Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > INTERESTS AND ACTIVITIES > Ammo and Reloading
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Ammo and Reloading Factory Ammunition, Reloading, Components, Load Data and more.

Old 04-02-2015, 10:39 AM

Default Won't chamber after seating projectile

I will preface this by saying that I am new to reloading. I have done a lot of reading, and decided to start off with a Lee single stage press.

I am currently trying to reload .338 and since I am new, I wanted to chamber all of the resized cartridges before seating the projectiles. They all chambered very well, so I went and began adding powder/projectiles.

My problem though, is after seating the projectile to the OAL, about 30% of the rounds do not chamber without what I deem is excessive force.

What could be causing this?

Thanks in advance.
Old 04-02-2015, 11:01 AM

Exsessive COAL, ir ur bullet is hitting the lands.
Or ur case necks need turned.
Take a fired case and squez the neck just enough to hold a bullet loosely, then place a bullet in it by hand sticking way out and chamber slowly, now unchamber and be carefull that the ejector doesn't mess u up, and mic the CAOL. And use that as ur absolute max. U should load .002 lower or less than that reading.
Old 04-02-2015, 11:04 AM

Not a lot to go on here but if you're crimping the bullets, you are probably crimping too much and crushing or collapsing the shoulder of the case. Use your calipers to check the diameter of the shoulder and neck of the resized and loaded cartridges.

Try raising the seating die to decrease the crimp.
Old 04-02-2015, 11:15 AM

You've provided enough info for some great speculation but a little more will help identify your issue.

You chambered every case after it was sized and you had no problems with any of them?