Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > INTERESTS AND ACTIVITIES > Competition, Action Shooting And Training.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Competition, Action Shooting And Training. Competition, Three gun, IPSC, IDPA , and Training discussion here.

Old 01-07-2018, 11:27 AM

Arrow need suggestions for snubby drills and targets

Have a (new-to-me) Smith & Wesson 8 shot 22lr snub-nose revolver that I want to learn to shoot. (I realize some ranges may not let me preform these drills.).

Surfed the web and found this; "Hardwired Tactical Snubby Super Test" from Shooting Drills by Greg Ellifritz.

I'm a beginner revolver shooter (have shot some da only in one class) and have limited practice with 1911's in 45 amp and CZ 75 in 9mm. Didn't do very well with the 1911 (could run through the rounds quickly but not place hits well), the CZ 75 just did it's thing and made me look great.

What targets and drills to start with (no holster work yet) and which drills to work towards. I'm hoping the San Leandro range will let me practice some of these.

Happy Holidays
Old 01-08-2018, 6:04 AM

From low ready, at start signal, engage target with two rounds. 7 yards. Use a BT5 target (human silhouette with orange center) or Q target( blue bowling pin).

From table or low ready, at start signal, engage target with 8 rounds. 15 yards. Using same targets as before.

Any repetition with a hit outside of the inner most scoring zone is a Fail. Record total number of Pass/Fail attempts of each run.
Competition is where you find out you're slow, can't see well, are not accurate, have poor gun handling, can't visualize, have equipment that doesn't work and either accept it OR DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT.
USPSA TY82278
IDPA A54426
Old 01-08-2018, 6:41 AM

Thanks rmatt, will look for these targets
Old 01-08-2018, 6:57 AM