Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated Centerfire rifles, carbines and other gas operated rifles.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2010, 2:36 PM
fast318's Avatar
fast318 fast318 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 764
iTrader: 51 / 100%
Default Steel case ammo in a AR-15

I'm thinking of buying a cheap upper for my AR to only shoot steel case ammo out of it, that way I can get in more shooting with it.

Have you guys had better luck with Wolf, Brown Bear or Silver Bear.

Thanks for the input.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2010, 2:43 PM
technique's Avatar
technique technique is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Idaho- don't come here.
Posts: 10,540
iTrader: 77 / 100%
Default

All of the above...worked fine for me.
__________________
07/02 Out of State FFL

California Uber Alles, California Uber Alles
Uber Alles California, Uber Alles California

I am Governor Jerry Brown, My aura smiles and never frowns, Soon I will be President...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2010, 2:46 PM
1988 1988 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Jose
Posts: 2,508
iTrader: 201 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fast318 View Post
Have you guys had better luck with Wolf, Brown Bear or Silver Bear.
You need to test them yourself.

I've tried Wolf with my AR and SU, and 2 out 5 uppers and the SU have problem with Wolf. There other 3 AR uppers work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2010, 2:47 PM
Donk310's Avatar
Donk310 Donk310 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,398
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

What is a "cheap" upper?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2010, 2:49 PM
IEShooter IEShooter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,105
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default Wolf

I've heard stories of Wolf having quality control issues with some loads being overcharged. Having said that, I shot 200 Wolf through my M1A Scout with no problems whatsoever. They do stink though.

I just picked up 500 rounds of good quality .223 reloads from Ammo Brothers for $175 in an ammo can. Non magnetic, with reloadable brass cases. Very nice.

Regards,

John
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-14-2010, 2:52 PM
RawImpact's Avatar
RawImpact RawImpact is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Orange County
Posts: 729
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Donk310 View Post
What is a "cheap" upper?
i would say a upper less than 300 w/o bcg

if that's the case get a DSA.
__________________

**If i am missing a location or want to edit a location, PM me!**
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-14-2010, 2:57 PM
fast318's Avatar
fast318 fast318 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 764
iTrader: 51 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RawImpact View Post
i would say a upper less than 300 w/o bcg

if that's the case get a DSA.
I was thinking a DSA or Del-ton.

Just went to the DSA site and they specifically say not to use steel case ammo.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-14-2010, 3:35 PM
bender152's Avatar
bender152 bender152 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redwood City
Posts: 3,970
iTrader: 249 / 100%
Default

I've gone through Wolf and Brown Bear without any issues.

I just picked up a case of Tula, but have yet to shoot it. (I figure it should be fine as it's just Wolf in a different box.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-14-2010, 3:39 PM
TZL TZL is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 3,289
iTrader: 100 / 100%
Default

I've never seen an overcharged Wolf round...but plenty are undercharged.....

I have no problems with Wolf or Silver Bear (my preferred steel ammo)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnHarden View Post
I've heard stories of Wolf having quality control issues with some loads being overcharged. Having said that, I shot 200 Wolf through my M1A Scout with no problems whatsoever. They do stink though.

I just picked up 500 rounds of good quality .223 reloads from Ammo Brothers for $175 in an ammo can. Non magnetic, with reloadable brass cases. Very nice.

Regards,

John
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-14-2010, 4:53 PM
tomd1584's Avatar
tomd1584 tomd1584 is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SFV
Posts: 5,853
iTrader: 51 / 100%
Default

all work well in my rigs.

if you're in socal, buy the Hornady TAP practice ammo, since the bullets are FMJ and dont attract a magnet.

GTG.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-14-2010, 5:04 PM
ArkinDomino's Avatar
ArkinDomino ArkinDomino is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 4,286
iTrader: 67 / 100%
Default

I ripped through 500 rounds of wolf 223 with my N4 without issue (paranoia made me fully clean my AR however ) while my buddies Stag had some casings get stuck in the chamber.
__________________
I provide opinions...
At a rapid rate.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-14-2010, 5:14 PM
youpock's Avatar
youpock youpock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Livermore, CA (nor cal)
Posts: 475
iTrader: 42 / 100%
Default

I went through 500 brown bear in a double star in one evening with zero problems.

It's dirty but if you are just training and/or having fun, a malfunction, as long as it's not dangerous, doesn't matter very much -imo
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-14-2010, 5:15 PM
B Strong B Strong is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: S.F. Bay Area.
Posts: 6,370
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

I've burned a bunch of (10K + rounds) Wolf in semi and full auto through the AR platform, with few problems not related to heat and fouling.

In semi during normal use, I've never had a problem.
__________________
The way some gunshop clerks spout off, you'd think that they invented gunpowder and the repeating rifle, and sat on the Supreme Court as well.
___________________________________________
"An unarmed man can only flee from evil, and evil is not overcome by fleeing from it."
- Jeff Cooper

Check my current auctions on Gunbroker - user name bigbasscat - see what left California before Roberti-Roos
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-14-2010, 6:03 PM
MILLITIAof1's Avatar
MILLITIAof1 MILLITIAof1 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Santa Clarita
Posts: 3,640
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

why use a cheap upper? If my high end upper didnt shoot wolf I'd throw it away.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-14-2010, 6:10 PM
Koolpsych's Avatar
Koolpsych Koolpsych is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Santa Clara
Posts: 209
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

I shot about 200 rounds of tula out of my dti m4 upper with only 1 fte (didn't clean out my gun before the range trip). It is a little dirty, but I haven't experienced any big problems with the ammo.

Also, my friend shoots wolf out of his wasr-10 and he has had no problems either.

Of all the ammo though, I would have to say I thought silver bear was the cleanest if that matters to you. (Seemed to smell the least and left my gun the cleanest after the trip)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-14-2010, 6:13 PM
RANDO's Avatar
RANDO RANDO is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chowchilla, ca
Posts: 2,361
iTrader: 35 / 100%
Default

My first AR could feed Wolf without a problem my recent AR wont feed it at all, after every round I have to pull the charging handle to cycle it. Hopefully the 9mm AR I'm building doesnt have a problem
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-14-2010, 7:18 PM
fast318's Avatar
fast318 fast318 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 764
iTrader: 51 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MILLITIAof1 View Post
why use a cheap upper? If my high end upper didnt shoot wolf I'd throw it away.

The reason I want a separate upper for steel case ammo is to avoid the common problem of the lacquer from the casing sticking to the chamber and causing an issue when I do shoot brass. I wouldn't expect a high-end upper to function as reliable as an AK for example because of the close tolerances but I wouldn't expect my AK to shoot as accurate as my AR.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-14-2010, 7:39 PM
CHS's Avatar
CHS CHS is offline
Moderator Emeritus
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Posts: 11,329
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fast318 View Post
The reason I want a separate upper for steel case ammo is to avoid the common problem of the lacquer from the casing sticking to the chamber and causing an issue when I do shoot brass. I wouldn't expect a high-end upper to function as reliable as an AK for example because of the close tolerances but I wouldn't expect my AK to shoot as accurate as my AR.
Just clean the chamber. That's a lot easier and cheaper than buying a whole new upper.

Or shoot your brass stuff first.
__________________
Please read the Calguns Wiki
Quote:
Laws that forbid the carrying of arms...disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes...Such laws make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assailants; they serve rather to encourage than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an armed man.
--Cesare, Marquis of Beccaria, "On Crimes and Punishment"
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-14-2010, 7:49 PM
fast318's Avatar
fast318 fast318 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 764
iTrader: 51 / 100%
Default

One of my faults is I don't like cleaning my weapons. That's one reason I love my Glocks so much. One of my Glocks has around 1500 rounds down the pipe without a cleaning or malfunction, My H&K's I used to have couldn't do that.

Yes, yes I know I should clean my guns...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-14-2010, 7:56 PM
CHS's Avatar
CHS CHS is offline
Moderator Emeritus
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Posts: 11,329
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fast318 View Post
One of my faults is I don't like cleaning my weapons. That's one reason I love my Glocks so much. One of my Glocks has around 1500 rounds down the pipe without a cleaning or malfunction, My H&K's I used to have couldn't do that.

Yes, yes I know I should clean my guns...
I never said clean the gun, I said clean the chamber. You just get a chamber brush and it takes 1 minute or less.

I don't clean guns either, I just lubricate properly and occasionally do things like clean chambers.
__________________
Please read the Calguns Wiki
Quote:
Laws that forbid the carrying of arms...disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes...Such laws make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assailants; they serve rather to encourage than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an armed man.
--Cesare, Marquis of Beccaria, "On Crimes and Punishment"
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 03-14-2010, 7:58 PM
fast318's Avatar
fast318 fast318 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 764
iTrader: 51 / 100%
Default

Why must you spoil my dreams of building another AR, why.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-14-2010, 8:11 PM
badfish71 badfish71 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 994
iTrader: 67 / 97%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by technique View Post
All of the above...worked fine for me.
^ this
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-14-2010, 8:14 PM
fast318's Avatar
fast318 fast318 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 764
iTrader: 51 / 100%
Default

Thanks everyone for your advice, now I need to stock up on ammo.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-14-2010, 8:17 PM
Sam .223 Sam .223 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,299
iTrader: 28 / 100%
Default

i've shot about 500 rounds of wolf military classic through my AR and its worked flawlessly.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-14-2010, 8:29 PM
DougJ's Avatar
DougJ DougJ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Prather, CA.
Posts: 1,721
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I picked up 500 rounds of Tula at Cabelas and after about 250 rounds of it I've have no issues with it. Actually, I've been pretty impressed as it seems plenty accurate and consistent for plinking and running drills. I don't have a choro, but it feels like it's loaded a bit softer than the average 55 gr load. It has been perfectly reliable so far.
__________________
.
“Obama is the weakest of U.S. presidents, he had humiliating defeats in the region. Under him the Islamic awakening happened.” “Americans witnessed their greatest defeats in Obama’s era: Terrorism expanded, [the] U.S. had huge defeats under Obama [and] that is why they want to compromise with Iran.”

Ali Younesi, senior advisor to the Iranian President.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-14-2010, 8:46 PM
pontiacpratt's Avatar
pontiacpratt pontiacpratt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: High Desert
Posts: 1,666
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DougJ View Post
I picked up 500 rounds of Tula at Cabelas and after about 250 rounds of it I've have no issues with it. Actually, I've been pretty impressed as it seems plenty accurate and consistent for plinking and running drills. I don't have a choro, but it feels like it's loaded a bit softer than the average 55 gr load. It has been perfectly reliable so far.
I bought a box locally of Tula and if it works I'm buying the 500 rounds from Cabela's it's a good price and I can use the money I save to buy .308
__________________
A mugger, even an armed one, can only make a successful living in a society where the state has granted him a force monopoly.
-Marko Kloos
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-14-2010, 10:23 PM
aplinker's Avatar
aplinker aplinker is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: West LA
Posts: 16,828
iTrader: 92 / 100%
Default

Right now, I'd buy Tula. Why? It's cheapest.

They're all magnetic, if it matters.

They all run fine - but it's a good idea to test it in your rifle.
__________________

Google Map of OLL Dealers

List of CA-friendly Manufacturers, Dealers, Middlemen, and Magazine rebuild kit dealers
Click me-->So you're a n00b and you want to build an AR? <--Click me
This post is based on actual events. Some facts may be altered for dramatic purposes. All posts are pure opinion. All persons, living and dead, are purely coincidental, and should not be construed.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-14-2010, 11:39 PM
Ultimate's Avatar
Ultimate Ultimate is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 601
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MILLITIAof1 View Post
why use a cheap upper? If my high end upper didnt shoot wolf I'd throw it away.
I like the way you think!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-15-2010, 3:52 AM
MILLITIAof1's Avatar
MILLITIAof1 MILLITIAof1 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Santa Clarita
Posts: 3,640
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultimate View Post
I like the way you think!
Right now my main blaster is my Addax short stroke gpu. the thing eats anything I can possibly feed it, I go between hsm reloads, tula, wolf, pmc, xm193, and silver bear... I havent cleaned it since God knows when....

I'm not tryin to promote products nor get into the gpu vs di argument, I'm just sayin to get a upper that works worth a damn or get rid of it.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-15-2010, 5:16 AM
railroader railroader is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: az and so cal
Posts: 2,876
iTrader: 66 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fast318 View Post
The reason I want a separate upper for steel case ammo is to avoid the common problem of the lacquer from the casing sticking to the chamber and causing an issue when I do shoot brass. I wouldn't expect a high-end upper to function as reliable as an AK for example because of the close tolerances but I wouldn't expect my AK to shoot as accurate as my AR.
I would recommend that you spend a little more and get the chrome lined barrel on whatever upper you decide on. I have two chrome lined del-tons that don't have extraction problems with steel case and brass ammo. I'm not big on cleaning my rifles either. Now I had a non chrome lined kel-tec that would get a stuck shell now and then if I didn't brush out the chamber once in awhile. Mark
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 03-15-2010, 6:43 AM
KALIDAWG8996's Avatar
KALIDAWG8996 KALIDAWG8996 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: I.E.
Posts: 713
iTrader: 46 / 100%
Default

Blackthorne anyone? ehh? ehh?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:48 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.