Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Curio & Relic/Black Powder
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Curio & Relic/Black Powder Curio & Relics and Black Powder Firearms, Old School shooting fun!

Old 05-03-2006, 5:30 PM

Question The history of your C&R Rifle, can you track it?

I posted this in another thread, and it got kinda lost as it was off topic.

I'm new to the whole C&R thing and was wondering - does anyone have any resources for tracking the history of our old C&R's? I'm particularly interested in tracking down the history of my old Mosin Nagant 91/30. Did the USSR keep any records on the disposition and issuance of weapons?

Any info on other makes would be welcome as well, as I intend to collect as many of them as I can!

NH
Old 05-03-2006, 7:55 PM

Here is a brief idea of how soviet weapons were treated.

You, take this rifle.

You, take this ammunition. When he gets killed you pick up the rifle.

You can however learn alot about where a rifle may have have gone, or been captured by the differnt stampings on it. Also where it was made or converted.

If you really want to learn more I'd spend some quality time at surplusrifle.com

I like my 20's stamped
Old 05-03-2006, 11:54 PM

I would think that all Mosin saw action one time or another. Whether it be the Russo-Jap War, The Revolution, WW1, Russo-Finnish War (1 and 2), WWII, then any later conflict. A good number of M44 with WWII dates probably saw action Berlin.

These are not like the K31 with the data sheets or Yugo SKSs, damn.

Still alive, still fight.
Old 05-04-2006, 12:02 AM
Veteran Member