Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2010, 7:22 PM
acheron800 acheron800 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Carlsbad
Posts: 734
iTrader: 22 / 100%
Default Windows 7 Upgrade Disc - Dell - What in the world can I do with this thing?

I bought a computer a while ago which came with Vista and a free upgrade to 7 home premium.

I had to put professional on the one I bought.

Now I have a Dell 7 upgrade disc with a key, but am too afraid to install it on my gf computer which is an HP. She has vista home premium.

I have read conflicting reports on whether or not it will work.

Microsoft and Dell proceeded to tell me to not risk it and urging me to buy a copy from them at their overly bloated price. (I can buy an upgrade for her for $65 right now - student, but am really trying to save that especially since I have the discs in front of me)

If I CANNOT install it, can a person with a Dell install it?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2010, 6:10 AM
JDay's Avatar
JDay JDay is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: El Dorado County
Posts: 18,844
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acheron800 View Post
I bought a computer a while ago which came with Vista and a free upgrade to 7 home premium.

I had to put professional on the one I bought.

Now I have a Dell 7 upgrade disc with a key, but am too afraid to install it on my gf computer which is an HP. She has vista home premium.
Windows 7 Professional? If so just install that same one on her Dell and use the HP disc if you reinstall on yours. The HP disc may very well work on any computer too, my Vista upgrade from HP works this way.
__________________
Oppressors can tyrannize only when they achieve a standing army, an enslaved press, and a disarmed populace. -- James Madison

The Constitution shall never be construed to authorize Congress to prevent the people of the United States, who are peaceable citizens, from keeping their own arms. -- Samuel Adams, Debates and Proceedings in the Convention of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 86-87 (Pearce and Hale, eds., Boston, 1850)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2010, 7:09 AM
Wildhawk66's Avatar
Wildhawk66 Wildhawk66 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,972
iTrader: 179 / 100%
Default

It should work fine assuming your only upgrading from 32 bit Vista to 32 bit 7 or 64 bit Vista to 64 bit 7.

I tried to upgrade using a 32bit Vista system to 64bit Windows 7 (was told by Digital River it would be fine) and it turned into a nightmare. It can be done, but isn't worth the time in my opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2010, 7:12 AM
glock_this's Avatar
glock_this glock_this is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Under your skin
Posts: 8,004
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Default What in the world can I do with this thing?

use it as a coster and get an Apple
__________________
10 +1 in the chamber

WTS: Gun stuff & things | WTB Chiappa Rhino 9mm 4"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-26-2010, 8:58 AM
phish's Avatar
phish phish is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 3,082
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

The one thing that annoys me about computers from the big boys is they always throw some annoying proprietary software onto the hard drive, the same could hold true for their upgrade disks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-26-2010, 9:15 AM
acheron800 acheron800 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Carlsbad
Posts: 734
iTrader: 22 / 100%
Default

It is a W7 64 bit upgrade home premium.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-26-2010, 1:06 PM
willm952 willm952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Westside, home of the yuppy.
Posts: 357
iTrader: 10 / 92%
Default

If it's Dell stamped upgrade DVD you can only use that upgrade 7 home premium on a dell machine.
HP or any other brand will look like its installing but error out during the install.
It does some kind of bios check to ensure its a dell.

7 will only upgrade from vista not xp. You'll need to use easy transfer to move your data from xp to 7.

I work with dells at a fortune 500 company. We tried that trick years ago.

Hope this helps out.

Last edited by willm952; 01-26-2010 at 1:07 PM.. Reason: add
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-26-2010, 1:24 PM
NaughtyMonkey NaughtyMonkey is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,785
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by willm952 View Post
If it's Dell stamped upgrade DVD you can only use that upgrade 7 home premium on a dell machine.
HP or any other brand will look like its installing but error out during the install.
It does some kind of bios check to ensure its a dell.

7 will only upgrade from vista not xp. You'll need to use easy transfer to move your data from xp to 7.

I work with dells at a fortune 500 company. We tried that trick years ago.

Hope this helps out.
I had a Dell Windows 7 upgrade disc and it worked on my Gateway from Vista to Windows 7. Also did it on my custom Built PC that had no operating system. I must have done something you didn't because it worked for me.
__________________
-General George S. Patton Jr.
"In my opinion, the M1 Rifle is the greatest battle implement ever devised."

http://m1family.com
M1 Carbine Dedicated forum.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-26-2010, 1:26 PM
PolishMike's Avatar
PolishMike PolishMike is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tracy
Posts: 5,652
iTrader: 24 / 96%
Default

In my experience its hit or miss.
__________________
Tracy Rifle and Pistol
7601 W 11th St
Tracy Ca 95304
209 833-9100
For sales Questions please email Sales@tracyrifleandpistol.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:13 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.