Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-01-2009, 8:06 AM
6172crew's Avatar
6172crew 6172crew is offline
Super Moderator
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Concord CA
Posts: 6,271
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default Free packet sniffers?

The tech school Im in has and issue with the 2 networks,

business DSL at 4 mbps

2 Vlans

150 hosts

12 switches and a wireless access point

They are looking for a free packet sniffer that can tell them who what when where and why the connectivity to the outside will fail after re-boot of the router...which is a netopia att router.

They think they have a swith that is brodcasting but no software to monitor where the issue is.
__________________

HMM-161 Westpac 1994
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2009, 8:07 AM
lazyworm's Avatar
lazyworm lazyworm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dublin, CA
Posts: 1,439
iTrader: 56 / 100%
Default

wireshark for the win. http://www.wireshark.org/

Last edited by lazyworm; 10-01-2009 at 11:55 AM.. Reason: fixed url
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2009, 8:08 AM
nick nick is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18,200
iTrader: 138 / 100%
Default

You beat me to it

MS Network Monitor is also free, but Ethereal/Wireshark is better.
__________________
"I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than to those attending too small a degree of it." - Thomas Jefferson
"Thou shalt not interfere with the Second Amendment rights of "law-abiding" citizens who want AK-47s only to protect hearth and home." - Paul Helmke finally gets it :)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJgunguy24 View Post
Some people are so open minded, their brains have fallen out.


WTB: Saiga .223 bolt; HK G3 bolt; Chinese AK pistol grips; milled AK cut receiver pieces and stubs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-2009, 8:24 AM
ocabj's Avatar
ocabj ocabj is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,169
iTrader: 40 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazyworm View Post
wireshark for the win. http://www.wireshark.com/
URL for the loss.

http://www.wireshark.org/

I have no idea what you mean when you say they have a switch that is broadcasting, but you'll want to run wireshark or tcpdump on a box which is plugged into a mirrored port.
__________________

Distinguished Rifleman #1924
NRA Certified Instructor (Rifle and Metallic Cartridge Reloading) and RSO
https://www.ocabj.net | http://jocabphoto.com

My AR15 Service Rifle - Used for CMP/NRA High Power Service Rifle Competitions
My Eliseo R5 (Remington 700) Tube Gun - Used for NRA High Power (Match Category) Competitions
My M1 Garand Service Rifle - Used for JCG Matches, rebuilt by Dean's Gun Restorations
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2009, 8:28 AM
6172crew's Avatar
6172crew 6172crew is offline
Super Moderator
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Concord CA
Posts: 6,271
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

Thanks folks, wireshark was the one I was thinking about.
__________________

HMM-161 Westpac 1994
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-01-2009, 8:53 AM
SmokinMr2's Avatar
SmokinMr2 SmokinMr2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: High Desert
Posts: 807
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Default

http://www.wireshark.org/ appears to be the appropriate site.
__________________
NRA Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun Instructor
Utah CCW instructor
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-2009, 11:00 AM
bigmike82 bigmike82 is offline
Bit Pusher
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: W. Los Angeles
Posts: 3,064
iTrader: 59 / 100%
Default

Wireshark FTMFW.
__________________
-- 09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-01-2009, 11:01 AM
bigmike82 bigmike82 is offline
Bit Pusher
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: W. Los Angeles
Posts: 3,064
iTrader: 59 / 100%
Default

Of course, if you have a Linux box, you can also use TCPDump.
__________________
-- 09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-02-2009, 6:36 AM
JDay's Avatar
JDay JDay is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: El Dorado County
Posts: 18,870
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmike82 View Post
Of course, if you have a Linux box, you can also use TCPDump.
But why? Wireshark is on that platform too.
__________________
Oppressors can tyrannize only when they achieve a standing army, an enslaved press, and a disarmed populace. -- James Madison

The Constitution shall never be construed to authorize Congress to prevent the people of the United States, who are peaceable citizens, from keeping their own arms. -- Samuel Adams, Debates and Proceedings in the Convention of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 86-87 (Pearce and Hale, eds., Boston, 1850)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-02-2009, 8:30 AM
bigmike82 bigmike82 is offline
Bit Pusher
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: W. Los Angeles
Posts: 3,064
iTrader: 59 / 100%
Default

If you only have command line access.

I had to use it to show my asterisk admin that he was wrong the other day.
__________________
-- 09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-02-2009, 11:36 PM
NSR500 NSR500 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Houston & SF Bay Area
Posts: 19,543
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

WIRESHARK!!!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-03-2009, 5:52 AM
jmlivingston's Avatar
jmlivingston jmlivingston is offline
Moderator Emeritus
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: South OC
Posts: 5,121
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6172crew View Post
The tech school Im in has and issue with the 2 networks,

business DSL at 4 mbps

2 Vlans

150 hosts

12 switches and a wireless access point

They are looking for a free packet sniffer that can tell them who what when where and why the connectivity to the outside will fail after re-boot of the router...which is a netopia att router.

They think they have a swith that is brodcasting but no software to monitor where the issue is.
Next time it fails, plug a laptop or PC directly into the Netopia and disconnect everything else. That'll tell you real quick whether the problem is inside the network or on your edge. It's been a few years since I've been on a Netopia, but last time I was they had pretty decent logs and statistics on them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:53 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.