Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2009, 12:41 PM
Californio Californio is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor - Lifetime
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 3,518
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default Does Windows 7 do DOS?

XP runs DOS based programs, Vista does not. Anyone know if Win7 will run DOS programs. I have some older radio programing software that needs DOS.

TIA
__________________
"I said I never had much use for one. Never said I didn't know how to use it." Matthew Quigley
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2009, 12:54 PM
professionalcoyotehunter professionalcoyotehunter is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Desert Area, CA
Posts: 12,981
iTrader: 84 / 99%
Default

It should from what I hear.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2009, 1:02 PM
Rob454's Avatar
Rob454 Rob454 is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: so cal
Posts: 10,507
iTrader: 34 / 100%
Default

Does anyone know where you can buy a DOS program. I need one to program some old commercial fire alarms
PM me if you do know or respond here
thanx
Rob
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2009, 1:10 PM
ocabj's Avatar
ocabj ocabj is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,133
iTrader: 40 / 100%
Default

http://www.freedos.org/
__________________

Distinguished Rifleman #1924
NRA Certified Instructor (Rifle and Metallic Cartridge Reloading) and RSO
https://www.ocabj.net | http://jocabphoto.com

My AR15 Service Rifle - Used for CMP/NRA High Power Service Rifle Competitions
My Eliseo R5 (Remington 700) Tube Gun - Used for NRA High Power (Match Category) Competitions
My M1 Garand Service Rifle - Used for JCG Matches, rebuilt by Dean's Gun Restorations
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2009, 1:14 PM
Super Spy's Avatar
Super Spy Super Spy is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 925
Posts: 3,476
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

I'll have my new Windows 7 PC tomorrow....If you want to send me a copy I'll tell you if it executes....
__________________
"A generation which ignores history has no past and no future." - Robert A Heinlein.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daytripper63 View Post
"Looking a bit angry, he asked why I thought it was a Republican truck. I explained that if it were an Obama truck, the seats would blow smoke up your *** year-round. I had to walk back to the dealership. The guy had no sense of humor."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-04-2009, 2:20 PM
danito's Avatar
danito danito is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 271
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Windows 7 has a compatibility mode to allow older programs written for an earlier versions of Windows to possibly run in Windows 7.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-04-2009, 3:24 PM
Californio Californio is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor - Lifetime
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 3,518
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Looks like if you have Windows 7 Professional or Ultimate you can download from Microsoft a XP Virtual Machine and run your program in XP mode. Sort of Boot Camp on OSX.
__________________
"I said I never had much use for one. Never said I didn't know how to use it." Matthew Quigley
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-04-2009, 3:27 PM
odysseus's Avatar
odysseus odysseus is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 10,372
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Right. Sometimes the easiest and maybe more stable way for those not able or wanting to tweak these older apps is to just virtual up an XP OS and run it that way when you need to.
__________________
"Just leave me alone, I know what to do." - Kimi Raikkonen

The moment the idea is admitted into society, that property is not as sacred as the laws of God, and that there is not a force of law and public justice to protect it, anarchy and tyranny commence.' and that `Property is surely a right of mankind as real as liberty.'
- John Adams

http://www.usdebtclock.org/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-04-2009, 4:36 PM
Dangerpin's Avatar
Dangerpin Dangerpin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 428
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

It should be noted that XP mode has some hefty requirements to work well, aside from A CPU that supports chip-level virtualization you also should really have a few extra GB of RAM installed.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-04-2009, 4:52 PM
SmokinMr2's Avatar
SmokinMr2 SmokinMr2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: High Desert
Posts: 807
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Default

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/vir.../download.aspx
__________________
NRA Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun Instructor
Utah CCW instructor
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-04-2009, 6:06 PM
Big O Big O is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 372
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Californio View Post
Looks like if you have Windows 7 Professional or Ultimate you can download from Microsoft a XP Virtual Machine and run your program in XP mode. Sort of Boot Camp on OSX.
Boot Camp requires that you partition the hard drive for each system. Then you can only boot one OS at a time. Is this the same thing?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-04-2009, 10:53 PM
1JimMarch 1JimMarch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,796
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I have a lot of experience with Windows XP virtual machines under Linux. I don't know if Windows 7 is doing quite the same thing but if it is, the entire XP system lives in a single file on the Win7 disk.

In my Linux system, the XP virtual machine lives in a file that maxes out at 15gig the way I set it up, and will grow to meet that as I load it up. I can add a second "virtual disk file" if needed, but I can also store data from within the virtual machine on the host machine's hard disk. From within the XP virtual machine, I have a drive letter created that points upwards into the host OS file system. That way, all the data I work with inside XP is actually on Linux disks and is available to Linux as well.

If the XP guest OS ever goes screwy in any way, I can throw it out as it's just a file, and reload that file from backups.

The guest OS needs a piece of software that tells it how to use the host system resources. Again, I suspect Win7 is similar, or at least, the XP machine you can download from MS has what Virtualbox calls "guest additions" built in.

You can get Virtualbox for free for Mac, Windows or Linux hosts here:

http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads

Note that a lot of Win7 systems are shipping as 64bit flavor, which means you need the "AMD64" variant at that page. Even if your CPU is from Intel, they licensed the 64bit stuff from AMD so it's properly called "AMD style 64bit".

I do know that Virtualbox has been in development for three years that I know of, so...it might be more stable than MS's virtual machine system.

Once you "build a virtual machine" (specifying resources like memory, etc.) you boot an OS into it from CD or an ISO file (a file equivelent to a CD in layout), load the guest OS, then install the guest additions for that OS. Guest addition software is available for XP, Win2000 if you want something with less resources, Linux and a few oddballs. Not DOS itself unfortunately, or Win98 which would be sweet for light needs and small memory footprints.

Once a VM guest is built, it can be transferred from host to host, even across OS types. In other words, I can set up a working XP system on my machine and then copy the data files it lives in (the main file plus descriptors) over to another computer running Virtualbox.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-05-2009, 6:33 PM
JDay's Avatar
JDay JDay is online now
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: El Dorado County
Posts: 18,846
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

If you have Windows 7 Professional or higher and have VM enabled on your CPU you can install XP Mode to run anything that will not run under 7.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/vir.../download.aspx
__________________
Oppressors can tyrannize only when they achieve a standing army, an enslaved press, and a disarmed populace. -- James Madison

The Constitution shall never be construed to authorize Congress to prevent the people of the United States, who are peaceable citizens, from keeping their own arms. -- Samuel Adams, Debates and Proceedings in the Convention of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 86-87 (Pearce and Hale, eds., Boston, 1850)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-05-2009, 11:57 PM
1JimMarch 1JimMarch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,796
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Virtualbox doesn't need hardware virtualization features in the CPU. It helps, don't get me wrong, but it's not required.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-06-2009, 12:13 AM
JDay's Avatar
JDay JDay is online now
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: El Dorado County
Posts: 18,846
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1JimMarch View Post
Virtualbox doesn't need hardware virtualization features in the CPU. It helps, don't get me wrong, but it's not required.
I believe hardware virtualization is required if you want to run XP apps on your windows 7 desktop instead of in a dedicated VM.
__________________
Oppressors can tyrannize only when they achieve a standing army, an enslaved press, and a disarmed populace. -- James Madison

The Constitution shall never be construed to authorize Congress to prevent the people of the United States, who are peaceable citizens, from keeping their own arms. -- Samuel Adams, Debates and Proceedings in the Convention of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 86-87 (Pearce and Hale, eds., Boston, 1850)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-06-2009, 9:14 AM
dude's Avatar
dude dude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 339
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Windows 7 does not have a DOS Virtual Machine, as XP does.

But, if you have "XP Mode" installed on Windows 7 Ultimate or Professional, it will run DOS programs.

XP Mode is unavailable to any edition of Windows 7 below Professional, such as Home Premium.
__________________
Quote:
"Education costs money, but then so does ignorance."
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-06-2009, 8:27 PM
1JimMarch 1JimMarch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,796
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
XP Mode is unavailable to any edition of Windows 7 below Professional, such as Home Premium.
Virtualbox to the rescue then, if you want to do VMs on "lesser" variants of Win7 (or Vista for that matter).
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-06-2009, 9:01 PM
NavalWarfare31's Avatar
NavalWarfare31 NavalWarfare31 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

You could always try running a virtual machine. I use vmware player and Im running Windows Server 2003 on Vista Premium Home edition to study for my MCSE.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-06-2009, 11:58 PM
ke6guj's Avatar
ke6guj ke6guj is offline
Moderator
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 909
Posts: 23,091
iTrader: 42 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1JimMarch View Post
Virtualbox to the rescue then, if you want to do VMs on "lesser" variants of Win7 (or Vista for that matter).
AFAIK, you can still run VirtualPC on those lesser versions of Win7. YOu just don't get the free licensed XP virtual machine (you need to use your own licensed copy of XP, no difference than XP in Virtualbox or other virtualization solution) and you don't have application virtualization to the Win7 desktop.
__________________
Jack



Do you want an AOW or C&R SBS/SBR in CA?

FrontSight Training Course certificates available $25, PM for details on them and other options.
No posts of mine are to be construed as legal advice, which can only be given by a lawyer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:15 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.