Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > California handguns
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

California handguns Discuss your favorite California handgun technical and related questions here.

Old 09-13-2017, 1:33 PM

Default *final update post #61: Quick Outting with my Springfield Professional

I posted elsewhere on here that I recently picked up a brand new SA 1911 Professional. I finally made time to hit the range with it yesterday.

Fit and finish are perfect and it ran 100 of my personal plated 230gn RN (with 5gn of N320) reloads like a sewing machine.

Here's my only dilemma: it shoots low and left for me! You can see my groupings here. The green dot was where I was aiming for each group of 7 rounds. All shots were 7yds off hand.

Now, I'm an NRA pistol instructor and my first thought for ANYONE who shoots low and left is flinching. And pistol sights are never off. It's always operator error. But to flinch 100 rounds into 13 groups low and left? I wanted to have someone else give it a whirl to confirm it's not operator error, but everyone else's pistol targets at 7yds looked like buckshot. So I was out of luck. To prove my point, here's my first ever mag with my 10mm G20sf. No flinching. And I shot my TRP like I did my G20SF. I'm not new to 1911's.

Now I know my groups could have been tighter with the 1911, but that's not my issue (I was on 4 cups of coffee and an empty stomach, leave me alone). To hit where I was hitting, my point of aim was literally halfway down the sightpost. So I need the ever trusty CG forum to tell me that I'm crazy and it's operator error, or the sights are actually off. I sent SA an email last night but they haven't yet responded.

What do you all think?

Last edited by EMR; 09-13-2017 at 1:44 PM..
Old 09-13-2017, 1:39 PM