Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > SPECIALTY FORUMS > Calgunners in Service
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Calgunners in Service This forum is a place for our active duty and deployed members to share, request and have a bit of home where ever they are.

Old 01-25-2009, 7:46 PM

Default Joining the Army!

I am strongly considering joining the California National Guard and I have a few questions. How long does the process take? I am getting married in June so I wouldn't want to go to basic training until some months after that. Also, what are the enlistment terms? If I enlisted for say 8 years, how much of that could I expect to be deployed for?

I have been considering this for many years I just haven't don't it yet. I was stuck on being deployed. Now I realize that it is apart of the National Guard. I had a long talk with my soon to be wife earlier this evening and we came to an agreement. I was considering the California State Military Reserve but she said if I was going to do it, that I should do that real thing(And get paid for it).

When deployment comes around, how long could I expect to be deployed for?

Sorry for asking so many questions. I have always felt that it was my duty to serve me country and it seems like a good experience. My mom always told me that she would disown me if I ever actually did it. I now realize that this is not reality and that she will deal with it.

Thank you guys for serving and keeping this great country alive, I hope to be among your ranks in the not to far off future.

Last edited by thebloodsonthewall; 01-31-2009 at 2:49 PM.. Reason: Title change
Old 01-25-2009, 8:10 PM
Calguns Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebloodsonthewall View Post