Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2012, 1:59 PM
SoCal Gunner's Avatar
SoCal Gunner SoCal Gunner is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Riverside County
Posts: 1,597
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Default Windows Explorer Slow and Not Responding?

Out of the blue, when I open Windows Explorer to browse files, it is very slow. Further, when I click on a file to open, I get the "working circle" aka hourglass and a Windows Explorer is Not Responding message for a while, then the file finally opens.

I'm getting this on all drives, even my SSD, so I'm guessing this is a software issue. It's tough for me to pinpoint when it happened, but the only thing I've recently installed were the last round of Win7 updates and Diablo 3.

What am I missing here? Anyone else experience this?

Quote:
Intel Core i7 875
4GB (2x2GB)GSkill DDR3-1600 [F3-12800CL9D-4GBNQ]
ASUS Maximus III Formula BIOS v1202
Saphire Radeon HD5850 1GB GDDR5
2x2TB Hitachi Deskstars in RAID 1
160 GB Intel x25M Gen2 Boot Drive
Pioneer BDR-205 Blu-Ray/Multi Burner/Reader
Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2012, 3:37 PM
thegreydecay's Avatar
thegreydecay thegreydecay is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 80
iTrader: 13 / 100%
Default

Although rarely successful, you might start with running a system restore and picking a checkpoint from before the latest installs. I'm assuming you've got some sort of malware/anti virus software running? Make sure it's up to date and run a scan. If you don't, I'd recommend downloading Microsoft Security Essentials - it's free and does a pretty good job. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2012, 4:07 PM
Nose Nuggets's Avatar
Nose Nuggets Nose Nuggets is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,803
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

i would start by doing a limited windows boot.

start > msconfig (in the search bar and hit enter) > startup tab > make a note of what is already disabled, then click disable all and reboot.

if the problem is gone, there is some software component booting with your computer causing the issue. now you go back to msconfig and restart them one by one (or in small chunks) untill you find the offender.



if you see no change to the malware battery. malwarebytes then combofix.


if you still see no change i would **** the dumb **** and format and reinstall.
__________________


"It is to secure our rights that we resort to government at all." -Thomas Jefferson
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-25-2012, 4:09 PM
winnre's Avatar
winnre winnre is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: IE, Southern CA
Posts: 9,229
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Default

Boot to safe mode with networking. See if that helps. Troubleshoot from there.
__________________
"If Jesus had a gun he would be alive today"-Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-25-2012, 4:21 PM
Nose Nuggets's Avatar
Nose Nuggets Nose Nuggets is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,803
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by winnre View Post
Boot to safe mode with networking. See if that helps. Troubleshoot from there.
this would yield similar results to the limited boot i suggested. this is another good step.
__________________


"It is to secure our rights that we resort to government at all." -Thomas Jefferson
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-31-2012, 9:12 AM
tay's Avatar
tay tay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 448
iTrader: 51 / 100%
Default

Did you ever resolved your stated issue?

I am also having similar conditions with my home PC, running SSD. Rebooted after Windows Patching, and now every HD access tasks are dog slow.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-31-2012, 3:02 PM
SoCal Gunner's Avatar
SoCal Gunner SoCal Gunner is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Riverside County
Posts: 1,597
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Default

Wow, I thought I came in here and posted an update only to come back and find nothing - maybe I have other problems - LOL

To say I resolved it may be a little strong, but the problem is gone. Even thought it probably has nothing to do with the problem, I did remove/uninstall MS Silverlight because it was the last thing I downloaded in an update before the problem. The thing is, I did a bunch of other (also probably inconsequential stuff) like clean the drives, malware scans, defrag even thought they didn't need it, etc.

I wish I had a better answer for you. Did you try the safe mode boot up?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-04-2012, 9:41 PM
cfm117's Avatar
cfm117 cfm117 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 449
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Might be an IE add-on hanging it up. You can click on Tools-->Manage addons and uncheck some stuff and see if it runs better. If it does, you can try to isolate down to a certain one
__________________


"Every gun makes it's own tune." - Blondie
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-04-2012, 10:05 PM
SoCal Gunner's Avatar
SoCal Gunner SoCal Gunner is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Riverside County
Posts: 1,597
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Default

Just to be clear, I was not talking about IE, but rather Windows Explorer. I'm a Firefox user for my web browsing.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-04-2012, 11:31 PM
cfm117's Avatar
cfm117 cfm117 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 449
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoCal Gunner View Post
Just to be clear, I was not talking about IE, but rather Windows Explorer. I'm a Firefox user for my web browsing.

Ahha! My bad. My eyes are glazed over as its past my bedtime
__________________


"Every gun makes it's own tune." - Blondie
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-04-2012, 11:47 PM
ididdoneit's Avatar
ididdoneit ididdoneit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 5
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Maybe update all your drivers from the manufacturer?
__________________
"Sometimes it takes a painful experience to make us change our ways."
King Solomon, chacham mi'kol ha'adam.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:36 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2018, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.