Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > California handguns
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

California handguns Discuss your favorite California handgun technical and related questions here.

Old 04-21-2005, 7:39 AM
I need a LIFE!!

My opinion - and I'm not a lawyer...

The original P22 "assault weapons" are 'by feature' AWs. The evil feature is, of course, a threaded barrel. P22s are not banned by name, etc.

If you're moving/moved out of state, tell 'em to f**k off.

P22 AW owners are under no legal obligation to use S&W to modify/change their P22. They could turn the threads off themselves, have another smith do it, etc.

DOJ has NO idea of the status of your P22. Is it an AW? Did you fix it yourself by turning the threads? etc etc.

And nonresponse to this letter shouldn't be grounds for a search warrant. (But mind your Ps & Qs just the same: this could be fun for the right person to take on DOJ...)

Removal of P22 barrel and keeping them locked separately, or purchasing a new unthreaded bbl should also comply with law - exactly similar to having a FAL clone with a separate pistol grip. Of course you could never assemble/shoot your P22 in CA this way until threaded bbl replaced, but the DOJ can't force you to have a working gun

Bill Wiese
San Jose

Bill Wiese
San Jose, CA

CGF Board Member / NRA Benefactor Life Member / CRPA life member

No postings of mine here, unless otherwise specifically noted, are
to be construed as formal or informal positions of the Calguns.Net
ownership, The Calguns Foundation, Inc. ("CGF"), the NRA, or my
employer. No posts of mine on Calguns are to be construed as
legal advice, which can only be given by a lawyer.
Old 04-17-2005, 7:33 PM
Banned

Ted,