed_Hazard's Avatar
Ed_Hazard Ed_Hazard is offline
Calguns Addict
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LosAngele/310
Posts: 5,176
iTrader: 160 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JanG View Post
i thought locks have to be purchased new within 30 days...
Yes they do. The recipt would show that you purchased the lock withen the 30 day window.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sic Boy
And I bet Jobs surfs porn. If he doesn't, I'll eat a live baby on stage at the next Apple event.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJAX22
Don't F with those guys... they can probably use their teabag to inflict blunt force trauma.


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-2010, 8:13 AM
maxmonster's Avatar
maxmonster maxmonster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North OC
Posts: 313
iTrader: 24 / 100%
Default

you can use car registration as proof of residency too
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-01-2010, 8:18 AM
redcliff's Avatar
redcliff redcliff is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Shasta County
Posts: 5,290
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

I've done ppt's at 3 different gun stores; two of them waived the trigger lock due to my having a safe, the third one required me to buy a new trigger lock. YMMV.
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
"What we get away with isn't usually the same as what's good for us"
"An extended slide stop is the second most useless part you can put on a 1911"

"While Ruger DA revolvers may be built like a tank, they have the aesthetics of one also,
although I suppose there are a few tanks which I owe an apology to for that remark"
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-01-2010, 8:25 AM
daveinwoodland's Avatar
daveinwoodland daveinwoodland is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6,429
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

Question on two things. I am ex military (not retired though with pay),
and question number two, I do have a FFL C&R license.

Does that count as exempt??? Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-01-2010, 9:47 AM
jtmkinsd jtmkinsd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,352
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveinwoodland View Post
Question on two things. I am ex military (not retired though with pay),
and question number two, I do have a FFL C&R license.

Does that count as exempt??? Thank you
You must also have a CA Certificate of Eligibility (COE)...those two things will exempt you from the HSC requirement ON CURIO AND RELIC HANDGUNS ONLY
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-01-2010, 10:10 AM
kmca's Avatar
kmca kmca is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Jose
Posts: 2,373
iTrader: 24 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redcliff View Post
I've done ppt's at 3 different gun stores; two of them waived the trigger lock due to my having a safe, the third one required me to buy a new trigger lock. YMMV.
The first two stores were almost right, if you filled out the safe affidavit. That fulfills the California requirement. You would need a lock (not necessarily purchased within 30 days) to fulfill the Federal requirement. The 3rd store did okay.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-05-2010, 6:37 PM
Whatisthis?'s Avatar
Whatisthis? Whatisthis? is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,767
iTrader: 55 / 100%
Default

Related to OP but not wanting to start a new thread... So you can PPT a gun off roster, but can you PPT 11+ round mags? So my friend has three 15 round mags for his Sig P226, could he legally sell one to me? Does it change if he PPT the gun to me along with the mags?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-05-2010, 7:17 PM
Tank 57's Avatar
Tank 57 Tank 57 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tracy
Posts: 3,309
iTrader: 49 / 100%
Default

Cannot PPT Hi-Cap mags.Had to sell my Glock without the mags.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-05-2010, 7:30 PM
Whatisthis?'s Avatar
Whatisthis? Whatisthis? is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,767
iTrader: 55 / 100%
Default

Ok, but some PPT in the private sales section comment about having mag rebuilds... Is this for out of state purchasers?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:02 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2018, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.
Calguns.net and The Calguns Foundation have no affiliation and are in no way related to each other.
All opinions, statements and remarks made by Calguns.net on this web site and elsewhere are solely attributable to Calguns.net.