Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > California handguns
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

California handguns Discuss your favorite California handgun technical and related questions here.

Old 12-10-2008, 8:09 PM

Default some basic questions on CA laws

I'm hoping this is the right forum, but here goes...

Let me start off by saying I'm pretty new to pistols, but I'm a quick learner and have taken one of the NRA FIRST steps pistols course. I'll hopefully be bringing my Springfield XD40 and S&W model 41 with me if and when I make the move to CA.

I've been trying to read up on CA law and have some questions/things I want to make sure I'm understanding correctly.
1. Regarding the 10 round magazine restrictions. I've been looking over http://www.nraila.org/statelawpdfs/CASL.pdf which states
Quote:
It is unlawful for any person who manufactures,
imports, or offers for sale, gives, or lends any ammunition
magazine that can hold more than 10 rounds (not
including .22 tube magazines). Exceptions include: a
loan of a lawfully possessed magazine to a person who is
not prohibited from possessing firearms or ammunition,
if such loan occurs at a place where possession of the
magazine is not otherwise prohibited and the person who
lends the magazine remains in the accessible vicinity to the
person to whom the magazine is loaned; the importation
of a magazine by a person who lawfully possessed the
magazine in the state prior to January 1, 2000, lawfully
took it out of the state and is returning to the state; the
sale or purchase of a magazine to or by a person licensed
to sell firearms; and the lending or giving of a magazine to
a licensed dealer or gunsmith for repair and its return to
its owner.