Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > CALIFORNIA SHOOTING CLUBS AND ORGANIZATIONS > The Appleseed Project
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

The Appleseed Project The Revolutionary War Veterans Association

Old 09-30-2014, 4:52 PM

Default The *where* of my sling-Anchor

I am new to the Appleseed Project and am inventorying my gear and trying to ensure that I get all the instruction and as little messing with or modifying my rifles as possible [comply with basics] and have augmented my previous "mall-ninja" nylon sling with a newer, USGI/cotton unit that I will have to attach. Please can anyone qualified comment or recommend where to affix the back of this sling to my Stock? I have heard/read that attaching to the side of the stock is less desirable for the holds that are taught. OK, so with this model, where else is going to work? Pictured is my ACS Stock:
Thanks for guidance.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ACS-Stock-Question.jpg (72.9 KB, 85 views)
Old 09-30-2014, 8:10 PM
CGSSA Leader

I would try it at location (c) -- but if that didn't work, I wouldn't be too concerned.

The most important anchor point is on the forestock. By itself, that will let you use a Loop Sling, which most shooters prefer in prone and seated positions, and is certainly good enough in standing position. The rear stock swivel is less important, though it will give you the option of Hasty Sling.

You'll be able to try different variations at the class. What I would do in your case, since the anchor won't fit in (c), is to make a temporary swivel using a zip tie -- make a circle about 2" or so in diameter looped through the slot at (c), and then affix the sling through the zip tie. If it doesn't work, no big deal.

See you soon!

Ask me about Appleseed! Send a PM or see me in the Appleseed subforum.