Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2012, 9:15 AM
Outta Control's Avatar
Outta Control Outta Control is offline
Senior Member
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,379
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default error code 80244004

This error code is driving me up the wall. I upgrade to Win7 Ultimate and now I get this code when I try to do an windows update. H3Lp!
__________________
Backyard Flicks Outdoor Cinema


"People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf."
George Orwell
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2012, 10:52 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied ObamaDerkaderkastan
Posts: 6,404
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Try a reboot, then hit WinUpdates again.

If that does not resolve:
Right-click computer, click manage.
a) Expand "Services and...", then click Services.
Find the Windows Update service to the right, right click Windows Update and hit stop.

Browse to \Windows\SoftwareDistribution\ and delete everything inside there.

Reference "a)" above and this time click "Start" rather than "Stop".

Try windows update again. If it works, then Windows whacked itself keeping track of updates. This starts the whole process over from scratch.

If not, then let us know.
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2012, 11:06 AM
POLICESTATE's Avatar
POLICESTATE POLICESTATE is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wylie, TEXAS
Posts: 18,271
iTrader: 25 / 100%
Default

Clean installs, only way to go.

Did you also try googling the error code?
__________________
If you want a picture of the future, imagine a boot stamping on a human face forever.


Government Official Lies
. F r e e d o m . D i e s .
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-14-2012, 11:11 AM
bigmike82 bigmike82 is offline
Bit Pusher
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: W. Los Angeles
Posts: 3,113
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Default

Do these steps:

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...e-f90c48a4e00c
__________________
-- 09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-14-2012, 11:22 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied ObamaDerkaderkastan
Posts: 6,404
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by POLICESTATE View Post
Clean installs, only way to go.
Indeed.

I have not upgraded a M$ OS since Win98ish.

It even takes less time, and no software compatibility to worry about, AND you can uninstall applications (in the past, you might have issues after an OS upgrade).
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-14-2012, 11:40 AM
stilly stilly is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Currently in a shanty I made in the river bottom by Eastvale.
Posts: 10,512
iTrader: 51 / 100%
Default

LoL.

Yeah, custom builds of windows XP pro is about all I deal with mainly.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2012, 2:36 PM
Outta Control's Avatar
Outta Control Outta Control is offline
Senior Member
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,379
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmike82 View Post
Yes I've done those + google-fu
__________________
Backyard Flicks Outdoor Cinema


"People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf."
George Orwell
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-14-2012, 2:54 PM
Outta Control's Avatar
Outta Control Outta Control is offline
Senior Member
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,379
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the86d View Post
Try a reboot, then hit WinUpdates again.

If that does not resolve:
Right-click computer, click manage.
a) Expand "Services and...", then click Services.
Find the Windows Update service to the right, right click Windows Update and hit stop.

Browse to \Windows\SoftwareDistribution\ and delete everything inside there.

Reference "a)" above and this time click "Start" rather than "Stop".

Try windows update again. If it works, then Windows whacked itself keeping track of updates. This starts the whole process over from scratch.

If not, then let us know.
I did as stated and it did not work. I restored the deleted files from the recycle.
__________________
Backyard Flicks Outdoor Cinema


"People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf."
George Orwell
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-14-2012, 3:57 PM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied ObamaDerkaderkastan
Posts: 6,404
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

IF you are using Norton 360, disable it 1st, (hell...uninstall it) then try one last time. Norton blocks so much network traffic that it gets gets stuck on stupid even if you didn't specifically tell it to block anything.

If all else fails: Backup Data, Clean install.

You can do that from a Win7 Upgrade disk if I recall correctly.

Hell, if you do not blow out the partition, you can just install over the top, and select NOT to upgrade, if memory serves me right.
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-14-2012, 4:13 PM
JDay's Avatar
JDay JDay is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: El Dorado County
Posts: 19,393
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

What version did you upgrade from?

Quote:
Originally Posted by POLICESTATE View Post
Clean installs, only way to go.

Did you also try googling the error code?
Depends on if it was from a previous version of Windows or an Anytime Upgrade. Anytime Upgrade works just fine.
__________________
Oppressors can tyrannize only when they achieve a standing army, an enslaved press, and a disarmed populace. -- James Madison

The Constitution shall never be construed to authorize Congress to prevent the people of the United States, who are peaceable citizens, from keeping their own arms. -- Samuel Adams, Debates and Proceedings in the Convention of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 86-87 (Pearce and Hale, eds., Boston, 1850)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:11 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2018, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.