Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Shotgun discussions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Shotgun discussions Trap, Hunting, Defense and more. A place for enthusiasts to discuss the shotgun.

Old 01-28-2010, 11:16 AM

Default help me select a shotgun, cuz i'm a noob...

my father and i are wanting to get into three gun competition, but i also want to get into trap and skeet shooting too. so we have been discussing on buying a shotgun in the coming months but haven't really decided what to get.

i was planning to get a Remington 870 pump shot gun. however, my father wants something smaller, shorter, and more tactical looking for three gun competition. but i'm looking more into a sport shotgun with a longer barrel so that i could possibly shoot trap and skeet (hence making it NOT look bad***** and tactical...heh heh). but we also both agree on wanting a shotgun that is capable of shooting slugs too...and that it should be a pump shotgun!

What shotgun to get? Remington 870? Mossberg 500? Mossbert 590?

"sir...does this mean ann margaret's not coming?"
Old 01-28-2010, 11:29 AM

20" Remington 870. IIRC, it comes from the factory with a magazine tube extension as well, so you should be set if you're trying to keep it simple.
Old 01-28-2010, 12:31 PM
Vendor/Retailer

If you're shooting 3-gun for fun, a pump will do just fine. If you get serious and want to stay competitive, you'll want a semiauto (unless you shoot Heavy Metal).
Old 01-28-2010, 1:34 PM

a Mossberg 590A1 with bayonet lug, and an SPX tactical light..

oh wait, ur shooting targets, not zombies... ummm, having shot the 500, 590, and Win's 870, I reallyliked the 500 for simplicity. But for coolness, I gotta say, i luv the 590 a1.
Old 01-28-2010, 5:32 PM
Banned