Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > POLITICS, LITIGATION AND ACTIVISM > California 2nd Amend. Political Discussion & Activism
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

California 2nd Amend. Political Discussion & Activism Discuss gun rights activism and 2A related political topics here. All advice given is NOT legal counsel.

Old 04-10-2009, 5:58 PM

Default So when CAN you shoot an intruder?

I have decided to purchase a gun for HD purposes and am attempting to learn the laws that pertain to HD to keep my family safe as well as on the right side of the law. I am fairly new to this world so go easy on me. One of the last things I would ever want to do is harm someone that did not intend to harm anyone else.

I understand that you cannot shoot someone for the sole purpose of defending your property. While I can accept this, I tend to side with Texas law considering this issue. I find it extremely difficult to think that should I catch a burglary in progress, rather than grab my shotgun and gaining control of the situation, I am supposed to go out and assess the situation to see if the robber has a weapon and intends to use it before I can even point a gun at him. But like I said, I will accept it.

I am a little blurry when it comes to actual home break ins. If someone broke into my home, my first instinct would be to grab the gun, attempt to find the intruder with the gun in a ready to fire position, yell a lot letting him know that I was armed, and when I found him (if he had not already jumped out of a window) I would point the gun at him and order him to the ground. If he complied, I would hold him there until the police came. If he charged me or otherwise tried to attack me, I would shoot him. My questions are these. At what point, legally, are you justified to: