Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Shotgun discussions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Shotgun discussions Trap, Hunting, Defense and more. A place for enthusiasts to discuss the shotgun.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2018, 6:54 PM
kevinalvarado1990 kevinalvarado1990 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 26
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default 1100 remington barrel

Hello I got an older 1100 remington 3 mag with fix full choke single port.
I want to get an 2 3/4 barrel for it
Whats the best bet for it
Want to use it for clay and upland game
Should I get 28 or 30
Im big on clay and upland
And anywhere local sell it Im in the San Gabriel area


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2018, 7:23 PM
ysr_racer's Avatar
ysr_racer ysr_racer is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: somewhere lost in the O.C.
Posts: 5,806
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

28 or 30 makes no difference. If you're going to hunt with it go for a 28. It will be easier to move thru the brush with.
__________________
Brad G.
So Cal USA
Check out my Sporting Clays page, CLICK HERE!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2018, 8:08 PM
Ducky's Dad Ducky's Dad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 351
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Your 3" chamber barrel is fine with 2-3/4" shells. If you like the length and the choke, just shoot what you have. If you like 30" but want more open choke or screw chokes, call Bob Day at Americhoke in Pico Rivera. He can either open your choke or fit Trulocks. If you want a 28" barrel, buy a RemChoke barrel with 3" chamber. No reason to buy 2-3/4" if you have a magnum receiver.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2018, 8:09 PM
kevinalvarado1990 kevinalvarado1990 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 26
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducky's Dad View Post
Your 3" chamber barrel is fine with 2-3/4" shells. If you like the length and the choke, just shoot what you have. If you like 30" but want more open choke or screw chokes, call Bob Day at Americhoke in Pico Rivera. He can either open your choke or fit Trulocks. If you want a 28" barrel, buy a RemChoke barrel with 3" chamber. No reason to buy 2-3/4" if you have a magnum receiver.


It wont eject the 2 3/4 shell on the 3


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-04-2018, 8:12 PM
deckhandmike's Avatar
deckhandmike deckhandmike is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Central Coast
Posts: 4,393
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinalvarado1990 View Post
It wont eject the 2 3/4 shell on the 3


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It should, you got a problem then.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-04-2018, 8:17 PM
kevinalvarado1990 kevinalvarado1990 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 26
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deckhandmike View Post
It should, you got a problem then.


Its a 3 mag receiver and 3 mag barrel
I guess the single port does put gas to eject the loads 2 3/4 works fine on heavy loads



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-2018, 8:40 PM
Ducky's Dad Ducky's Dad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 351
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
It’s a 3” mag receiver and 3” mag barrel
I guess the single port does put gas to eject the loads 2 3/4 works fine on heavy loads
It's more likely a failure to cycle rather than a failure to eject. It should cycle even light field loads if it's working properly. 1100s are somewhat finicky
about being properly cleaned and lubed, and there are lots of opinions about how to treat them. Make sure the gun is clean, properly lubed, and no rust or other drag in the chamber. Make sure your O-ring is not split. If all looks good and it still won't cycle light loads, try shooting it wet. That means taking off the forend and spraying the mag tube and springs with RemOil or CLP or something similar, then reinstall the f/e and go shoot. If it still does not cycle, take it to Bob Day. He can possibly drill out the gas port to clean it or enlarge it to properly cycle light loads. He did that for me on an 1100 .410 magnum (3") that had some difficulty with light skeet loads. Works like a champ now.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-04-2018, 8:49 PM
JagerDog's Avatar
JagerDog JagerDog is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,677
iTrader: 19 / 100%
Default

From just a quick search:

https://www.gunbroker.com/item/735776737

IMHO too common to go opening gas ports, threading for chokes and having a mis-marked barrel as a result.

Prolly recover at least half of that selling your old barrel if it's of no value to you.
__________________
Dems are better at corruption cuz they have so much practice.



#Blackolivesmatter
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-04-2018, 8:52 PM
Ducky's Dad Ducky's Dad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 351
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Prolly recover at least half of that selling your old barrel if it's of no value to you.
30" full choke 1100 barrels are a dime a dozen.

And the bottom line is, that gun should cycle light loads. Could be that it's just dirty or dry or the gas port is partially plugged with carbon.

Last edited by Ducky's Dad; 01-04-2018 at 9:09 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-04-2018, 10:50 PM
JagerDog's Avatar
JagerDog JagerDog is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,677
iTrader: 19 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducky's Dad View Post
30" full choke 1100 barrels are a dime a dozen.

And the bottom line is, that gun should cycle light loads. Could be that it's just dirty or dry or the gas port is partially plugged with carbon.
A quick look show's 'em $100+. Granted I didn't look at sold prices.

So cut it off and make an HD barrel.

Still don't think it's worth chokes and any modifications.

Perhaps a good cleaning including the ports will do the trick. 2-3/4" 3 dram loads is kinda borderline. On gas guns payload and velocity is only part of the equation too. On my B-80 I had to use slow burning powder so that there was enough gas volume by the time it reached the ports in order to reliably function with 1 oz loads.

Or maybe OP hasn't tried his shells of choice and just figures it to be. I dunno.
__________________
Dems are better at corruption cuz they have so much practice.



#Blackolivesmatter

Last edited by JagerDog; 01-05-2018 at 10:56 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-05-2018, 6:38 AM
pennstater's Avatar
pennstater pennstater is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Over there!
Posts: 1,605
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducky's Dad View Post
30" full choke 1100 barrels are a dime a dozen.

And the bottom line is, that gun should cycle light loads. Could be that it's just dirty or dry or the gas port is partially plugged with carbon.
I believe this to be the answer. It ought to work with 2.75" shells just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-05-2018, 10:40 AM
RNE228 RNE228 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,145
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Maybe a worn out o-ring too? O-rings are cheap at McMaster-Carr...

Mine is an older Skeet version that came with 26" fixed skeet barrel for 2-3/4 shells.

In my case, I bought a new 30" Remchoke barrel, and have a variety of Carlson extended chokes.

I will not, the new Remington barrel does not have as nice of bluing and marking as the original. The markings are real blocky looking. It works great, but the old barrel looks nicer, better finish quality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducky's Dad View Post
30" full choke 1100 barrels are a dime a dozen.

And the bottom line is, that gun should cycle light loads. Could be that it's just dirty or dry or the gas port is partially plugged with carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-05-2018, 11:54 AM
sigstroker sigstroker is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,413
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

Agree w/all the above. I bought a used 1100 that didn't cycle light loads when I first tried. My buddy that knows them just took off the forend and hosed down the tube with silicone and it worked great from that day until it was stolen by a scumbag.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:07 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2018, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.