Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-19-2009, 11:49 AM
rjf rjf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 648
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default wireless access point

I think I want a wireless access point for home use. I already have DSL, a router, switch (2), print server, and some rooms wired. Access point just plugs into the ethernet and magic happens right?

What brand/options do I want for home use with two or three laptops. Computers are turned off when not used. I may turn the access point off also.

I don't need all bells and whistles, just need to prevent unauthorized access.

Will use for running Pandora radio, and video from another computer to the TV.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2009, 1:03 PM
MR2Chuck's Avatar
MR2Chuck MR2Chuck is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: North SD County
Posts: 69
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default Wireless Router/Access Point

Quick answer: yes, you can add a WAP (wireless access point) device to an ethernet port.

Longer answer: Most wireless Routers (WIFi router) include several ethernet ports as well as being a WAP, so you replace two device and, in reality, wirless routers are typically the same price or cheaper, than purely WAPs. You can go one step further in eliminating devices and wires: Most companies make a WiFi router with built in DSL modem. eg http://www.subaru.com/vehicles/impre...ort/index.html

With WiFi, go for the Wireless-N configuration if range is a consideration.
AND...Configure the WAP security!!

Most devices are straight forward to set up if you already have your DSL running OK.

-cheers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2009, 1:11 PM
JDay's Avatar
JDay JDay is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: El Dorado County
Posts: 18,845
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR2Chuck View Post
You can go one step further in eliminating devices and wires: Most companies make a WiFi router with built in DSL modem. eg http://www.subaru.com/vehicles/impre...ort/index.html
And they typically suck. Just go get a Linksys or Buffalo wireless router.
__________________
Oppressors can tyrannize only when they achieve a standing army, an enslaved press, and a disarmed populace. -- James Madison

The Constitution shall never be construed to authorize Congress to prevent the people of the United States, who are peaceable citizens, from keeping their own arms. -- Samuel Adams, Debates and Proceedings in the Convention of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 86-87 (Pearce and Hale, eds., Boston, 1850)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2009, 1:29 PM
paul0660's Avatar
paul0660 paul0660 is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ukiah
Posts: 15,706
iTrader: 34 / 100%
Default

Just got a Netgear from newegg. Replaced a wired D-link. $15 bucks, 4 lan ports, wireless works at least 100 feet away, password setup was easy, pretty much plug and play.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2009, 1:41 PM
chiefcrash's Avatar
chiefcrash chiefcrash is offline
Internet Dictator
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Not-So-Freemont, PRK
Posts: 3,378
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Linksys WRT54GL + DD-WRT = WIN
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kestryll View Post
we can not nor should not dismiss or discount my theory that in the dark of night you molest sea anemones by candlelight.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TKM View Post
Show me on this 1st Amendment bobble-head doll where the mods touched you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Click Boom View Post
It is clear from this thread that citadel grad was the gunman, and Oswald his patsy.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2009, 2:10 PM
sonico's Avatar
sonico sonico is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 194
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

DDWRT is the shiznit, but it would be overkill in this case. I would just go vanilla firmware linksys, probably a WRT-160.

What you would probably do is replace the wired router with the wireless one and move the PPOE information for your DSL connection over to the new wireless router.
__________________
The important things are always simple; the simple things are always hard.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2009, 2:11 PM
sonico's Avatar
sonico sonico is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 194
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

about security: WPA2 TKIP with a strong passphrase if your devices support it, otherwise WPA TKIP.
__________________
The important things are always simple; the simple things are always hard.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-19-2009, 2:16 PM
JDay's Avatar
JDay JDay is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: El Dorado County
Posts: 18,845
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonico View Post
DDWRT is the shiznit, but it would be overkill in this case. I would just go vanilla firmware linksys, probably a WRT-160.

What you would probably do is replace the wired router with the wireless one and move the PPOE information for your DSL connection over to the new wireless router.
Providers still use PPPoE?
__________________
Oppressors can tyrannize only when they achieve a standing army, an enslaved press, and a disarmed populace. -- James Madison

The Constitution shall never be construed to authorize Congress to prevent the people of the United States, who are peaceable citizens, from keeping their own arms. -- Samuel Adams, Debates and Proceedings in the Convention of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 86-87 (Pearce and Hale, eds., Boston, 1850)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-19-2009, 4:09 PM
sonico's Avatar
sonico sonico is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 194
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Yep, every single ATT DSL I've worked on is PPPOE, e-mail address and password logins.

The PPPOE info is either set in the modem (newer modems) or much more commonly in the router (older modems) or in either.
__________________
The important things are always simple; the simple things are always hard.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-19-2009, 4:26 PM
CSDGuy CSDGuy is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,749
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefcrash View Post
Linksys WRT54GL + DD-WRT = WIN
The DD-WRT makes a rather plain "G" router into something pretty spectacular, IMO. However, it's a bit daunting to begin with, because if you don't follow the steps correctly, you "brick" the router. Get a wireless N compatible model. Then, as you acquire newer notebook/laptop computers, they'll work with it and be able to use the higher connection speeds (which will still be faster than your DSL speed). The higher speeds will allow for faster file transfers through your network... which you'll appreciate if you start using one of your computers as a file server...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-19-2009, 4:52 PM
JDay's Avatar
JDay JDay is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: El Dorado County
Posts: 18,845
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSDGuy View Post
The DD-WRT makes a rather plain "G" router into something pretty spectacular, IMO. However, it's a bit daunting to begin with, because if you don't follow the steps correctly, you "brick" the router. Get a wireless N compatible model. Then, as you acquire newer notebook/laptop computers, they'll work with it and be able to use the higher connection speeds (which will still be faster than your DSL speed). The higher speeds will allow for faster file transfers through your network... which you'll appreciate if you start using one of your computers as a file server...
Its hard to brick the router, all you do is upload the new firmware. And even if you brick one it takes a minute to unbrick.
__________________
Oppressors can tyrannize only when they achieve a standing army, an enslaved press, and a disarmed populace. -- James Madison

The Constitution shall never be construed to authorize Congress to prevent the people of the United States, who are peaceable citizens, from keeping their own arms. -- Samuel Adams, Debates and Proceedings in the Convention of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 86-87 (Pearce and Hale, eds., Boston, 1850)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-19-2009, 5:09 PM
Gregchico's Avatar
Gregchico Gregchico is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Nor Kal, Oroville
Posts: 1,623
iTrader: 126 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSDGuy View Post
The DD-WRT makes a rather plain "G" router into something pretty spectacular, IMO. However, it's a bit daunting to begin with, because if you don't follow the steps correctly, you "brick" the router. Get a wireless N compatible model. Then, as you acquire newer notebook/laptop computers, they'll work with it and be able to use the higher connection speeds (which will still be faster than your DSL speed). The higher speeds will allow for faster file transfers through your network... which you'll appreciate if you start using one of your computers as a file server...

It is cheaper to get one "preflashed" on Fleebay. Just search "dd-wrt". The router around here was $60-70 by itself, I ordered one from Fleebay for $50 delivered.
It really is better. My wifi enabled cellphone would crash my netgear and my dlink. My new DD-WRT Linksys has worked flawlessly from day one.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-19-2009, 5:15 PM
CSDGuy CSDGuy is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,749
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

I've read of a few bricked routers that needed a bit of surgery to revive them... that takes a little longer than 1 min... However, if you have the right firmware for the router... the upgrade goes VERY smoothly. I'm not that router savvy... but I got mine up and running pretty quickly on the DD-WRT firmware. My router never did get bricked, but I've had to reset it and redo the firmware upload once or twice.

Mostly, I'm just advocating some caution. If the wiki says that the router is compatible and you follow the directions... it all should go just fine.

For the OP: do a search for the router model you're looking at and "DD-WRT" and you'll see stuff that tells you whether or not the router is compatible with the firmware and which version will (and won't) work.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-19-2009, 6:41 PM
chiefcrash's Avatar
chiefcrash chiefcrash is offline
Internet Dictator
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Not-So-Freemont, PRK
Posts: 3,378
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonico View Post
DDWRT is the shiznit, but it would be overkill in this case. I would just go vanilla firmware linksys, probably a WRT-160.

What you would probably do is replace the wired router with the wireless one and move the PPOE information for your DSL connection over to the new wireless router.
Not really. Put DD-WRT micro on there. The main reason for DD-WRT is it needs fewer reboots than stock firmware...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kestryll View Post
we can not nor should not dismiss or discount my theory that in the dark of night you molest sea anemones by candlelight.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TKM View Post
Show me on this 1st Amendment bobble-head doll where the mods touched you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Click Boom View Post
It is clear from this thread that citadel grad was the gunman, and Oswald his patsy.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-19-2009, 6:42 PM
chiefcrash's Avatar
chiefcrash chiefcrash is offline
Internet Dictator
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Not-So-Freemont, PRK
Posts: 3,378
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSDGuy View Post
The DD-WRT makes a rather plain "G" router into something pretty spectacular, IMO. However, it's a bit daunting to begin with, because if you don't follow the steps correctly, you "brick" the router. Get a wireless N compatible model. Then, as you acquire newer notebook/laptop computers, they'll work with it and be able to use the higher connection speeds (which will still be faster than your DSL speed). The higher speeds will allow for faster file transfers through your network... which you'll appreciate if you start using one of your computers as a file server...
That's why I go with the WRT54GL: it's specifically designed to be compatible with the likes of DD-WRT. Just use the build in firmware upgrade function and bingo!

Use the "micro" version, and it'll make it a smaller, simpler version.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kestryll View Post
we can not nor should not dismiss or discount my theory that in the dark of night you molest sea anemones by candlelight.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TKM View Post
Show me on this 1st Amendment bobble-head doll where the mods touched you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Click Boom View Post
It is clear from this thread that citadel grad was the gunman, and Oswald his patsy.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-19-2009, 7:22 PM
JDay's Avatar
JDay JDay is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: El Dorado County
Posts: 18,845
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSDGuy View Post
I've read of a few bricked routers that needed a bit of surgery to revive them... that takes a little longer than 1 min...
All you have to do is make sure boot_wait is enabled before you attempt to flash. If it fails you can push a firmware image to it with tftp. Takes literally seconds.
__________________
Oppressors can tyrannize only when they achieve a standing army, an enslaved press, and a disarmed populace. -- James Madison

The Constitution shall never be construed to authorize Congress to prevent the people of the United States, who are peaceable citizens, from keeping their own arms. -- Samuel Adams, Debates and Proceedings in the Convention of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 86-87 (Pearce and Hale, eds., Boston, 1850)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-20-2009, 10:18 AM
rjf rjf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 648
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I may go with the wap54g. I want to locate the wireless in a central location to maximize coverage. The dsl and router are in the garage close to the phone box. Any other options?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-20-2009, 12:28 PM
MR2Chuck's Avatar
MR2Chuck MR2Chuck is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: North SD County
Posts: 69
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjf View Post
I may go with the wap54g. I want to locate the wireless in a central location to maximize coverage. The dsl and router are in the garage close to the phone box. Any other options?
Yes, you can locate the WAP54g in a central location without moving your current equipment. Connect it to a current or new ethernet cable connection from the existing router.

The only sticky point is configuration: The WAP54g default ip address is 192.168.1.245. The WAP should be in the same subnet as your router , so, for example if your router is 192.168.2.xxx, you need to connect the WAP directly to your PC and change the 3rd octet in its address to match. eg. 192.168.2.245

Last edited by MR2Chuck; 11-20-2009 at 2:17 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-21-2009, 2:10 PM
rjf rjf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 648
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
The only sticky point is configuration: The WAP54g default ip address is 192.168.1.245. The WAP should be in the same subnet as your router , so, for example if your router is 192.168.2.xxx, you need to connect the WAP directly to your PC and change the 3rd octet in its address to match. eg. 192.168.2.245
Exactly what I was looking for. Thank you very much!

This configuration change will allow two routers on the same network.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-21-2009, 3:24 PM
bobcatmech's Avatar
bobcatmech bobcatmech is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: northbay norcal
Posts: 87
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

wireless router for indoor works well-we run 4 laptops in my house all wireless and with the cradlepoint wireless router we have it keeps up nicely and is pretty secure..
__________________
BOBCATMECH
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:13 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.