Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Shotgun discussions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Shotgun discussions Trap, Hunting, Defense and more. A place for enthusiasts to discuss the shotgun.

Old 03-21-2006, 6:22 AM
Banned

Default Home defense

I'm looking for a shotgun that I can use for home defense. I'd like to know if anybody has any suggestions on what I should buy. I'm by no means an expert in the realm of firearms, so I thought I'd ask here. A handgun is not an option for me, as I am not 21. Also, I cannot afford to spend more than $500.

Can anybody help me?
Old 03-21-2006, 6:47 AM

I think everyone would agree when I say the remington 870 check the other threads this has been discussed good luck
Old 03-21-2006, 7:06 AM
Banned

Thanks, I was looking at that one as well as the Benelli Nova Tactical Pump. Do you have any opinion on that particular shotgun? Maybe I'm stupid for going for aesthetic appeal, but I like the looks of the Benelli. It just looks scarier to me.
Old 03-21-2006, 8:36 AM
glen avon

Quote:
Originally Posted by denalion22
I think everyone would agree when I say the remington 870 check the other threads this has been discussed good luck
I would not agree. Mossberg got the military contract, not remington.

get a mossberg combo, both barrels for the cost of the 870.

nothing wrong with the 870, for sure, but the mossy is just as good and a much better value.
Old 03-21-2006, 8:47 AM
Veteran Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by glen avon

nothing wrong with the 870, for sure, but the mossy is just as good and a much better value.

I've got nothing against Mossberg, and nothing special for the 870, but..

The Beretta 9mm got the contract too, and they're looking for a replacement because they made a mistake.