Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > OUTDOORS, HUNTING AND SURVIVAL > Blades, Bows and Tools
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Blades, Bows and Tools Discussion of non-firearm weapons and camping/survival tools.

Old 05-31-2018, 7:48 PM

Default PSE Nighthawk 35lb?

How's this bow? I'm thinking of using sights and a riser later on.

Any other good bows to consider in the $150-200 price range? I can go up as high as $300 since I'm a beginner and not quite sure what my preferences are just yet.
Old 06-01-2018, 1:37 PM
Veteran Member

What are you going to use it for? The Samick Sage is a wildly popular bow for beginners. Start with a 25-30 lb limb to get a feel for how a recurve shoots. You can swap to heavier limbs later as your strength builds.

Not sure what you mean by adding a "riser" later on. Every recurve bow has a riser, limbs, and string.

http://www.lancasterarchery.com/sami...curve-bow.html
Old 06-01-2018, 4:00 PM

I had never seen a PSE Nighthawk so I looked it up. It looks identical to a Samick Sage. Interesting. Anyway, I agree that the Sage is a fine entry level bow (and probably so is the Nighthawk) and I also am confused about the "riser" comment.

Another option would be an ILF bow. ILF stands for international limb fittings. You can easily buy an ILF riser and limbs and stay within your budget. This gives you the advantage of a HUGE selection of limbs and other accessories later on.

http://www.lancasterarchery.com/sale...ser&Trigger=ac

Since there are so many options with ILF bows, you probably would want to call Lancaster or stop by your local archery shop and talk to someone who can help you out.

Tim
Old 06-01-2018, 10:07 PM

Sorry guys, the proper term I was thinking of is shelf.

The store employee recommended AAE Champion II Rest and Master Plunger.