Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > INTERESTS AND ACTIVITIES > Ammo and Reloading
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Ammo and Reloading Factory Ammunition, Reloading, Components, Load Data and more.

Old 08-18-2009, 10:32 PM

Default Using Rem 6 1/2 SR primers for 223?

I stopped by Bass Pro Shops last weekend and to my surprise, I spotted a 1000 box of Remington 6 1/2 small rifle primers. Since Im running a little low on small rifle primers, I jumped on it. I have reloaded for years but I have never used Remington primers before. I have always use Win Small Rifle primers. I wanted to use them for 223 loads but to my shock, on the side the box it said "WARNING" DO NOT USE 6 1/2 PRIMERS IN HIGH INTENSITY CARTRIDGES SUCH AS THE 17 REM, 222 REM AND THE 223 REM. Im confused! Did I buy the wrong stuff. 6 1/2 primers are standard SR and 7 1/2 primers are SR Magnum primers. I find no data using the 6 1/2 primer for the 223 but I thought I would ask if anybody uses these primers for 223 loads or anything else for that matter.
S.A.S.S #74217
.45 Colt Enthusiast
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Old 08-19-2009, 12:58 PM
Calguns Addict

The cups on the 6-1/2 are too soft. They're more for low pressure rounds like the Hornet.

As far as Remington marketing, the 7-1/2 is their benchrest primer.

The 9-1/2 is their SR magnum primer.

Distinguished Rifleman #1924
NRA Certified Instructor (Rifle and Metallic Cartridge Reloading) and RSO
https://www.ocabj.net | http://jocabphoto.com

My AR15 Service Rifle - Used for CMP/NRA High Power Service Rifle Competitions
My Eliseo R5 (Remington 700) Tube Gun - Used for NRA High Power (Match Category) Competitions
My M1 Garand Service Rifle - Used for JCG Matches, rebuilt by Dean's Gun Restorations
Old 08-20-2009, 9:21 PM