Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Shotgun discussions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Shotgun discussions Trap, Hunting, Defense and more. A place for enthusiasts to discuss the shotgun.

Old 05-04-2009, 8:24 PM

Smile 71/2 shot vs. 8 shot

Hi, I'm a novice to trap shooting.
What's the difference between 71/2 shot and 8 shot?
Is there a lot of difference between the two?
And, which one do you prefer?
Thanks for your input in advance!
Old 05-04-2009, 8:37 PM
I need a LIFE!!

i think there is like 10 more pellets in the #8
Old 05-04-2009, 8:48 PM

The higher the number, the smaller the shot size. For trap shooting I always go with the higher number, makes the shot hit more likely and the larger shot aren't required to break clay.

"Don't steal, the Government hates competition."
Old 05-04-2009, 9:42 PM
Veteran Member

the larger the shot pellets, the longer it takes for them to slow down. If you are a quick and aquire the bird right away, the #8 will have a touch more pellet density and bust the bird better,but if you need a longer shot on hard right or left birds, the 7.5's will not need as much lead since the ballistics are slightly more linear so to speak. In truth, it is really subtle for 16 yard trap, but step back from the line or shoot for 6 months to a year and you'll actually be able to tell the difference.
Old 05-04-2009, 9:42 PM

The 7.5 vs. 8 has been an ongoing battle of opinions for decades