Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated Centerfire rifles, carbines and other gas operated rifles.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2010, 6:00 PM
docsmileyface's Avatar
docsmileyface docsmileyface is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: White City, OR
Posts: 1,624
iTrader: 25 / 100%
Default Aimpoint mount for M1A SOCOM

Was going to mount a spare EOTech to the rifle but turns out I really hate how the EOTech works on it after playing with my landlord's (got to wait 9 more days for mine) - I want to mount my ML2 to it, but the only mount I have is a QRP one and that's the same height as the EOTech mount.

I don't want to pay $150 for something from LaRue or ARMS, I want something simple and low like this;



Anybody know where I can find one of the old Aimpoint mounting rings, or have a spare one to sell?

Thanks.
__________________
"Soldier, you need to turn your ACOG off before the batteries die." - PMI Instructor, subject matter expert
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2010, 6:18 PM
tomd1584's Avatar
tomd1584 tomd1584 is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SFV
Posts: 5,853
iTrader: 51 / 100%
Default

what about a 30mm scope ring? those are pretty cheap.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-11-2010, 6:23 PM
Omega13device's Avatar
Omega13device Omega13device is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,958
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Default

Correct, just use a 30mm low ring.

Personally I don't like how the optic way out front changes the balance of the rifle, but YMMV.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-11-2010, 6:39 PM
Crazed_SS's Avatar
Crazed_SS Crazed_SS is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,369
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by docsmileyface View Post
Was going to mount a spare EOTech to the rifle but turns out I really hate how the EOTech works on it after playing with my landlord's (got to wait 9 more days for mine) - I want to mount my ML2 to it, but the only mount I have is a QRP one and that's the same height as the EOTech mount.

I don't want to pay $150 for something from LaRue or ARMS, I want something simple and low like this;

Anybody know where I can find one of the old Aimpoint mounting rings, or have a spare one to sell?

Thanks.
A member here reccomended the Ultimak rail and Aimpoint for the SOCOM 16 and states it mounts low enough that you can co-witness..
http://www.ultimak.com/BuyM14.htm

Yea.. it is 200 bucks

EDIT:
heres the post i was thinking
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/s...&postcount=253
__________________

Last edited by Crazed_SS; 05-11-2010 at 6:52 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-2010, 6:52 PM
docsmileyface's Avatar
docsmileyface docsmileyface is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: White City, OR
Posts: 1,624
iTrader: 25 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazed_SS View Post
A member here reccomended the Ultimak rail and Aimpoint for the SOCOM 16 and states it mounts low enough that you can co-witness..


Yea.. it is 200 bucks
Yeah, that's exactly what I'm trying to avoid.... From what I've read you can't use regular 30mm rings? They've got to be "wide" ones? The new ones Aimpoint sells is almost $80 shipped - really want to find a place or someone who has the old style ring mounts that the Aimpoints use to come with.
__________________
"Soldier, you need to turn your ACOG off before the batteries die." - PMI Instructor, subject matter expert
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-11-2010, 7:24 PM
Omega13device's Avatar
Omega13device Omega13device is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,958
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by docsmileyface View Post
From what I've read you can't use regular 30mm rings? They've got to be "wide" ones?
As I've already said, a 30mm low ring will work fine. Yes, I have tried it. A regular 30mm ring. Let me say that again. A 30mm ring. I used a Leupold QRW but it doesn't really matter.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 6:53 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.