Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2009, 3:14 PM
cgseanp1 cgseanp1 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: petaluma
Posts: 2,634
iTrader: 45 / 98%
Default Bluray question

How long does it normally take for bluray movie to load? I got my parents a Sharp Aquos player and it takes a good 2-3 minutes for the movies to load. I looked it up and it gets some pretty bad reviews so I'm going to return it, but is it normal for blurays to take a while to load?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2009, 3:20 PM
odysseus's Avatar
odysseus odysseus is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 10,372
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Yes, they can take some time, however this is relative to the player itself. My Sony for example takes a little time, but I don't think it has ever taken longer than 30 seconds or so to spool a blueray up. Mostly they load up relatively fast.

Check also to see if you have a firmware upgrade available for your player to reflash.
__________________
"Just leave me alone, I know what to do." - Kimi Raikkonen

The moment the idea is admitted into society, that property is not as sacred as the laws of God, and that there is not a force of law and public justice to protect it, anarchy and tyranny commence.' and that `Property is surely a right of mankind as real as liberty.'
- John Adams

http://www.usdebtclock.org/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2009, 3:20 PM
Danield's Avatar
Danield Danield is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Grand Terrace
Posts: 1,891
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Default

I've got a samsung, it takes usually less than a minute
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2009, 3:27 PM
armygunsmith's Avatar
armygunsmith armygunsmith is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,096
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by odysseus View Post
Check also to see if you have a firmware upgrade available for your player to reflash.
Firmware may really help load times.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-27-2009, 3:29 PM
Cokebottle's Avatar
Cokebottle Cokebottle is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor - Lifetime
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 23,212
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

It takes a bit, but not more than a minute or so on my Sony.
It probably takes about as long as the initial bootup. My Sony does have a "soft start" mode that speeds the initial bootup, but we don't watch videos that often, so I'd rather have it in a minimum power drain mode.


BTW: The newer Sony BDP-N460 can stream video directly from Netflix. I've got the S350 and it won't do it.
http://www.netflix.com/NetflixReadyD...lnkce=nrd-otab
__________________
-- Rich


Quote:
Originally Posted by dantodd View Post
A just gov't will not be overthrown by force or violence because the people have no incentive to overthrow a just gov't. If a minority of people attempt such an insurrection to grab power and enslave the people, the RKBA is our insurance against their success.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-27-2009, 9:43 PM
2DoorImpala's Avatar
2DoorImpala 2DoorImpala is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,708
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default

my PS3 seems to do it right away
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-27-2009, 10:17 PM
caoboy caoboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Modesto
Posts: 2,412
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

PS3 is where it's at. Best player on the market, since no other players come with a gaming system/browser/hard drive to store whatever other media you'd like.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-27-2009, 10:26 PM
armygunsmith's Avatar
armygunsmith armygunsmith is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,096
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default

PS3 is the way to go. easy to update and it plays games too. Can't beat it for the price.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-28-2009, 8:01 AM
wildcard's Avatar
wildcard wildcard is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 4,914
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Default

PS3 is instant
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-28-2009, 8:12 AM
Chris M's Avatar
Chris M Chris M is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,725
iTrader: 39 / 100%
Default

My $78 Magnavox Wal-Mart special takes a couple minutes for Blu-Ray, but is quick to start-up with DVD's.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-28-2009, 8:19 AM
DVLDOC's Avatar
DVLDOC DVLDOC is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SAN DIEGO, CA
Posts: 1,372
iTrader: 42 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2DoorImpala View Post
my PS3 seems to do it right away

+1
__________________
"The warrior doesn't switch that off. He tones it down based on the threat, but he's still alert and prepared. He constantly thinks and evaluates what he is doing so he can outsmart the opposition all the time - Matt Larsen"


Transporting weapons in CA: http://wiki.calgunsfoundation.org/in...p/Transporting
CA Knife Laws: http://www.ninehundred.com/~equalccw/knifelaw.html
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-28-2009, 9:01 AM
Mssr. Eleganté's Avatar
Mssr. Eleganté Mssr. Eleganté is offline
Blue Blaze Irregular
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 10,362
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

I just did a test with a few DVDs and Blu-Rays on the OPPO BDP-83. Average load time was 12 seconds for DVDs and 19 seconds for Blu-Rays. This was timed from when the load tray closed to when the first image appeared on the screen. But the OPPO is known for being one of the fastest loading players.


__________________
__________________

"Knowledge is power... For REAL!" - Jack Austin
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-28-2009, 2:55 PM
cgseanp1 cgseanp1 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: petaluma
Posts: 2,634
iTrader: 45 / 98%
Default

Thanks for the replies. The aquos player I bought gets some pretty crappy reviews.. One of my brand new Blurays wouldn't even load at all. Definitely going to return it and spend a little more on my next one.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-28-2009, 3:20 PM
Rascal's Avatar
Rascal Rascal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,053
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Thumbs down

I have a Sharp Aquos also and when I first got it, it loaded right away. Now it takes 2 to 3 minutes to load, and that's even with the updates. I'm looking for a new blu-ray player.
__________________
Rascal

"Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote." B.Franklin
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-28-2009, 4:32 PM
2DoorImpala's Avatar
2DoorImpala 2DoorImpala is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,708
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default

You can also stream movies with no quality loss from your pc to the ps3 using media server. Just in case you have bluray movie files on your pc.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-28-2009, 4:34 PM
dellgsg5's Avatar
dellgsg5 dellgsg5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 705
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

My PS3 play right away.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-28-2009, 8:39 PM
Centurion_D's Avatar
Centurion_D Centurion_D is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Posts: 1,965
iTrader: 22 / 100%
Default

It varies between manufacturers. My Sony BD player takes about a minute. Like Mssr. Eleganté post the OPPO is probably the fastest loader on the market right now.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-28-2009, 8:44 PM
Sick Boy's Avatar
Sick Boy Sick Boy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Berkeley, PRK
Posts: 1,115
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

I've noticed with the current firmware on my PS3, it loads about as fast as a DVD does in my Xbox 360.

Though I did notice on my buddy Brian's super-expensive Pioneer Elite ($2K!!), it still takes about 30ish seconds to load one up.
__________________
XBL GT: Mmmmm Bacons

"Doctrine is the last refuge of the unimaginative." - General James "Chaos" Mattis, USMC
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-28-2009, 10:19 PM
zatoh's Avatar
zatoh zatoh is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Home of the Fee and the Slave
Posts: 764
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Default

I bought a Panasonic about a year or more ago. The Panasonic was faster than the Sony and a heck of a lot faster than the Samsung. They are probably pretty close now for sub $200 players. The PS3s load faster but I didn't want to spend the extra cash.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-28-2009, 11:46 PM
high_revs's Avatar
high_revs high_revs is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 6,088
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

i had a panasonic last year along with the costco panny plasma. both sucked so bad i just coudln't live with it. the BD was uber-slow. one would think the remote controls are more compatible on certain menu functions (like display modes). they weren't and it sucked having to fiddle 2 remotes.

till today, it's the only tv i ever returned, and the only player i ever returned.

i lived in 2009 sans hi-def.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 12-29-2009, 12:43 AM
IsaacGlass's Avatar
IsaacGlass IsaacGlass is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Superbagnères
Posts: 2,643
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

typically 1 minute, but have been noticing newer movies accessing the internet takes a little longer, like 3 minutes tops. However, my HTPC is much faster, like 50% faster even with newer movies.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-29-2009, 2:09 PM
shark92651's Avatar
shark92651 shark92651 is offline
Vendor/Retailer
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,362
iTrader: 30 / 100%
Default

I use my PS3 and I don't notice any significant load time. I love my PS3 - blu-ray movies, awesome games, Netflix streaming, music and video streaming from my network PC - I even have it programmed into my Logitech Harmony remote although I did have to add an IR remote receiver.
__________________

www.riflegear.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:43 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.