Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2018, 10:01 AM
AdidasCJ's Avatar
AdidasCJ AdidasCJ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Apple Valley
Posts: 871
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Default To Smart Wire Home - Or Not Too.... UPDATE: I did it!

UPDATE May 12, 2018. I DID IT!


I have completed the project. All rooms now have working drops. The NVR can be viewed from the master bedroom TV. All patching complete. Wifi Mesh is now working on a wired connect between the two nodes. Wire management cleaned up. All wires are labeled. Cameras set in order of viewing, no more jumping from the back yard back to the front then backyard again.

I also added a battery back up . Hey its used, not abused and it was free! NVR, Modem and Router all on the battery side of the backup.

I used about 900ft of cat wire for the project.

Here are the completed picture:







Snap shot from cell phone view.





__________________________________________________ _________


I am considering taking on the project of smart wiring my home with ethernet drops in each room (leaning too 2 runs per room). I would like to install a small wall mount rack with a 24 patch panel, unmanaged switch, modem and power supply etc. Using cat6 (maybe 7) for me runs.

My wifi would be setup via Asus AI Mesh (already have this equipment in place and would cut down on cost. With primary router being at the rack on one side of the house, and the other router on the other side of the house (can be connected via cable with a drop in the room).

I am planning on dropping runs for outdoor POE security cameras while I am in the attic. Leaning more towards a NVR system vs IP based though my planned patch panel.


The wife says I am crazy (and a nerd), and says we dont need it. We have a 3 bedroom, 2 bath, 2 car garage; ~1300sqft. Half the house is normal roof, so i have a attic access. The other half of the house is tall cathedral ceilings. Most of my runs can go via attic and down the inside of the interior walls. Living room and master bedroom runs i would be running on the out side of the house in buried conduit, and then popping up and punching through the exterior wall in.

I am up too about 15 connected devices on the Wifi with 1 lan connected device. Devices in other rooms are only on the wifi due to not wanting to run a cat cable from the routers across the floor. So some of these devices could swap to lan connections IF i have ethernet drops in the rooms.


Is my wife right? Am i crazy for wanting to smart wire and nerd the house out? Does it add much value to resell, or more nerdy curb appeal? Cost doesnt appear to be all that bad doing a quick price out of items needed.
__________________
Quote:
'socialism is fine, until you run out of other peoples money'

-Maggie Thatcher

Last edited by AdidasCJ; 05-12-2018 at 7:30 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2018, 10:19 AM
FF90 FF90 is online now
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 62
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Default

Do It
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2018, 10:28 AM
A-J's Avatar
A-J A-J is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,143
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

The question is does the cost and hassle of setting this up provide a larger benefit than just leaving everything as is? I've thought about setting up a centralized system for my internet and cable so I can do whole house viewing from any of my hard devices, but the cost is just too high for me to justify it.
__________________
It was not a threat. It was an exaggerated response to an uncompromising stance. I was taught never to make a threat unless you are prepared to carry it out and I am not a fan of carrying anything. Even watching other people carrying things makes me uncomfortable. Mainly because of the possibility they may ask me to help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-23-2018, 10:45 AM
Daze Daze is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 443
iTrader: 34 / 100%
Default I don't know

Ten years ago I would have told you yes. Today with Wifi becoming more prevalent and the move of everything to wireless, I would personally invest in better wifi transmitter equipment and ditch the wires. For Security I went wireless Arlo's and have been pretty happy with them.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-23-2018, 11:01 AM
sonofeugene's Avatar
sonofeugene sonofeugene is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,857
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I did some hard wiring of our addition some years back with the goal of spreading sound to various rooms. I never bothered to finish the project and then Sonos came along. Now I've got sound throughout the house and the CAT5 wiring is unused.

Stick with wireless and make your life easier.
__________________
Let us not pray to be sheltered from dangers but to be fearless when facing them. - Rabindranath Tagore

A mind all logic is like a knife all blade. It makes the hand bleed that uses it. - Rabindranath Tagore
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-23-2018, 12:25 PM
vat2000 vat2000 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: South Pasadena, CA
Posts: 26
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Another vote for “do it”. I think the most important rooms to hard-wire are the living room (for the Xbox, smart tv, etc.), the office, and the man cave. I forgot to wire my man cave (garage) and I constantly kick myself over that oversight.

The benefits of wired are huge bandwidth (kids and wife can stream Netflix or YouTube), low ping time if you’re into gaming, and most cables are hidden.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-23-2018, 12:25 PM
gorn5150's Avatar
gorn5150 gorn5150 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,206
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

When I had my house built 10 years ago the cost for networking cable to each room was $10,000. I opted for my $40 wifi router. The cat cable would have been nice but not worth that kind of money.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-23-2018, 12:45 PM
AdidasCJ's Avatar
AdidasCJ AdidasCJ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Apple Valley
Posts: 871
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonofeugene View Post
I did some hard wiring of our addition some years back with the goal of spreading sound to various rooms. I never bothered to finish the project and then Sonos came along. Now I've got sound throughout the house and the CAT5 wiring is unused.

Stick with wireless and make your life easier.
I am torn... I like having the high bandwidth hogs hardwired.. 4k TV running Netflix, wife running her own tv with Netflix



Quote:
Originally Posted by gorn5150 View Post
When I had my house built 10 years ago the cost for networking cable to each room was $10,000. I opted for my $40 wifi router. The cat cable would have been nice but not worth that kind of money.


DAAANNGG And that was what cat3?

Amazing how cost comes down as tech increases... Now cable is like 100 bucks for a 1k ft

Quote:
Originally Posted by vat2000 View Post
Another vote for “do it”. I think the most important rooms to hard-wire are the living room (for the Xbox, smart tv, etc.), the office, and the man cave. I forgot to wire my man cave (garage) and I constantly kick myself over that oversight.

The benefits of wired are huge bandwidth (kids and wife can stream Netflix or YouTube), low ping time if you’re into gaming, and most cables are hidden.
OH sir the garage would MOST DEFIANTLY getting drops. This is also where I am eyeing placing the rack as a 2nd placement location. I have no man cave, i had to give it up for the babys room.
__________________
Quote:
'socialism is fine, until you run out of other peoples money'

-Maggie Thatcher

Last edited by AdidasCJ; 04-23-2018 at 12:53 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-24-2018, 5:57 AM
MaHoTex's Avatar
MaHoTex MaHoTex is online now
You're a daisy if you do!
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Isola di Linosa
Posts: 5,192
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gorn5150 View Post
When I had my house built 10 years ago the cost for networking cable to each room was $10,000. I opted for my $40 wifi router. The cat cable would have been nice but not worth that kind of money.
First I am going to preface this by saying that I am not going to question the cost you disclosed. Given those costs I would have opted for the same given those costs. Talk about a major ripoff.

Today you can buy CAT5E to homerun a typical 3 BR/BR house for a few hundred dollars, on the high end. Add in some boxes, plates etc and you are talking under $1K easily. You'd even have money left over for a pretty sweet network switch.

IF there is anyway to run the wires I'd be all over it. Get away from wireless as much as possible.

I'm going to throw another option out there for you OP. Have you looked into MOCA? It is an easy way to utilize the existing CATV lines to transmit data. I have used MOCA in a few places in my house and have been very pleased with the results. I went with Actiontec MOCA adapters and could not be happier.

Here are the adapters I ended up running:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

They are a bit costly right now, but I got 2 pair for $120 a set. The price seems to jump around quote a bit on these and they are very popular.

Here is a set of Bonded MOCA adapters:
https://www.amazon.com/Actiontec-Bon...+adapter&psc=1

If you do go this way, do yourself a huge favor and stay away from the Kiwi brand and stick with Actiontec. Trust me on that one.
__________________
NRA Life Member



Mr. President, I can't take any more winning! Make it stop Mr. President. The winning is YUGGEEEE!

"If you've got a problem with the US, you better make sure it's not a military problem." SSgt Leslie Edwards

Last edited by MaHoTex; 04-24-2018 at 6:09 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-24-2018, 6:58 PM
AdidasCJ's Avatar
AdidasCJ AdidasCJ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Apple Valley
Posts: 871
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Default

Here is what I am looking at for supplies...

Wall Mount:
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=8627

Cat6 patch panel:
https://www.monoprice.com/product?c_...seq=1&format=2

Patchdown Keystone Jack:
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=5384

Low voltage old work box:
https://www.homedepot.com/p/1-Gang-N...00RR/100160916

Wall plates:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/10x-2-Port-...53.m1438.l2649


unmanaged switch:

((undecided))
Thinking about:
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16833704024

power supply:

((Have not decided rack mounted of surge protector off to the side..))


I also did some recon in the attic, I looks like I shouldnt have an issue getting to most of my runs. Have to scout out over the garage to see how easy I can access the other runs.
__________________
Quote:
'socialism is fine, until you run out of other peoples money'

-Maggie Thatcher
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-24-2018, 8:56 PM
yellowsulphur's Avatar
yellowsulphur yellowsulphur is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cloud City
Posts: 1,440
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I say go for it, especially if your spectrum is crowded. If you plan to migrate to 10Gbps in the future use Cat6a.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-24-2018, 9:33 PM
boo2112 boo2112 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 592
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Avoid the wires. Just install Enterprise-grade WiFi from Ubiquiti and call it a day.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-25-2018, 8:08 AM
MaHoTex's Avatar
MaHoTex MaHoTex is online now
You're a daisy if you do!
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Isola di Linosa
Posts: 5,192
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Avoid the wires. Just install Enterprise-grade WiFi from Ubiquiti and call it a day.
There is no comparison between benefits of wired vs wireless all measurement with the only exception being convenience. Hands down, all measurable things being considered, wired is the clear best choice.
__________________
NRA Life Member



Mr. President, I can't take any more winning! Make it stop Mr. President. The winning is YUGGEEEE!

"If you've got a problem with the US, you better make sure it's not a military problem." SSgt Leslie Edwards
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-25-2018, 8:24 AM
boo2112 boo2112 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 592
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaHoTex View Post
There is no comparison between benefits of wired vs wireless all measurement with the only exception being convenience.
Convenience. And cost. And upgradability. And scalability. And managability. And the fact that the world is increasingly moving to Mobile and IoT devices, many of which don't have RJ45 ports.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-25-2018, 9:20 AM
MaHoTex's Avatar
MaHoTex MaHoTex is online now
You're a daisy if you do!
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Isola di Linosa
Posts: 5,192
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

What part of "Measurements" was not clear? Every thing you mention is not measurable in a meaningful way.

Remember we are talking about a home here: Cost to run cable in a home is arguably cheaper than buying an enterprise class access point. Upgrade for a hardwired setup, assuming he goes with Cat6, is a matter of dropping in a 10G switch, would be the same as replacing a wireless access point, only better because it isn't wireless.

Wireless has its place, but replacing the main infrastructure isn't it. Allowing access to wireless devices, sure. Generally if there is a possibility of having a cable connected to a permanent device always go that route and avoid wireless. Bottlenecks on throughput can suck and latency, when compared to wired, is dismal.

Manageability is no different between wireless and wired, well except, perhaps wireless is a bit more cumbersome, but we are not going to pick nits.
__________________
NRA Life Member



Mr. President, I can't take any more winning! Make it stop Mr. President. The winning is YUGGEEEE!

"If you've got a problem with the US, you better make sure it's not a military problem." SSgt Leslie Edwards

Last edited by MaHoTex; 04-25-2018 at 9:26 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-25-2018, 9:26 AM
boo2112 boo2112 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 592
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaHoTex View Post
What part of "Measurements" was not clear? Every thing you mention is not measurable in a meaningful way.
Cost (including TCO) is measurable and meaningful.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-25-2018, 9:28 AM
MaHoTex's Avatar
MaHoTex MaHoTex is online now
You're a daisy if you do!
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Isola di Linosa
Posts: 5,192
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Yep, and wired comes out ahead.

Anyway, I've offered my input and I'm done here. Have a nice day.
__________________
NRA Life Member



Mr. President, I can't take any more winning! Make it stop Mr. President. The winning is YUGGEEEE!

"If you've got a problem with the US, you better make sure it's not a military problem." SSgt Leslie Edwards
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-25-2018, 9:31 AM
boo2112 boo2112 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 592
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaHoTex View Post
Yep, and wired comes out ahead.

Anyway, I've offered my input and I'm done here. Have a nice day.
Actually it doesn't.

Anyway, I've offered my input and I'm done here. Have a nice day.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-26-2018, 9:31 AM
AdidasCJ's Avatar
AdidasCJ AdidasCJ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Apple Valley
Posts: 871
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Default

Decided to take the project on....


My fingers did some things last night by clicking some 'order' buttons....

ORDERED:
4U Bracket
Blank patch panel
TP-Link 24 switch
Keystone Wall plates
Connectors 5e (Blue for the data. Red will be my Cameras)
Punch down tool
1000ft Cat5e
__________________
Quote:
'socialism is fine, until you run out of other peoples money'

-Maggie Thatcher
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-26-2018, 9:46 AM
wfloo's Avatar
wfloo wfloo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 278
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

OP, I did the same 2 years ago when I remodeled the house. Best thing ever! POE for camera is so much cleaner in wiring and look. Also installed hard wired alarm system thru out and Lutron remote lighting. All AV equipment hidden in the drop room and achieve a clean and uncluttered look. Bought an IR to radio transmitter to get around the IR remote limitation.
Good luck to your project!
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 04-26-2018, 9:53 AM
wpage's Avatar
wpage wpage is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,290
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

19 years ago when I built my place. Ran Cat 3 and Cat 5 wire to all rooms. Everything is now wifi.
__________________
God so loved the world He gave His only Son... Believe in Him and have everlasting life.
John 3:16

United Air Epic Fail Video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u99Q7pNAjvg
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-26-2018, 11:43 AM
MaHoTex's Avatar
MaHoTex MaHoTex is online now
You're a daisy if you do!
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Isola di Linosa
Posts: 5,192
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdidasCJ View Post
Decided to take the project on....


My fingers did some things last night by clicking some 'order' buttons....

ORDERED:
4U Bracket
Blank patch panel
TP-Link 24 switch
Keystone Wall plates
Connectors 5e (Blue for the data. Red will be my Cameras)
Punch down tool
1000ft Cat5e
I am sure you will be happy. IMO, you have made the right decision. Make sure your switch is POE.
__________________
NRA Life Member



Mr. President, I can't take any more winning! Make it stop Mr. President. The winning is YUGGEEEE!

"If you've got a problem with the US, you better make sure it's not a military problem." SSgt Leslie Edwards
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-26-2018, 11:54 AM
Flyliner Flyliner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 259
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

OP, I see you already made the purchase, but I will post anyhow. Maybe you can use it for something...

I just did the same project and I can say it was hands down the best money we have put into the house so far. All my desktops/servers/router, etc are hard wired cat 6A. I used Ubiquiti Unifi AC Pros for the wireless devices (iphones, ipads, etc). I also dropped coax for the tv's to each tv location in the house at the same time which all run to a home-run wall box where the coax from the HD OTA antenna on the roof enters. ALL tv programming is streamed over the network via a service like Direct TV Now.

I have hardwire running to all IP POE cams which are fed into an NVR in the rack.

Some helpful advise (apologies if you already know all this):
  1. Run more wires than you think you will need. (or you will end up having to use switches)
  2. Use a managed switch. You can run in unmanaged mode but will end up going to managed at some point.
  3. DO the Cat6, or 6A, its not that much more..
  4. Use a good Router/Firewall (pfSense) capable of VLANs to segment your network to keep visiting guests off your LAN. (Esp. if you use an unmanaged switch). Better yet have multiple interfaces to segment networks.
  5. Run all your cams to an NVR, this keeps the load on the NVR and not on your PC.
  6. Isolate your Cameras/NVR from your LAN via VLAN, or better yet a separate interface on your router all together. Completely block all WAN access to/from your camera VLAN/Interface.
  7. You may already have it, but you will need a crimper for the RJ45 connectors.
  8. A wiring tester is invaluable when cutting your own cables so you can check for proper wiring before you crawl out of the attic.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-12-2018, 7:30 PM
AdidasCJ's Avatar
AdidasCJ AdidasCJ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Apple Valley
Posts: 871
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Default

Mission complete guys. Thanks for all the input!
__________________
Quote:
'socialism is fine, until you run out of other peoples money'

-Maggie Thatcher
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-12-2018, 8:09 PM
hermosabeach's Avatar
hermosabeach hermosabeach is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11,789
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

I might suggest a marine dry battery.... something with over 1,000 cold cranking amps. Hack your ups to charge the marine battery and lose the 6-9 AH ups battery.

Should you lose power... your DVR, cameras, cable modem, etc can run for days on a larger marine battery.......
__________________




“Science is like an inoculation against charlatans who would have you believe whatever it is they tell you.”
— Neil deGrasse Tyson

- If the Democrats thought for one seconds that Illegals were voting republican, You'd see the Border Wall from Space! - Abe Lincoln
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-12-2018, 8:19 PM
AdidasCJ's Avatar
AdidasCJ AdidasCJ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Apple Valley
Posts: 871
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hermosabeach View Post
I might suggest a marine dry battery.... something with over 1,000 cold cranking amps. Hack your ups to charge the marine battery and lose the 6-9 AH ups battery.

Should you lose power... your DVR, cameras, cable modem, etc can run for days on a larger marine battery.......
I was JUST reading up on this. My grandpa back in the day used a car battery for his HAM radio back up. He would hook it up once a month to charge it..

Any insite on hooking you a car battery to house power to keep it charged, without blowing myself up?
__________________
Quote:
'socialism is fine, until you run out of other peoples money'

-Maggie Thatcher
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-14-2018, 11:52 AM
MaHoTex's Avatar
MaHoTex MaHoTex is online now
You're a daisy if you do!
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Isola di Linosa
Posts: 5,192
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

At least now you can have a video as a parting gift when they steal your stuff.
__________________
NRA Life Member



Mr. President, I can't take any more winning! Make it stop Mr. President. The winning is YUGGEEEE!

"If you've got a problem with the US, you better make sure it's not a military problem." SSgt Leslie Edwards
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-14-2018, 11:52 AM
MaHoTex's Avatar
MaHoTex MaHoTex is online now
You're a daisy if you do!
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Isola di Linosa
Posts: 5,192
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdidasCJ View Post
I was JUST reading up on this. My grandpa back in the day used a car battery for his HAM radio back up. He would hook it up once a month to charge it..

Any insite on hooking you a car battery to house power to keep it charged, without blowing myself up?
Get a trickle charger from Amazon.

https://www.amazon.com/BLACK-DECKER-...n%3A3599825011
__________________
NRA Life Member



Mr. President, I can't take any more winning! Make it stop Mr. President. The winning is YUGGEEEE!

"If you've got a problem with the US, you better make sure it's not a military problem." SSgt Leslie Edwards
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:37 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2018, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.
Calguns.net and The Calguns Foundation have no affiliation and are in no way related to each other.
All opinions, statements and remarks made by Calguns.net on this web site and elsewhere are solely attributable to Calguns.net.