Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2009, 6:26 PM
TonyKat's Avatar
TonyKat TonyKat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Roseville, Ca
Posts: 323
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default I'm the Apple man

If anyone ever has any questions about Macs I'm your go to guy.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2009, 7:48 PM
mister dize's Avatar
mister dize mister dize is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 134
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

How do you install Windows on one?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2009, 7:50 PM
erblo's Avatar
erblo erblo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 542
iTrader: 13 / 100%
Default

VMware Fusion, then install Windows.

Runs better than a PC!
__________________
~erblo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2009, 8:04 PM
reggie 00's Avatar
reggie 00 reggie 00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vacaville
Posts: 342
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by erblo View Post
VMware Fusion, then install Windows.

Runs better than a PC!
that's what i have on my work laptop.
Works good.

XP, and 98
__________________


NRA Life Member
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2009, 8:10 PM
sfwdiy's Avatar
sfwdiy sfwdiy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 2,135
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyKat View Post
If anyone ever has any questions about Macs I'm your go to guy.
How does one configure networked home folders on 10.5 Server?

--B
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2009, 8:55 PM
TonyKat's Avatar
TonyKat TonyKat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Roseville, Ca
Posts: 323
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfwdiy View Post
How does one configure networked home folders on 10.5 Server?

--B
I can only answer that if you have a mac mini farm
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-26-2009, 9:05 PM
sfwdiy's Avatar
sfwdiy sfwdiy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 2,135
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyKat View Post
I can only answer that if you have a mac mini farm
You never know, I just might.

--B
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-27-2009, 9:24 PM
Timberline Timberline is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: High Country
Posts: 426
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyKat View Post
If anyone ever has any questions about Macs I'm your go to guy.
Why is iPhoto so lame about moving its folders by hand to another hard drive?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-27-2009, 9:36 PM
Librarian's Avatar
Librarian Librarian is offline
Super Moderator
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Concord
Posts: 33,356
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Blog Entries: 6
Default

When is finder going to have a GUI bulk-rename function? (Applescript doesn't count!)
__________________
Calguns Wiki, Magazine Qs, Knife laws

Unless there is some way to amend a bill so you would support it,
the details do not matter until the Governor signs or allows the bill to become law.

Ask CA law questions in the How CA Laws Apply to/Affect Me Forum
- most questions that start 'Is it legal ...' go there.

Not a lawyer, just Some Guy On The Interwebs.


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-27-2009, 10:02 PM
TonyKat's Avatar
TonyKat TonyKat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Roseville, Ca
Posts: 323
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timberline View Post
Why is iPhoto so lame about moving its folders by hand to another hard drive?
You can always just have the library live on the external
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-28-2009, 5:36 AM
Timberline Timberline is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: High Country
Posts: 426
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyKat View Post
You can always just have the library live on the external
It's been no end of angst when my wife tries to move photos out of the library, or manipulate the library by hand, on disk. There appear to be tricks to get iPhoto to recognize a new location for its library, but they feel cheesey - there should be a simpler interface for such operations. For me, it's a case of Apple taking a great product almost to the right place, but stopping just shy of the mark. They don't think through a large enough number of use cases.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-28-2009, 6:46 AM
plm61's Avatar
plm61 plm61 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Inland Empire
Posts: 170
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by erblo View Post
VMware Fusion, then install Windows.

Runs better than a PC!
According to Mossberg in the Wall Street Journal, there are issues with VM under Snow Leopard. None that I know of with Parallels Desktop.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-28-2009, 7:24 AM
wilson_wwsc's Avatar
wilson_wwsc wilson_wwsc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 914
iTrader: 29 / 100%
Default

Why are pcs better than macs?
__________________
`,,`VV죧`,,`
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-28-2009, 7:31 AM
lazyworm's Avatar
lazyworm lazyworm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dublin, CA
Posts: 1,439
iTrader: 55 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by erblo View Post
VMware Fusion, then install Windows.

Runs better than a PC!
Don't forget virtualbox. It's come a long way and it's free.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-28-2009, 5:34 PM
TonyKat's Avatar
TonyKat TonyKat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Roseville, Ca
Posts: 323
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timberline View Post
It's been no end of angst when my wife tries to move photos out of the library, or manipulate the library by hand, on disk. There appear to be tricks to get iPhoto to recognize a new location for its library, but they feel cheesey - there should be a simpler interface for such operations. For me, it's a case of Apple taking a great product almost to the right place, but stopping just shy of the mark. They don't think through a large enough number of use cases.
Oh that's not tough, just move the library to the external, then option click the iPhoto icon and specify the library on the external. From then on out iPhoto will only use that library. You can use the same methodology for most apps, like iTunes or iMovie. I love having my data on an external device or server.

Last edited by TonyKat; 08-28-2009 at 5:38 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-31-2009, 12:37 PM
Blackhawk556's Avatar
Blackhawk556 Blackhawk556 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: FresNO, Ca
Posts: 3,668
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Default

Would you guys agree that the software apple makes (leopard iLife garage band and other stuff) is good bit their computers are just way over priced?

Software= good
hardware =overpriced
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-31-2009, 1:11 PM
ocabj's Avatar
ocabj ocabj is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,156
iTrader: 40 / 100%
Default

How do resolve the failed linking for libiconv when compiling PHP 5.3 (stable or latest snapshot) under OS 10.6?
__________________

Distinguished Rifleman #1924
NRA Certified Instructor (Rifle and Metallic Cartridge Reloading) and RSO
https://www.ocabj.net | http://jocabphoto.com

My AR15 Service Rifle - Used for CMP/NRA High Power Service Rifle Competitions
My Eliseo R5 (Remington 700) Tube Gun - Used for NRA High Power (Match Category) Competitions
My M1 Garand Service Rifle - Used for JCG Matches, rebuilt by Dean's Gun Restorations
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-31-2009, 1:35 PM
artherd's Avatar
artherd artherd is offline
Vendor/Retailer
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: North SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,069
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by du9207 View Post
Would you guys agree that the software apple makes (leopard iLife garage band and other stuff) is good bit their computers are just way over priced?

Software= good
hardware =overpriced
For me - no. I'll gladly pay a little more for version controlled hardware. Infact, in that industry, Apple is *cheap*

For comparison:
__________________
- Ben Cannon.
Chairman, CEO - GPal, Inc.
CoFounder - GeoVario, LLC. - the hosting company that brings you Calguns

Postings are my own, and are not formal positions of any other entity, or legal advice.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-31-2009, 2:06 PM
chiefcrash's Avatar
chiefcrash chiefcrash is offline
Internet Dictator
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Not-So-Freemont, PRK
Posts: 3,385
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

How do I make my mac something more than an overpriced PC with a prettied up version of FreeBSD on it?



Remember: if you can't open it, you don't own it...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kestryll View Post
we can not nor should not dismiss or discount my theory that in the dark of night you molest sea anemones by candlelight.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TKM View Post
Show me on this 1st Amendment bobble-head doll where the mods touched you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Click Boom View Post
It is clear from this thread that citadel grad was the gunman, and Oswald his patsy.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-31-2009, 9:23 PM
retired retired is offline
Super Moderator
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Riverside County
Posts: 9,206
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Okay, first let it be known I'm computer illiterate and didn't understand the technical stuff you were talking about. So, if you can help me, please dumb it down; real dumb.

Our pc (now dead and in need of reformatting) had a program called Publisher and I used it to write my flyers for the Neighborhood Watch program I run in my neighborhood. I was able to set up columns on the left and right side to list my block captains. The narrative would be in the middle.

I cannot find anything when I search that is similar. I keep on forgetting to call Apple, but since I just saw this forum, I thought I'd ask.

I have been very lucky these last 9 months as nothing of a criminal nature has occurred, so a flyer has not been needed.

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 08-31-2009, 9:31 PM
ocabj's Avatar
ocabj ocabj is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,156
iTrader: 40 / 100%
Default

You can setup columns in Microsoft Word. You don't need Publisher.

The Mac has Word (Office 2008) or Pages in iWork:

http://www.apple.com/iwork/pages/
__________________

Distinguished Rifleman #1924
NRA Certified Instructor (Rifle and Metallic Cartridge Reloading) and RSO
https://www.ocabj.net | http://jocabphoto.com

My AR15 Service Rifle - Used for CMP/NRA High Power Service Rifle Competitions
My Eliseo R5 (Remington 700) Tube Gun - Used for NRA High Power (Match Category) Competitions
My M1 Garand Service Rifle - Used for JCG Matches, rebuilt by Dean's Gun Restorations
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-31-2009, 10:49 PM
domokun's Avatar
domokun domokun is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 3,535
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocabj View Post
You can setup columns in Microsoft Word. You don't need Publisher.

The Mac has Word (Office 2008) or Pages in iWork:

http://www.apple.com/iwork/pages/
You can also use Scribus for Mac if you're looking for a "Desktop Publishing" software that costs $0.
__________________
"Can our form of government, our system of justice, survive if one can be denied a freedom because he might abuse it?" --Harlon Carter
"A government big enough to give you everything you want is a government big enough to take from you everything you have." --Gerald Ford
"Government is essentially the negation of liberty." --Ludwig von Mises
"You cannot invade mainland United States. There would be a rifle behind each blade of grass." --Admiral Yamamoto
USS Hornet ARC Member.


Join today?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-01-2009, 1:58 AM
sfwdiy's Avatar
sfwdiy sfwdiy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 2,135
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocabj View Post
How do resolve the failed linking for libiconv when compiling PHP 5.3 (stable or latest snapshot) under OS 10.6?
Why are you doing this on 10.6? That's what linux is for.

Kidding, of course.


Seriously though, you can't get PHP to compile properly on 10.6? Is this for a web server?

--B
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-01-2009, 4:38 AM
ocabj's Avatar
ocabj ocabj is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,156
iTrader: 40 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfwdiy View Post
Why are you doing this on 10.6? That's what linux is for.

Kidding, of course.


Seriously though, you can't get PHP to compile properly on 10.6? Is this for a web server?

--B
I always install MySQL+PHP+Apache on my OS X boxes (I don't use the bundled php+apache) for local web dev. PHP 5.3 bundled works (and binaries from php.net). But compiling from source on 10.6 yields linker errors against liiconv and some dns libraries. It's a known issue on the php bug tracker. Supposedly fixed in snapshots, but not from what I found when I actually pulled a latest snapshot.
__________________

Distinguished Rifleman #1924
NRA Certified Instructor (Rifle and Metallic Cartridge Reloading) and RSO
https://www.ocabj.net | http://jocabphoto.com

My AR15 Service Rifle - Used for CMP/NRA High Power Service Rifle Competitions
My Eliseo R5 (Remington 700) Tube Gun - Used for NRA High Power (Match Category) Competitions
My M1 Garand Service Rifle - Used for JCG Matches, rebuilt by Dean's Gun Restorations
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-01-2009, 12:28 PM
sned45 sned45 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Jose
Posts: 674
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mister dize View Post
How do you install Windows on one?
Boot Camp Windows install and link it with Parallels, this way you can run Windows stand alone or in VM.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-01-2009, 12:30 PM
sfwdiy's Avatar
sfwdiy sfwdiy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 2,135
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocabj View Post
I always install MySQL+PHP+Apache on my OS X boxes (I don't use the bundled php+apache) for local web dev. PHP 5.3 bundled works (and binaries from php.net). But compiling from source on 10.6 yields linker errors against liiconv and some dns libraries. It's a known issue on the php bug tracker. Supposedly fixed in snapshots, but not from what I found when I actually pulled a latest snapshot.
Huh. Gonna have to wait for the bug fix then, I guess. Why compile if the binaries work? Are you rolling your own custom code?

--B
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-01-2009, 12:36 PM
ocabj's Avatar
ocabj ocabj is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,156
iTrader: 40 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfwdiy View Post
Huh. Gonna have to wait for the bug fix then, I guess. Why compile if the binaries work? Are you rolling your own custom code?

--B
I come from the school of thought to always compile from source for your system. Matter of fact, I don't have any colleagues (coworkers or friends) that use pre-compiled Unix binaries. Plus, when you compile from source, it allows you to install in a jailed directory, as opposed to default paths like in /usr or /usr/local, which can poison the system's build environment, especially after you start updating a specific application.

i.e. I install things in the /inst directory, with /inst/pkg-ver and /inst/pkg as subdirs. If I want to compile and install Apache 2.2.13, I'll do a "./configure --prefix=/inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13 [other options] && make && make install" to put it in /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13. After that I'll symlink /inst/pkg/httpd to /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13. Then if say Apache 2.2.14 is released, I'll compile/install in /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.14 and test it. If it's good, I'll change the httpd symlink in /inst/pkg to /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.14. Then if for some reason I need to roll back to 2.2.13, I can.
__________________

Distinguished Rifleman #1924
NRA Certified Instructor (Rifle and Metallic Cartridge Reloading) and RSO
https://www.ocabj.net | http://jocabphoto.com

My AR15 Service Rifle - Used for CMP/NRA High Power Service Rifle Competitions
My Eliseo R5 (Remington 700) Tube Gun - Used for NRA High Power (Match Category) Competitions
My M1 Garand Service Rifle - Used for JCG Matches, rebuilt by Dean's Gun Restorations
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-01-2009, 1:02 PM
TonyKat's Avatar
TonyKat TonyKat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Roseville, Ca
Posts: 323
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocabj View Post
...I always install MySQL+PHP+Apache on my OS X boxes...
Why not just use the version that is already there?

EDIT: eh ok jailed directory i can see that logic, but I'm not a worry wort

Last edited by TonyKat; 09-01-2009 at 1:04 PM.. Reason: didn't see post above
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-01-2009, 1:06 PM
TonyKat's Avatar
TonyKat TonyKat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Roseville, Ca
Posts: 323
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocabj View Post
You can setup columns in Microsoft Word. You don't need Publisher.

The Mac has Word (Office 2008) or Pages in iWork:

http://www.apple.com/iwork/pages/
Or neo office http://www.neooffice.org/neojava/en/index.php
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-01-2009, 1:07 PM
ocabj's Avatar
ocabj ocabj is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,156
iTrader: 40 / 100%
Default

Look at my recent posts.

Not to mention that I do custom linking at compile time with various other dependencies.

Just because a Unix/Linux distribution comes with applications in the default install, it doesn't mean you should use them.
__________________

Distinguished Rifleman #1924
NRA Certified Instructor (Rifle and Metallic Cartridge Reloading) and RSO
https://www.ocabj.net | http://jocabphoto.com

My AR15 Service Rifle - Used for CMP/NRA High Power Service Rifle Competitions
My Eliseo R5 (Remington 700) Tube Gun - Used for NRA High Power (Match Category) Competitions
My M1 Garand Service Rifle - Used for JCG Matches, rebuilt by Dean's Gun Restorations
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 09-01-2009, 1:42 PM
sfwdiy's Avatar
sfwdiy sfwdiy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 2,135
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocabj View Post
I come from the school of thought to always compile from source for your system. Matter of fact, I don't have any colleagues (coworkers or friends) that use pre-compiled Unix binaries. Plus, when you compile from source, it allows you to install in a jailed directory, as opposed to default paths like in /usr or /usr/local, which can poison the system's build environment, especially after you start updating a specific application.

i.e. I install things in the /inst directory, with /inst/pkg-ver and /inst/pkg as subdirs. If I want to compile and install Apache 2.2.13, I'll do a "./configure --prefix=/inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13 [other options] && make && make install" to put it in /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13. After that I'll symlink /inst/pkg/httpd to /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13. Then if say Apache 2.2.14 is released, I'll compile/install in /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.14 and test it. If it's good, I'll change the httpd symlink in /inst/pkg to /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.14. Then if for some reason I need to roll back to 2.2.13, I can.
Makes sense. I actually really like the idea of swapping symlinks to roll back to different versions of your install. I can see how that works really well in a development environment.

That said, I'm not a developer. Whenever I find myself in a position where the binaries or whatever's available from the repositories ain't cuttin' it, it's because I'm doing something that I have absolutely no actual use for and I'm just screwing around with things for the sake of it.

I wish you well on your compiling endeavors, with no more failing of dependency library checks.

--B
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-01-2009, 2:14 PM
ocabj's Avatar
ocabj ocabj is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,156
iTrader: 40 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfwdiy View Post
Makes sense. I actually really like the idea of swapping symlinks to roll back to different versions of your install. I can see how that works really well in a development environment.
--B
Actually, this concept should be used in production as well. Particularly when you upgrade a specific package in a production service and weren't able to discover a bug during testing that only crops up after a few days of actual production use.

As far as being a developer, I'm not either. But as a systems administrator, more often that not you are doing things with packages/apps that aren't enabled in default binaries. Also, it's a good idea to always compile from source on your native system for optimizations which aren't present in a binary. Performance is very important when it comes to services used by your customers and/or clients (or in my case, the campus staff, faculty, and students).
__________________

Distinguished Rifleman #1924
NRA Certified Instructor (Rifle and Metallic Cartridge Reloading) and RSO
https://www.ocabj.net | http://jocabphoto.com

My AR15 Service Rifle - Used for CMP/NRA High Power Service Rifle Competitions
My Eliseo R5 (Remington 700) Tube Gun - Used for NRA High Power (Match Category) Competitions
My M1 Garand Service Rifle - Used for JCG Matches, rebuilt by Dean's Gun Restorations

Last edited by ocabj; 09-01-2009 at 2:18 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-11-2009, 6:06 PM
Wild Squid Wild Squid is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 506
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Is it possible to load Ubuntu or any other flavor of Unix on one of the new 15" Macbook Pros? I don't really want to use VMware Fusion as I don't want to pay for it, and would rather dual boot the OSX and Linux. I've searched online, and there really hasn't been a definitive answer nor how to do so. I've asked at a genius bar in a Apple store and they said no it wasn't possible. But I suspect he's just saying that cause Apple tells him so. I haven't bought a new Macbook yet, but the ability to do the above is what I'm basing my decision on.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 09-11-2009, 6:37 PM
ocabj's Avatar
ocabj ocabj is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,156
iTrader: 40 / 100%
Default

Yes, you can dual boot Ubuntu. There are how-to's on the Internet. I did it on my old Macbook (white) Core Duo.

Google search yielded this: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Ma...elInstallation

And you don't *have* to pay for VMWare. You can use VirtualBox (free).
__________________

Distinguished Rifleman #1924
NRA Certified Instructor (Rifle and Metallic Cartridge Reloading) and RSO
https://www.ocabj.net | http://jocabphoto.com

My AR15 Service Rifle - Used for CMP/NRA High Power Service Rifle Competitions
My Eliseo R5 (Remington 700) Tube Gun - Used for NRA High Power (Match Category) Competitions
My M1 Garand Service Rifle - Used for JCG Matches, rebuilt by Dean's Gun Restorations

Last edited by ocabj; 09-11-2009 at 6:40 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 09-12-2009, 7:14 AM
TonyKat's Avatar
TonyKat TonyKat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Roseville, Ca
Posts: 323
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wild Squid View Post
Is it possible to load Ubuntu or any other flavor of Unix on one of the new 15" Macbook Pros? I don't really want to use VMware Fusion as I don't want to pay for it, and would rather dual boot the OSX and Linux. I've searched online, and there really hasn't been a definitive answer nor how to do so. I've asked at a genius bar in a Apple store and they said no it wasn't possible. But I suspect he's just saying that cause Apple tells him so. I haven't bought a new Macbook yet, but the ability to do the above is what I'm basing my decision on.
Yeah it's easy. Macs are the same as pcs hardware wise. Boot to the os x instal disk, use disk utility to live partition the hard drive. Then install liux and lilo or grub and you're good to go. Google is your best friend here.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 09-26-2009, 8:54 PM
rosiekai's Avatar
rosiekai rosiekai is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 98
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Any idea why my iphone 3gs suddenly started pulling every email off of my server as a new message? It is showing 500+ new and 500+ unread. I delete them as they show up, but it just keeps bringing emails off of my server. I has been working fine since I got it in June until tonight.

I have 5 email accounts on the phone. It does not do this with my gmail account, just the others.

Thanks
__________________
Residential Construction Management and Consulting
http://www.garcm.com
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 09-26-2009, 10:14 PM
Darklyte27's Avatar
Darklyte27 Darklyte27 is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: East Bay Area USI Range
Posts: 9,361
iTrader: 59 / 100%
Default

Tested macbook air before its release while working at intel back in 06/07. we were running winxp, as macs used intel chipsets and cpus.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 09-26-2009, 10:25 PM
Richie Caketown Richie Caketown is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,385
iTrader: 47 / 98%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wilson_wwsc View Post
Why are pcs better than macs?
best question yet
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 09-26-2009, 10:32 PM
dude's Avatar
dude dude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 339
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocabj View Post
I come from the school of thought to always compile from source for your system. Matter of fact, I don't have any colleagues (coworkers or friends) that use pre-compiled Unix binaries. Plus, when you compile from source, it allows you to install in a jailed directory, as opposed to default paths like in /usr or /usr/local, which can poison the system's build environment, especially after you start updating a specific application.

i.e. I install things in the /inst directory, with /inst/pkg-ver and /inst/pkg as subdirs. If I want to compile and install Apache 2.2.13, I'll do a "./configure --prefix=/inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13 [other options] && make && make install" to put it in /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13. After that I'll symlink /inst/pkg/httpd to /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13. Then if say Apache 2.2.14 is released, I'll compile/install in /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.14 and test it. If it's good, I'll change the httpd symlink in /inst/pkg to /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.14. Then if for some reason I need to roll back to 2.2.13, I can.
Ok, but then you have to add tons of paths in your $PATH env variable. That's annoying. I still compile certain packages when necessary, such as higher optimizations needed for time critical applications (like number crunching), or an application that doesn't provide binaries at all. Otherwise it's a loss of productivity. It was fun when I was in high school compiling my own distributions of Linux (very good learning experience), but now I don't see the point of compiling everything (other than learning).
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 09-27-2009, 12:24 AM
berto's Avatar
berto berto is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA
Posts: 7,761
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Default

What's the best way to upgrade my IIe?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:31 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.