Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Optics, Mounts, Rails and Sights
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Optics, Mounts, Rails and Sights If it aims your firearm, post about it here.

Old 08-23-2018, 9:29 PM

Default vortex viper for 6.5 grendel

does anyone have any suggestions regarding which viper to put on a 24" 6.5 Grendel that will be used mainly for punching paper and steel out 1000 yds? I'm new to scopes and long distance shooting. I found the reviews on the viper to be very good, and the costs of $1000 and below are attractive as well. I'm leaning toward an MOA reticle of the horus type. again, I'm new to scopes and long distance shooting, so dialing in numbers probably is a bit much for me at this point, which is why I'm leaning toward the horus reticle. thanks.
Old 08-24-2018, 6:26 AM
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor

I'm a big fan of the PST line, and have been since the early gen ones, and the gen 2's are even more awesome. I have a gen 2 5-25X50 FFP (among others) and that's what I'd recommend. The EBR-2C reticle is a Christmas tree type like a Horus. Vortex doesn't have Horus reticles.
Old 08-24-2018, 7:49 AM

I've also heard good things about the Viper PST Gen 2 scopes. For that distance, you will eventually want to dial in your corrections. I would recommend getting a 20moa scope mount to make sure you have enough adjustment.

You might want to download a ballistic app for your phone, like Strelok so you can get a sense for how the scopes will handle your holdovers. Here's an example of the holdovers for my 16" Grendel through my SWFA 3-15x42 scope. The top of the diamond is ~100 yards, and the red yardage numbers represent the distance that each hash-mark is the holdover for.

Last edited by DrewTheBrave; 08-24-2018 at 8:27 AM..