Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > SPECIALTY FORUMS > Ladies Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Ladies Forum A place for our female Calgunners to discuss, share and interact without the 'excess attention' sometimes found in online forums.

Old 10-18-2012, 11:51 AM

Smile Newbie

I am a newbie to the shooting scene. I started trap shooting 5 months ago and I am totally hooked now. I was introduced to the sport by a very dear friend of mine and began shooting with his 20 gauge pump, but because I am only 5'1" I found it very difficult to swing the gun because my left hand was already fully extended trying to support the gun. So, he let me borrow his Browning Over/Under 12 gauge when we shoot.... I am so in love with that gun, now I'm searcing to buy one of my own. What I found rather laughable is many peoples attitude towards me shooting a 12 gauge. I am rather small in stature, so everyones first response is that there is no way I'm shooting a 12 gauge because it would knock me on my ***. Really? I learned the proper stance, proper shooting instructions, range rules, and gun safety and have never looked back. In 5 months I have gone from hitting 2 clays out of 25 to hitting 17 out of 25, I think that is pretty good and never once have i been knocked on my *** by the gun LOL. If you have directv check out their Monday night Lock and Load segment they have some pretty interesting shows on there.

Last edited by redheadedgal; 10-18-2012 at 11:53 AM..
Old 10-18-2012, 11:54 AM

Welcome to the group. My son is 14yrs old and is smaller than you and he handled the 12g "ok" LOL Meaning after he shot it he said "oooooooowwwwwwwww" We ended up purchasing him a Mossberg 510 20g which suits him much better. The 12g didn't knock him down but he had a pretty good bruise after a while.