Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > SPECIALTY FORUMS > Calgunners in Service
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Calgunners in Service This forum is a place for our active duty and deployed members to share, request and have a bit of home where ever they are.

Old 04-24-2010, 8:40 AM

Default Laser eye surgery and the military?

Hi everyone,

I'm a graduating college student and I'm considering commissioning as an officer in the armed forces. I've done a good deal of research on the subject, but I can't find anything solid about each branch's policies with laser eye surgery done prior to commissioning.

Unfortunately, I was born with bad eyesight and laser eye surgery is something I plan on getting done very soon. I know Uncle Sam has waivers and can do this for free for certain individuals, but I plan on getting it done myself.

I tried contacting the local Army and Marines recruitment offices, but I'm stuck on their voicemail. Can anyone in the know (any branch, any MOS) answer a few quick questions?

1) I am looking at OCS/OCC at the moment. Will having my surgery done prior hurt my chances of getting a slot at OCS/OCC?

2) I am planning on competing for a spot in infantry and HSLD type stuff. Will having PRK done affect my chances?

This is a serious consideration for me, so please only respond if you are confident in your answers. Recruiters or people in similar circumstances is preferred.
Old 04-24-2010, 10:20 AM
CGN Contributor

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboFall View Post
Hi everyone,

I'm a graduating college student and I'm considering commissioning as an officer in the armed forces. I've done a good deal of research on the subject, but I can't find anything solid about each branch's policies with laser eye surgery done prior to commissioning.