Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > CALIFORNIA SHOOTING CLUBS AND ORGANIZATIONS > The Appleseed Project
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

The Appleseed Project The Revolutionary War Veterans Association

Old 02-23-2011, 7:00 AM

Default Appleseed for complete newbies?

I'm just getting into shooting. Will be picking up my first rifle (a .22) this week. Is Appleseed too intense for a total newbie? My wife is also interested, but we only have the one rifle, are there loaners to use or should I pick up/borrow another rifle? (We are both distance runners and cyclists so physically we should be fine.)

Should I go shoot a bunch at the ranges before I attend, or is it better I don't develop any habits and show up at Appleseed a total "blank slate"?

thanks
Old 02-23-2011, 7:48 AM
CGN Contributor

Default Appleseed...Newbies welcome

Appleseed is perfect for newbies. There are some things one can do to prepare your rifle for an Appleseed, sling etc. There are usually loaners available. The loaners are the instructors personal firearms. So the supply is limited. Contact the Shoot Boss at your location for availability. Have fun and let us know what you think of the program.
Old 02-23-2011, 7:53 AM

depending on your location, instructors should have loaner rifles, just bring the ammo. make sure to contact the instructor for that area before hand to reserve a rifle. you will be going through roughly 500+ rounds each for both days, so bring plenty of ammo. if you go through the appleseedinfo.org forum, you should be able to find who is instructing for that range. eye and ear protection is also a must and instructors may not always have them handy. if you can get a usgi sling and mount it to your rifle, great, if not, they will find a way