Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated Centerfire rifles, carbines and other gas operated rifles.

Old 06-19-2005, 5:21 AM

Thanks for the advice all, I really appreciate it. I will take a look into the places you mentioned.

Once again, thanks! Behind you guys 100%
Old 06-18-2005, 10:55 PM
Calguns Addict

Quote:
Originally posted by Michael:
Hello all,

I am relatively new to shooting rifles, and need a bit of advice.

I'm looking to buy a 7.62 autoloader. I'd like it to be accurate above all else, have a detachable magazine, but also fairly inexpensive (i.e. < $650). I would prefer a rifle with a pistol grip, or at least a model with an aftermarket pistol grip available I have looked into the following models:

Mini-30
Various AK copies (century arms, norinko, etc.)
Springfield's M14 (too pricey)
How about a PTR. It's like the HK91. Here's an ad from Gunbroker.
http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/Vie...?Item=33664723

As for the Mini-30 and AK, both are not very accurate beyond 200 yards.
Old 06-18-2005, 10:05 PM

Oh, a free-stater. Just here to torture us with your stories of AKs and ARs, eh?

http://www.thehighroad.org is an excellent place for additonal info.
Old 06-18-2005, 8:12 PM
HEUER

Michael, if you live in California you are going to be limited to the type of 7.62 auto loader that you are going to be able to purchase because of the Assuat Weapons Ban that was passed in 2000.

Pistol Grips are not allowed with semi auto loaders with detachable magazines if they were not registered as assualt rifles prior to 2000.