Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2017, 10:32 AM
MrBlazito's Avatar
MrBlazito MrBlazito is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 709
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default How's the new Firefox treating you?

I like it, but have had some problems with message popping up saying a page is loading too slow and asking me if I want to stop it or wait. Never had this issue before. Otherwise, I like it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-22-2017, 10:37 AM
Casual_Shooter's Avatar
Casual_Shooter Casual_Shooter is offline
Ban Hammer Avoidance Team
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Did you notice how far over I've moved this part of my info? You should try it, it's fun.
Posts: 10,013
iTrader: 52 / 100%
Default

Some pages load slowly occasionally. I also lost the ability to print a pdf file straight from the browser (the old plug-in is not compatible with Quantum).

Otherwise, it seems a bit faster than before.
__________________
Guns, dogs and home alarms. Opponents are all of a sudden advocates once their personal space is violated.

"Those who cannot remember the posts are condemned to repeat them"

I wish I had a dollar for every time someone used a cliché
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-22-2017, 11:52 AM
CessnaDriver's Avatar
CessnaDriver CessnaDriver is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8,204
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Seems to have memory leaks, starts to get slow. Also multiple instances seem to be running so when it does get slow I have to kill them one by one. Granted my PC is getting up there in age.
__________________
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/signaturepics/sigpic28512_1.gif

"Yeah, like... well, I just want to slap a hippie or two. Maybe even make them get jobs."

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-22-2017, 12:10 PM
RazoE's Avatar
RazoE RazoE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 235
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Working great for me, especially with the new NoScript installed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-22-2017, 12:36 PM
Cody's Avatar
Cody Cody is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,166
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Definitely faster. So far so good.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-22-2017, 12:43 PM
Anonreg_89323423's Avatar
Anonreg_89323423 Anonreg_89323423 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 167
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Good but the new version of NoScript is a completely useless piece of junk, looks and acts nothing like the previous one. I was able to find NoScript Suite Lite to replace it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-22-2017, 12:49 PM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied Commiefornia
Posts: 6,777
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Seems to last longer than before until the memory leaks kick in.

Then again, if on a 64 bit Windows version, it updated one to 64 bit if you were running 32 bit, so that might be a factor...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by FeuerFrei View Post
...Either that or use the holy hand grenade of Antioch.
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-22-2017, 12:57 PM
wpage's Avatar
wpage wpage is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,285
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

The price is right...
__________________
God so loved the world He gave His only Son... Believe in Him and have everlasting life.
John 3:16

United Air Epic Fail Video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u99Q7pNAjvg
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-22-2017, 1:58 PM
gdr_11's Avatar
gdr_11 gdr_11 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: East Texas - Free at Last!
Posts: 1,939
iTrader: 27 / 100%
Default

I dont like the fact that Mozilla has joined the ranks of every other tech company that pushes upgrades on the user without providing an option to opt out. I find the interface of the toolbar to be clumsy when using the Bookmarks and History features
__________________
In an emergency, always dial 1911.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-22-2017, 5:55 PM
RazoE's Avatar
RazoE RazoE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 235
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

^ You can opt out in options. Same as before.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-22-2017, 9:44 PM
Esquire's Avatar
Esquire Esquire is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 1,366
iTrader: 90 / 100%
Default

Quantum is on turbo speed. What's not to like. For youtube, though, MS Edge still plays videos better. F
F on my computers cant reliably handle 1080p. It drop frames. Maybe fault lies with my older computers.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-22-2017, 11:32 PM
CGT80 CGT80 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fontana, CA USA
Posts: 2,923
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

After the update, I UPGRADED to 56.0.2 and disabled updates.

They have followed google and youtube down the drain. The squared off tabs look like crap and somehow it seems more monochrome like youtube has become.

Not being able to move the bookmarks star broke the camel's back.

The home button could be moved and a few other items, but not the star. On 56, the bookmarks menu and star are next to each other and I have them on the top left of the bookmarks toolbar. In 56, you can move menu items to a hidden folder of the hamburger menu and arrange what is left the way you want. Not anymore.

Too many of the addons will not work.

Firefox was about being open source and allowing the user to customize the layout and run addons to work more efficiently. They made major changes and came up with a GUI that is worse and didn't allow users an option for parts of the old layout or customizing.

This is just like win 10 with the vanishing scroll bars. It is bad enough that in 8.1 there is no contrast between the scroll bar and the program, and I haven't found a good way to fix it. Now in 10 they disappear but it adds nothing to the space or functionality and actually is a few steps backward as you can't see where you are on a page and have to wait for a stupid skinny scroll bar to reappear. Needless to say I have blocked win 10 from being able to install and run classic start menu and taskbar tweaker.

Hopefully, mozilla will figure it out and fix what is wrong with 57 before 56 is no longer usable.

The pocket deal was also a joke, as well as all the items at the end of the address bar to copy or share screenshots of the browser. It is useless crap for me, with no way to dump the extra icons. aboutconfig, iirc, had an option to disable pocket. Reviews on the web said it is not open source code, yet is tied into firefox. Why would I want some stupid thing to advertise to me and make suggestions? That sounds too much like stupidbook and all those other social media sites.

The new firefox and I didn't even make it through the first date!
__________________
He who dies with the most tools/toys wins

Last edited by CGT80; 11-23-2017 at 10:15 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-24-2017, 6:41 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied Commiefornia
Posts: 6,777
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by FeuerFrei View Post
...Either that or use the holy hand grenade of Antioch.
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-24-2017, 7:05 AM
CG11's Avatar
CG11 CG11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: I.E.
Posts: 206
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Works well, is a little faster. No complaints.
__________________
I'm not that happy to see you - It's a gun.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-26-2017, 10:28 AM
gdr_11's Avatar
gdr_11 gdr_11 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: East Texas - Free at Last!
Posts: 1,939
iTrader: 27 / 100%
Default

After several days I went to the Extended Support Release version which is supposed to provide all of the upgraded security features with the look and feel of the older versions. Refreshed Firefox after the update and all is well once again. Oh, and I did disable the updates also.
__________________
In an emergency, always dial 1911.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-26-2017, 10:42 AM
El Toro's Avatar
El Toro El Toro is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,453
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Default

I thought Firefox was no longer safe since they announced they were indeed collecting user data.
__________________
Quote:
Western civilization represents the pinnacle of true human progress, and we should rightly be proud of it, delusional leftists be damned.

Quote:
We know it's the family and the church not government officials who know best how to create strong and loving communities. And above all else we know this, in America, we don't worship government, we worship God.
President Donald J. Trump, Oct. 13, 2017
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-26-2017, 12:01 PM
langss's Avatar
langss langss is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 781
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBlazito View Post
I like it, but have had some problems with message popping up saying a page is loading too slow and asking me if I want to stop it or wait. Never had this issue before. Otherwise, I like it.
I'm getting this^^^^^ a lot and I hardly ever got it before.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CessnaDriver View Post
Seems to have memory leaks, starts to get slow. Also multiple instances seem to be running so when it does get slow I have to kill them one by one. Granted my PC is getting up there in age.
I find this happens a lot....I never new what to call it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the86d View Post
Seems to last longer than before until the memory leaks kick in.

Then again, if on a 64 bit Windows version, it updated one to 64 bit if you were running 32 bit, so that might be a factor...
Now if I open more than three tabs....everything just slows down, or stalls.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CG11 View Post
Works well, is a little faster. No complaints.
It does seem is a little faster, but if it stalls and I have to shut it down, I'm thinking its not really faster. I'm glad yours is working.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-05-2017, 3:21 PM
remusrm remusrm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 148
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

like all firefox browsers I have noticed it has hard time displaying java script in some cases.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-06-2017, 3:37 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied Commiefornia
Posts: 6,777
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by El Toro View Post
I thought Firefox was no longer safe since they announced they were indeed collecting user data.
Source needed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by langss View Post
Now if I open more than three tabs....everything just slows down, or stalls.
I only really have drag-factors if a tab or two is on eBay, FB, or something flash/track-script heavy...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by FeuerFrei View Post
...Either that or use the holy hand grenade of Antioch.
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-06-2017, 3:51 AM
Milsurps's Avatar
Milsurps Milsurps is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Snowflake Republic of Kalifornistan
Posts: 2,236
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default

Broke ~ 2/3 of my add-ons.
__________________
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/signaturepics/sigpic56689_3.gif
Dulce Bellum Inexpertis

NRA Patron Member
NRA Range Safety Officer
California Rifle & Pistol Association Member


I am not a product of my circumstances. I am a product of my decisions. –Stephen Covey
كافر
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 12-08-2017, 8:44 AM
remusrm remusrm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 148
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

The only time I find FF ok is on windows with more than 8Gb of ram. In most cases is memory hog, even in new form. On the rest of the platforms no matter what they are, is just slow and slows down the platform.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-09-2018, 9:37 AM
MrBlazito's Avatar
MrBlazito MrBlazito is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 709
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Not happy with the latest update (58.0.1). Getting memory leaks again. Firefox starts to get choppy when scrolling/switching between tabs. And there is an issue with hotmail. I have to refresh my hotmail account every time I want to click on a link inside an email. If I don't refresh, I can still open the email but when I click on a link it just takes me back to the inbox.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-10-2018, 2:20 AM
Dragunov's Avatar
Dragunov Dragunov is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TEXAS and FREEDOM!!
Posts: 1,334
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I use only FireFox Portable. That has worked extremely well for me.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-10-2018, 6:07 AM
halifax's Avatar
halifax halifax is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Mendocino County
Posts: 4,438
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CessnaDriver View Post
Seems to have memory leaks, starts to get slow. Also multiple instances seem to be running so when it does get slow I have to kill them one by one. Granted my PC is getting up there in age.
Several instances of firefox.exe are running simultaneously and using a GB of my 8GB RAM. I have to wonder why
__________________
Jim


Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-10-2018, 7:36 AM
Bushwack44's Avatar
Bushwack44 Bushwack44 is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,880
iTrader: 32 / 100%
Default

I stopped using FireFox long ago and switched to Chrome. With that said, recently started using Opera - especially for its built-in VPN feature.

It is an easy & simple transition going from Chrome to Opera (bookmarks, etc transferred 'naturally') and suggest ya'll give it a try; especially in light of various reports coming out how intrusive Google can be on your surfing.

You can't completely keep Google out of your life but you don't have to make it easy for them to know what you're doing/where you've been for them to make a dollar off you.
__________________
.
Facts are to liberals as kryptonite is to Superman.
...

Feed a man a fish, he eats for a day (Democrat).
Teach a man to fish, he eats for a lifetime (Republican).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:10 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2018, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.
Calguns.net and The Calguns Foundation have no affiliation and are in no way related to each other.
All opinions, statements and remarks made by Calguns.net on this web site and elsewhere are solely attributable to Calguns.net.