Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-06-2018, 5:17 PM
BigBronco's Avatar
BigBronco BigBronco is offline
CGSSA Specialist
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Off my meds!
Posts: 5,952
iTrader: 164 / 100%
Blog Entries: 2
Default HDMI recording.

My PC has HDMI OUT. Is there a device that will allow me to record some webinar classes for later review?
__________________
"Life is a long song" Jethro Tull

Last edited by BigBronco; 08-06-2018 at 6:23 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-06-2018, 8:10 PM
scoobydo's Avatar
scoobydo scoobydo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 949
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default

Usually recording your screen is done via your graphics card.

My son has been doing a lot of gaming videos lately and I had to set it up for him. You just hit a button and it will record the entire desktop or only a certain window you have open. It depends on your settings.

Usually, not always, only gaming PC's have a dedicated graphics card that can do this. Geoforce is a card that makes things super simple.

If your trying to record a window without a dedicated graphics card you need to do it via a program. If your on Mac, then you can just use Quicktime Player and go to "File", then to "New Screen Recording". You can then click and drag the area you want to record and push the record button.

Not sure about Quicktime Player on Windows as I have not tried it. My sons gaming rig is Win 10, but there is no need for Quicktime as we just use his graphics card. I assume it should be fairly similar to Mac.

Quicktime is not the only one. There is literally tons of windows apps that will screen record. Some are free, others you pay for. The free ones are basic "push and record" while the pay ones have more bells and whistles with options galore on the video including editing.

HDMI is simply an port out. Its like saying RCA Output or Coaxial Output. It is just a line that sends High Def Video and Audio to a viewing source like a TV or Monitor.
You can use the HDMI to go though a capture card, but that is kind of expensive when your PC can do it better and cheaper.
Typically you go through a capture card when the recording source is not a computer like an Xbox/Playstation or the like.

Last edited by scoobydo; 08-06-2018 at 8:21 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-22-2018, 7:41 PM
Old4eyes's Avatar
Old4eyes Old4eyes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Nevada
Posts: 1,435
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Get on Amazon and search for HDMI Cloner.

Here's the box I've got:
https://www.amazon.com/HDML-Cloner-S...ds=hdml+cloner

My wife wanted it for web classes and it fits the bill. You use a flash drive to record the video. You then take the video and copy it onto your PC.

Since the input/output is HDMI, anything with HDMI output can be copied.
__________________
Send Lawyers, Guns and Money - On second thought, hold the Lawyers.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2018, 5:51 AM
MaHoTex's Avatar
MaHoTex MaHoTex is online now
You're a daisy if you do!
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Isola di Linosa
Posts: 5,200
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

HDMI uses HDCP protection. Recording some things directly from HDMI might prove difficult.
__________________
NRA Life Member



Mr. President, I can't take any more winning! Make it stop Mr. President. The winning is YUGGEEEE!

"If you've got a problem with the US, you better make sure it's not a military problem." SSgt Leslie Edwards
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-23-2018, 8:32 AM
smird's Avatar
smird smird is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Gavilan Hills
Posts: 7,632
iTrader: 40 / 100%
Default

https://www.bandicam.com/free-screen-recorder/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-23-2018, 8:52 AM
MrBlazito's Avatar
MrBlazito MrBlazito is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 770
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

why not just download a screen recording software?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-24-2018, 12:40 PM
Dubious_Beans's Avatar
Dubious_Beans Dubious_Beans is offline
Keeper of the can opener
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

VLC media player will record your desktop if you ask it nicely.

ETA: nevermind, it will record what's going on on your desktop, but it doesn't record sound from that source.

Last edited by Dubious_Beans; 08-24-2018 at 12:43 PM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:43 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2018, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.
Calguns.net and The Calguns Foundation have no affiliation and are in no way related to each other.
All opinions, statements and remarks made by Calguns.net on this web site and elsewhere are solely attributable to Calguns.net.