Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated Centerfire rifles, carbines and other gas operated rifles.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2011, 1:23 PM
Spetsnazos's Avatar
Spetsnazos Spetsnazos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: RF
Posts: 1,470
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default If I take my scope off the base do I have to re-zero in if I reinstall?

I'd like to be able to swap between scopes, they each have their own rings and share the same base. I was wondering if I have to re-zero the scope if I take it off the base?

Pic of rifle + scope


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2011, 1:27 PM
1811's Avatar
1811 1811 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,990
iTrader: 191 / 100%
Default

Not if you use: www.laruetactical.com products...
__________________
"Do you like RAP music?" - Axel Foley

Quote:
Originally Posted by ysr_racer View Post
If you want a shotty, why not buy a Remy or a Mossy? That's what my mommy shoots.


WTB: LARUE TACTICAL DILLOS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2011, 1:38 PM
Spetsnazos's Avatar
Spetsnazos Spetsnazos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: RF
Posts: 1,470
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1811 View Post
Not if you use: www.laruetactical.com products...
? what
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2011, 1:42 PM
DDRH's Avatar
DDRH DDRH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,901
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

i think he meant the one piece rings from larue tactical
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2011, 1:42 PM
Dhena81's Avatar
Dhena81 Dhena81 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,494
iTrader: 33 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1811 View Post
Not if you use: www.laruetactical.com products...
Larue makes some good stuff but I would always want to confirm that claim nothing ever returns to absolute zero everytime.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-14-2011, 1:49 PM
Spetsnazos's Avatar
Spetsnazos Spetsnazos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: RF
Posts: 1,470
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

so looks like its a definite no. Dang
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-14-2011, 1:57 PM
AlliedArmory's Avatar
AlliedArmory AlliedArmory is offline
Vendor/Retailer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SGV, CA
Posts: 10,004
iTrader: 307 / 100%
Default

Should be on to within 1moa or so. But you should always zero your sights everytime you shoot.
__________________
http://www.alliedarmory.com/
California Business - No Credit Card Fees - $5.95 Flat Rate Shipping on Any Order

Deal of the Week - Updated Every Monday


http://www.alliedbrassprocessing.com/
Professional Brass Processing Service of your 223/5.56, 300 AAC Blackout and 9MM brass at an affordable price
PM me about local dropoff and pickups
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-14-2011, 2:27 PM
Spetsnazos's Avatar
Spetsnazos Spetsnazos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: RF
Posts: 1,470
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlliedArmory View Post
Should be on to within 1moa or so. But you should always zero your sights everytime you shoot.
thats not too bad I might do it if its only 1 moa.

I dont think my skills are within 1 moa even
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-14-2011, 3:18 PM
Knife Edge's Avatar
Knife Edge Knife Edge is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,359
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dhena81 View Post
Larue makes some good stuff but I would always want to confirm that claim nothing ever returns to absolute zero everytime.
There stuff is insane but I've noticed shifts in the smallest amount.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-14-2011, 3:54 PM
Bug Splat's Avatar
Bug Splat Bug Splat is offline
Calguns Addict
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,562
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Default

Wait, are you talking about 1 rifle and 2 optics or 1 optic and 2 rifles?

Sharing an optic between 2 riles is not going to work. Swapping different optics on the same rifle will work I guess but you are looking at a 1MOA change at least. I never ever remove my optics unless I have too and if I do I always rezero. I own Larue stuff and yes they will return zero for the most part but 1 MOA is a mile to me. Fine for a battle rifle but IMO not for a nice bolt action. If my rifle started shooting 1MOA off I'd be pissed. I go into full troubleshooting mode when my groups are 1/4MOA off.

Honestly, if you have a need great enough to switch optics back and forth you might want to just look into getting another rifle.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-14-2011, 4:22 PM
vintagearms's Avatar
vintagearms vintagearms is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 5,788
iTrader: 43 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlliedArmory View Post
Should be on to within 1moa or so. But you should always zero your sights everytime you shoot.
+100
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-14-2011, 4:54 PM
Fjold's Avatar
Fjold Fjold is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Bakersfield
Posts: 20,272
iTrader: 26 / 100%
Default

My Talley quick release rings on my 375 H&H will repeat within 1/2" if I install them the same way every time. I push the scope so that the ring bases are always tight against the base slots and torque the levers to the same position.

If you have a scope that has a distance of 6" between the rings and misalign the scope 0.001" it will change the point of impact 0.6" at 100 yards
__________________
Frank


One rifle, one planet - Holland's 375

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v214/Fjold/member8325.png

Life Member NRA, CRPA and SAF
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-14-2011, 5:41 PM
captbilly captbilly is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 836
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default Yes you can do it, but....

Like so many things it is not a totally simple answer (well at least for me). You certainly can swap out scopes on the same base, and in many cases the scope will be fairly closely sighted in. However this depends on the base, rings, and how carefully the rings were aligned with the base in the first place. Some bases and rings are simply not as well made as others, so when you remove and reinstall the scope it may not be aligned quite the same as before. The difference won't be huge, you are not going to shoot a degree off of your previous mark (thats 60 MOA), but you might be off anywhere from almost zero to several MOA, and it may change each time you do the change.

As someone else already mentioned, if you want to shoot sub MOA you will want to sight in your rifle every time you shoot it. And though it may only take a few shots to get your rifle sighted in there surely are situations where sighting in simply isn't practical. A hunter probably can not sight in their rifle after crashing through the bushes all day stalking a deer, even though a target shooter would cringe at the idea of not sighting in after such "abuse". A sniper may or may not be able to sight in since, like deer, people tend to get nervous when they see bullets landing nearby. In many Hollywood movies we see some evil assassin putting together their rifle in a hotel room in preparation for shooting some important "hit", but unless they are taking a relatively easy shot that probably wouldn't work without some really special equipment and a bit of luck.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-20-2011, 6:22 PM
Mobius38's Avatar
Mobius38 Mobius38 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,075
iTrader: 80 / 99%
Default

I have La Rue mounts on all my optics. Never ever ever never have I ever ever ever had a shift in POI on any rifles. I have three AR's and a Reminton 700 with LT mounts. Hell I have a 10/22 with LT mounts as well and have never had to rezero anything after I have removed a optics. I keep my guns in the safe with optics removed and the optics in zipped padded bags in another locked safe. La Rue is the way to go if you want to be able to remove your optics between trips. I have a AR that has two optics both in La Rue mounts just replace one for the other and I am good to go!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-20-2011, 6:31 PM
Which Way Out's Avatar
Which Way Out Which Way Out is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Coast
Posts: 1,333
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I have had off twice and it was right on each time after remounting. S & W AR 15OR with 4X12 Simmons, don't recall mounting name but it has quick release screws
__________________
l
l___ ____
l/|. ,[__],
l---L -=OlllllllO_
()_) ()_)-~--)_)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-20-2011, 6:40 PM
rero360 rero360 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pasadena
Posts: 3,709
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Default

US optics mounted in Badger Ordnance rings mated to a Badger base, I've taken the scope of the base a few times and upon mounting have had it shooting within .1 mil, so pretty much within my personal wobble zone, meaning it could have been me and not the hardware.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:12 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.