Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > CALGUNS.NET > New to Calguns? Check here first!
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New to Calguns? Check here first! Introductions, How to's, FAQ's and posts of interest to new members.

Old 02-05-2009, 5:26 AM
Veteran Member

Default Ak-47 question from Inland Empire

Hello Everyone!

I love this forum, it's great!
I'm a newbie with an AK legal question. Sorry just didn't know where to post.

I have an FEG Hungarian SA-85M AK-47. I purchased this rifle in the early 90's.
It's a stamped receiver and came with the blonde thumbhole stock.
It is registered as an Assault rifle with DOJ. Now my question is:

Can I now replace the thumbhole stock to a regular Romanian stock?
Being the Roberti-Roosi law is no longer valid and the rifle is registered as an assault weapon.

Looking forward to your help.
Thanks.
Peter
Old 02-05-2009, 7:48 AM
Super Moderator
CGN Contributor - Lifetime

You can but I would make sure you comply with federal section 922(r) governing how many US / domestic made parts you need to have on your rifle in order to remove the butthole thumbstock.

Try this link:

http://thegunwiki.com/Gunwiki/BuildAkVerifyCompliance

Turby
Old 02-05-2009, 10:21 AM
Veteran Member

So this 922r was not abolished with the Robert-Roosi law?

922(r) does not apply to NFA items. If you do the paperwork to turn a legal weapon into an SBR or AOW, you no longer have to worry about parts count.

Here's a question from the quote above---- Since I have registered my weapon with CA DOJ as an assault rifle, is it ok to convert it back to original look?
As per statement above.

Peter

Last edited by Mstnpete; 02-05-2009 at 10:32 AM..
Old 02-05-2009, 10:28 AM
Super Moderator