Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated Centerfire rifles, carbines and other gas operated rifles.

Old 10-21-2009, 2:21 PM

Default bullpup rifle pros/cons?

I've always been amazed by the looks of bullpup rifles. They seem pretty awesome (although I have little experience with them.) I was wondering if someone could give me some pros/cons of the rifles listed below? Maybe compare and contrast the two. Obviously, they can be used for different things and some would argue they are not exactly on the same playing field, but general info and comparative would be nice. I'm interested in reliability issues, specifically when Californicated, which rifles might be better/easier to maintain, parts/work on/other issues to think about etc. for a Californian. Price isn't an issue, and I'd like to strictly stick to these rifles listed below. I know many people would prefer to have an AK variant/AR variant, but for this topic, tell me what you know about these two rifles. Would be great to hear from someone who has one of these rifles and what they like/don't like about them.

MSAR STG556
FN FS2000

Any other bullpup design that can be CA legal, you own?
Old 10-21-2009, 2:23 PM
Veteran Member

I'd say the biggest "con" in CA would be the fact that you still have to be 30" OAL, which pretty much kills the reason to have a bullpup.
Old 10-21-2009, 2:26 PM

very true. How far off of the 30" OAL are the two rifles listed above? I seem to have read somewhere that they are not that much shorter? I thought I saw someone talking about a butt pad addition for the FS 2000 to make it a bit longer, I could be wrong though.

Quote: