Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2009, 8:31 PM
JTecalo's Avatar
JTecalo JTecalo is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Corner of Mars and Outer Space
Posts: 3,625
iTrader: 36 / 100%
Default wireless Router question

I've been away from the It stuff for a couple of years now so I thought you guys might steer me to a decent wireless router for my home setup.

My setup now is an ATT 6800g and works fine but is 4-5 years old.

My reason for changing is I need a router I can lock out certain computers on the network for certain hours of the day or night.

The ATT 6800 will lock the computers mac addr but it's either on or off.

I'd like to be able to block internet from say 12:01am to 9:00am.

I'd also like to have 1Gb ports on the router as everything except my laptop is cabled.

just need some suggestions, thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2009, 8:41 PM
DiscoBayJoe's Avatar
DiscoBayJoe DiscoBayJoe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Discovery Bay, CA
Posts: 1,331
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Time of Day Routing:

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2009, 11:03 PM
JTecalo's Avatar
JTecalo JTecalo is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Corner of Mars and Outer Space
Posts: 3,625
iTrader: 36 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscoBayJoe View Post
Time of Day Routing:

Ha that would take me out too.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2009, 12:05 AM
Gryff's Avatar
Gryff Gryff is offline
CGSSA Coordinator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Castro Valley, CA
Posts: 10,867
iTrader: 56 / 98%
Default

I've used Linksys routers for many years. They don't last forever, but their config software gives a fair set of consumer-level options. I'm able to lock out certain computers at certain times of day very easily.
__________________
My friends and family disavow all knowledge of my existence, let alone my opinions.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2009, 1:16 AM
artherd's Avatar
artherd artherd is offline
Vendor/Retailer
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: North SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,069
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Netscreen 5GT Wireless FTW. Enterprise reliability in a home/office device.

Every dam Linksys I've ever used has required a reset about once a month. Not the Netscreen.
__________________
- Ben Cannon.
Chairman, CEO - GPal, Inc.™
CoFounder - GeoVario™, LLC. - the hosting company that brings you Calguns™

Postings are my own, and are not formal positions of any other entity, or legal advice.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-02-2009, 1:40 AM
odysseus's Avatar
odysseus odysseus is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 10,389
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Not sure about Juniper's netscreen being able to, nor many other SOHO firewall solutions having this level of granularity you are asking for. I have certainly seen this on more enterprise level policy devices like for instance Websense or Cisco. You are essentially asking for a policy driven solution which selects users and\or systems to lock out of the network for a specific period of time - however you want them working locally or not at all? Assuming windows is being used and a domain, you should look into configuring a GPO, or you could get creative with a system level script to the network soft interface.

That or heck, yeah a 110v light timer on their network switch. LOL.
__________________
"Just leave me alone, I know what to do." - Kimi Raikkonen

The moment the idea is admitted into society, that property is not as sacred as the laws of God, and that there is not a force of law and public justice to protect it, anarchy and tyranny commence.' and that `Property is surely a right of mankind as real as liberty.'
- John Adams

http://www.usdebtclock.org/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2009, 6:45 AM
thempopresense thempopresense is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: East Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,134
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

See if you can upgrade to DD-WRT firmware, it has some good access restriction setups.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-2009, 1:22 PM
sfwdiy's Avatar
sfwdiy sfwdiy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 2,135
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artherd View Post
Netscreen 5GT Wireless FTW. Enterprise reliability in a home/office device.

Every dam Linksys I've ever used has required a reset about once a month. Not the Netscreen.
That looks like a nice router. Dunno if it can restrict access by MAC address according to time of day, though. Didn't look like it had Gig-E ports, either.

--B
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-02-2009, 3:19 PM
JTecalo's Avatar
JTecalo JTecalo is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Corner of Mars and Outer Space
Posts: 3,625
iTrader: 36 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artherd View Post
Netscreen 5GT Wireless FTW. Enterprise reliability in a home/office device.

Every dam Linksys I've ever used has required a reset about once a month. Not the Netscreen.
I like the linksys but you're right about resetting them. I had several client service calls to reset linksys routers.

I don't have to have wireless, it's not a deal breaker.

I always thought 10/100 router and switches would be plenty of bandwidth but my 2 boys are playing some online games that seem to be sucking up the bandwith.

Maybe my router is tired, but if I replace it I think it should be one with gig ports. I'll need to replace the 2 Linksys switch/hubs also.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-02-2009, 4:19 PM
the_natterjack's Avatar
the_natterjack the_natterjack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,054
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Here ya go. . .
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/251394

Look at the "net user" command with the syntax "/time".

The computer can be running but no longer has access to the network during the off hours.

I setup my neighbors computer the same way. His sweet little girl was sneaking online at all hours of the night. Ended the problem without any family drama.

Brian "The Natterjack"



Quote:
Originally Posted by JTecalo View Post
I've been away from the It stuff for a couple of years now so I thought you guys might steer me to a decent wireless router for my home setup.

My setup now is an ATT 6800g and works fine but is 4-5 years old.

My reason for changing is I need a router I can lock out certain computers on the network for certain hours of the day or night.

The ATT 6800 will lock the computers mac addr but it's either on or off.

I'd like to be able to block internet from say 12:01am to 9:00am.

I'd also like to have 1Gb ports on the router as everything except my laptop is cabled.

just need some suggestions, thanks
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-02-2009, 4:30 PM
armygunsmith's Avatar
armygunsmith armygunsmith is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,096
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default

+1 for DD-WRT. Turns a 60 dollar router into a 400 dollar router. I use it for my budget customers
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-02-2009, 10:14 PM
JTecalo's Avatar
JTecalo JTecalo is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Corner of Mars and Outer Space
Posts: 3,625
iTrader: 36 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_natterjack View Post
Here ya go. . .
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/251394

Look at the "net user" command with the syntax "/time".

The computer can be running but no longer has access to the network during the off hours.

I setup my neighbors computer the same way. His sweet little girl was sneaking online at all hours of the night. Ended the problem without any family drama.

Brian "The Natterjack"
Oh man now I really feel dumb, I've used that before, just not for timing.

I'll try it.

I'm still thinking I may get a new router.

Thanks for the input guys
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-03-2009, 3:03 PM
the_natterjack's Avatar
the_natterjack the_natterjack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,054
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTecalo View Post
Oh man now I really feel dumb, I've used that before, just not for timing.

I'll try it.

I'm still thinking I may get a new router.

Thanks for the input guys
No problems, now you have one less variable when your searching for a router.

I'm thinking about doing the same for my household computer. Add another layer of security.

Brian "the natterjack"
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-10-2009, 4:02 AM
JDay's Avatar
JDay JDay is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: El Dorado County
Posts: 18,870
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTecalo View Post
I like the linksys but you're right about resetting them. I had several client service calls to reset linksys routers.

I don't have to have wireless, it's not a deal breaker.

I always thought 10/100 router and switches would be plenty of bandwidth but my 2 boys are playing some online games that seem to be sucking up the bandwith.

Maybe my router is tired, but if I replace it I think it should be one with gig ports. I'll need to replace the 2 Linksys switch/hubs also.
Switching to gigE is not going to give you more internet bandwidth unless your internet connection is over 100mbit (not a chance).
__________________
Oppressors can tyrannize only when they achieve a standing army, an enslaved press, and a disarmed populace. -- James Madison

The Constitution shall never be construed to authorize Congress to prevent the people of the United States, who are peaceable citizens, from keeping their own arms. -- Samuel Adams, Debates and Proceedings in the Convention of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 86-87 (Pearce and Hale, eds., Boston, 1850)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-10-2009, 6:00 AM
Nobama4us's Avatar
Nobama4us Nobama4us is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sac-O-Tomatoes
Posts: 223
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artherd View Post
Netscreen 5GT Wireless FTW. Enterprise reliability in a home/office device.

Every dam Linksys I've ever used has required a reset about once a month. Not the Netscreen.
the 5GT is EOL, you want the SSG series, multiple wifi essid's, more filtering and rules than you can shake a stick at. sorry for the crap-tacular picture.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ssg5.jpg (19.2 KB, 58 views)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-10-2009, 1:55 PM
artherd's Avatar
artherd artherd is offline
Vendor/Retailer
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: North SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,069
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobama4us View Post
the 5GT is EOL, you want the SSG series, multiple wifi essid's, more filtering and rules than you can shake a stick at. sorry for the crap-tacular picture.
True, but even the old azz 5GT is 100x the router any linksys will ever be.

It's almost too good, I have my wifi and Wlan on two separate subnets now. I don't even need that and can't figure out how to dumb it down.
__________________
- Ben Cannon.
Chairman, CEO - GPal, Inc.™
CoFounder - GeoVario™, LLC. - the hosting company that brings you Calguns™

Postings are my own, and are not formal positions of any other entity, or legal advice.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-10-2009, 6:30 PM
Nobama4us's Avatar
Nobama4us Nobama4us is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sac-O-Tomatoes
Posts: 223
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

speaking of old azz ****, I still have that 2948 waiting for you to pick it up
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-10-2009, 6:35 PM
DiscoBayJoe's Avatar
DiscoBayJoe DiscoBayJoe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Discovery Bay, CA
Posts: 1,331
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

A Cisco 1811 is a great home access device for someone who likes to get intimate with their gear. 8 Ports of FE + 2 WAN and WiFi.

Fullblown Advanced IP Services IOS so it's a swiss army device.

I've got mine setup with a SSID/VLAN for guest access, a SSID/VLAN for my personal gear (TiVo and WebCam), and a SSID/VLan that is a DMVPN to the office.

They should start popping up cheap 2nd hand since they are only A/B/G and N + Gig is the hot shiz.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-13-2009, 11:02 AM
Cos's Avatar
Cos Cos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: East Bay
Posts: 268
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

From the years of personal experience:
- WRT54GL ($60) w/ Tomato firmware.

You'll get yourself a procumer router with QoS and other professional features. Very stable too!
__________________

NRA Life Member
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:04 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.