Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Rimfire Firearms
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Rimfire Firearms .22, .17 and other Rimfire Handguns and Rifles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2009, 11:30 PM
bear bear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SF Bay Area East Bay north end
Posts: 431
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default 10/22 loses zero with each mag change

Anybody already have this problem?

I have a basic 10/22. Then changed the stock to Fajen, the barrel to Magnum Research graphite/carbon barrel.

Added the Ruger scope base, and a Simmons 22 Mag 3x9 AO scope. Now every time I change the magazine the zero changes! At 50 yards, it will jump 2 inches to the right, or inch 1/2 toward the 2:00 o'clock, or 8:00 o'clock positions. Every mag change. If I shoot through the magazine, it seems to group like one inch, but it's suddenly a nice group in a seemingly random spot.

What's loose?

The scope mounts, rings, base, all are tight. I've never taken apart the internals, only changed the barrel. The barrel WAS tight, all sorts of warnings are given not to over-torque the barrel screws. Doesn't seem like a loose barrel would only change when I take out the magazine and refill and re-insert it.

Just wondering if anybody had this before, what it was? Thanks for any help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-02-2009, 2:41 AM
NoNOS67's Avatar
NoNOS67 NoNOS67 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,162
iTrader: 25 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bear View Post
Anybody already have this problem?

I have a basic 10/22. Then changed the stock to Fajen, the barrel to Magnum Research graphite/carbon barrel.

Added the Ruger scope base, and a Simmons 22 Mag 3x9 AO scope. Now every time I change the magazine the zero changes! At 50 yards, it will jump 2 inches to the right, or inch 1/2 toward the 2:00 o'clock, or 8:00 o'clock positions. Every mag change. If I shoot through the magazine, it seems to group like one inch, but it's suddenly a nice group in a seemingly random spot.

What's loose?

The scope mounts, rings, base, all are tight. I've never taken apart the internals, only changed the barrel. The barrel WAS tight, all sorts of warnings are given not to over-torque the barrel screws. Doesn't seem like a loose barrel would only change when I take out the magazine and refill and re-insert it.

Just wondering if anybody had this before, what it was? Thanks for any help!
May seem like a stupid question, but same ammo in each magazine, right?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-02-2009, 8:51 AM
bear bear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SF Bay Area East Bay north end
Posts: 431
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Yeah, it's Aguila Std. Velocity 40 gr. LRN
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-02-2009, 9:07 AM
22popnsplat's Avatar
22popnsplat 22popnsplat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,045
iTrader: 34 / 100%
Default

If everything is tight then try a different scope. it just could be Coincidence that it happens on a mag change . double check all the screws though , it sounds more like a loose base .
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-02-2009, 9:23 AM
scootergmc's Avatar
scootergmc scootergmc is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: On the Sac Co. 99
Posts: 4,109
iTrader: 34 / 100%
Default

I'd think the only thing that changes after a mag change is possibly the shooter's positions/cheekweld/hold etc.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-02-2009, 10:16 AM
22popnsplat's Avatar
22popnsplat 22popnsplat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,045
iTrader: 34 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scootergmc View Post
I'd think the only thing that changes after a mag change is possibly the shooter's positions/cheekweld/hold etc.
Now that you mention that it brings up the question of parallex of the scope , I have had some that were pretty bad. what kind of scope is it and at what distance are you shooting?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-02-2009, 11:17 AM
mcat707's Avatar
mcat707 mcat707 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NOR*CAL- Solano County
Posts: 2,001
iTrader: 129 / 100%
Default

I had that same problem with my 10/22 until I found that the factory base mount was slightly loose. It felt tight when I tried to wiggle it but it was actually loose when I checked how tight the screws were. Lock Tight took care of that problem.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-02-2009, 1:33 PM
Twinspool Twinspool is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rancho Crapola
Posts: 283
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default

Time to remount the base and scope. Get some purple locktite and make sure the base is solid. Some people have recommended a little piece of electrical tape on the inner surface of the rings too. Nothing will fix crap optics though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:11 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.