Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated Centerfire rifles, carbines and other gas operated rifles.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2012, 11:40 AM
vintagedude88's Avatar
vintagedude88 vintagedude88 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,761
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Default Red dot still zero after taking it off and putting it back on?

Will my red dot still be zeroed after I take it off and put back on my AR?

I'm talking about a standard A3 flat top with an Aimpoint PRO with a standard Aimpoint PRO mount.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2012, 11:42 AM
Jyruiz's Avatar
Jyruiz Jyruiz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: La Mirada, CA/Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,050
iTrader: 24 / 96%
Default

Probably won't be dead on, but it should be close.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-2012, 11:56 AM
cfusionpm's Avatar
cfusionpm cfusionpm is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,930
iTrader: 13 / 100%
Default

Not an Aimpoint, but same concept for the screw mount. My EOTech with standard style mount stays pretty close. Just make sure its snug with the same tighness and the same location, etc. I noticed a shift of maybe half an inch at 25 yds. If you're not shooting tiny bullseyes it's not too bad at all. I have no issues keeping it on steel at longer ranges when swapping between that and my larue quick detatch scope.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2012, 1:21 PM
Munny$hot Munny$hot is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,788
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Default

With the QRP mount it will rezero in the same slot. When ever I mount an optic I push it forward to butt up against the forward rail to prevent movement from recoil.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2012, 1:45 PM
lavey29 lavey29 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 994
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Default

I was wondering about this as well. I just purchased 2 Aimpoint Pro's and was curious about the mounting position on the AR. Seems everyone mounts them so the end of the Aimpoint stock mount is right at the edge of the delta ring which makes sense obviously but I have noticed that even on AR rifles that have the monolithic type rail (no delta ring) on top (which one of mine does) that people still mount the red dot sight so that the stock mount just matches up with the portion where the rail meets the upper receiver.

Is there a specific reason for this? Is it so you have a return to zero spot? I thought the farther out front on the rail the red dot goes the better overall sight picture you have? Seems almost all the pics that I see even with the T1 sights use that same reference point on the rifle rail though.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-09-2012, 2:17 PM
tomd1584's Avatar
tomd1584 tomd1584 is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SFV
Posts: 5,861
iTrader: 52 / 100%
Default

The QRP2 mount is a very solid mount, that will repeat zero pretty darn close each time, provided you re-install it in the same location as before.

It's not as fancy or pretty looking as Larue, ADM, or bobro, but it works well. A much improved version of the original QRP mount.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-2012, 2:34 PM
negolien's Avatar
negolien negolien is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 4,649
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

I have swapped out my Eotech and been almost zero. Just have to use the same T-markings and push forward when remounting /shrug.
__________________
"Men sleep peacefully in their beds at night because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf."

George Orwell

http://www.AnySoldier.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-09-2012, 5:20 PM
MrPlink's Avatar
MrPlink MrPlink is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Portland / East Bay
Posts: 12,537
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default

Being that I play musical chairs with my optics A LOT and usually on rifles that have an absolute cowitness I can tell you that with the quality mounts the shift in zero is very minute at best if there at all. Not enough to worry about as far as practical shooting is concerned. If you want super accurate groups... well you got the wrong optic to begin with.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-09-2012, 5:45 PM
Rider1k's Avatar
Rider1k Rider1k is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: wine country
Posts: 1,956
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

I just shot my Aimpoint comp4 today after taking it off. It sits on LaRue QD mounts. I was happy to see that it was only off by less than a 1/2 in at 100 yds.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-09-2012, 5:47 PM
MXRider MXRider is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,932
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Munny$hot View Post
With the QRP mount it will rezero in the same slot. When ever I mount an optic I push it forward to butt up against the forward rail to prevent movement from recoil.
Not quite. The QRP mount has about a 4 moa shift on average. Some are better than others.

Bobro and Larue make great Aimpoint mounts that return to zero within .5 moa.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-09-2012, 5:49 PM
Rider1k's Avatar
Rider1k Rider1k is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: wine country
Posts: 1,956
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MXRider View Post
Not quite. The QRP mount has about a 4 moa shift on average. Some are better than others.

Bobro and Larue make great Aimpoint mounts that return to zero within .5 moa.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
^^^ this. As stated above I can atest to the LaRue mounts. Worth every penny!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-09-2012, 6:17 PM
knkali knkali is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 136
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

aimpoint micro on a qd la rue mount here. On and off 10 times with same zero. la rue stuff is excellent.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-09-2012, 7:17 PM
1 SIG fan's Avatar
1 SIG fan 1 SIG fan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ventura
Posts: 2,378
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

Larue mounts... Yes. Any other. Maybe not. But probably close enough at 25. You would see a shift further out...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-09-2012, 7:49 PM
Munny$hot Munny$hot is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,788
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MXRider View Post
Not quite. The QRP mount has about a 4 moa shift on average. Some are better than others.

Bobro and Larue make great Aimpoint mounts that return to zero within .5 moa.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
Hmmm 4moa is quite a bit of movement at 100 meters. Did you remount your QRP back to the same slot and push forward? The breaking torque knobs is very consistant. I always click 3 times to insure it the same. I shot 4 3shot groups dismounted my sight and it rezeroed 3 times on 3 different rifles using 3 different QRP mounts. 2 new style, 1 older style and they rezeroed every time
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-09-2012, 8:25 PM
MXRider MXRider is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,932
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Munny$hot View Post
Hmmm 4moa is quite a bit of movement at 100 meters. Did you remount your QRP back to the same slot and push forward? The breaking torque knobs is very consistant. I always click 3 times to insure it the same. I shot 4 3shot groups dismounted my sight and it rezeroed 3 times on 3 different rifles using 3 different QRP mounts. 2 new style, 1 older style and they rezeroed every time
Nope, same place every time. Don't believe me? Look it up. Those mounts are not good for return to zero and that's why companies like Larue and Bobro sell mounts for Aimpoints that come with mounts.

It's well documented they have on average a 4 moa shift. Some mounts are much worse. Eotech has had problems with as much as 20 moa shift on factory mounts on the older models. If it weren't for this issue, these companies that make mounts wouldn't be able to sell their product.

Like I said though, some stock mounts are better than others and don't have the POI shift problem, however its not the norm.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-09-2012, 9:19 PM
Munny$hot Munny$hot is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,788
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MXRider View Post
Nope, same place every time. Don't believe me? Look it up. Those mounts are not good for return to zero and that's why companies like Larue and Bobro sell mounts for Aimpoints that come with mounts.

It's well documented they have on average a 4 moa shift. Some mounts are much worse. Eotech has had problems with as much as 20 moa shift on factory mounts on the older models. If it weren't for this issue, these companies that make mounts wouldn't be able to sell their product.

Like I said though, some stock mounts are better than others and don't have the POI shift problem, however its not the norm.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
It's not that I don't believe you, It's that I did the test my self instead of believing internet FUD and buying a 150.00 mount that wasn't needed. Larue make excellent mounts and I'm sure the Kool Aide taste great. I did do a google search,but failed to find "well documented 4MOA shift anywhere on a QRP mount" Care to share where this info is??? ..... Aimpoint makes an awesome sight and a excellent reputation. To think they would cheap out on mount a put something out that is sub par from what they claim of return to zero would hurt their reputation.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-09-2012, 9:23 PM
MXRider MXRider is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,932
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Munny$hot View Post
It's not that I don't believe you, It's that I did the test my self instead of believing internet FUD and buying a 150.00 mount that wasn't needed. Larue make excellent mounts and I'm sure the Kool Aide taste great. I did do a google search,but failed to find "well documented 4MOA shift anywhere on a QRP mount" Care to share where this info is??? ..... Aimpoint makes an awesome sight and a excellent reputation. To think they would cheap out on mount a put something out that is sub par from what they claim of return to zero would hurt their reputation.
I find it hard to believe you had no POI shift with the QRP mount as there will always be a small shift even with high end mounts. Also notice how few companies advertise their mount as "return to zero". That should be an indicator.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-09-2012, 9:25 PM
shooter556's Avatar
shooter556 shooter556 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 692
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

I don't see why it would change zero. I take my EOTech off and on on my standard flat top and it always stays zeroed. I'd assume it would be the same thing for Aimpoint products.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-09-2012, 10:08 PM
Munny$hot Munny$hot is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,788
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MXRider View Post
I find it hard to believe you had no POI shift with the QRP mount as there will always be a small shift even with high end mounts. Also notice how few companies advertise their mount as "return to zero". That should be an indicator.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
First off a 1x RDS is hardly a precision scope, but my groups remained consistent no 4MOA shift.

All that aside any links to the "Well documented links of a 4MOA shift on a QRP".??? or was that FUD??? If you did read something did that person have any expertise in this area or was it just some ACO "Arm Chair Operator" spreading FUD???
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-09-2012, 10:34 PM
Munny$hot Munny$hot is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,788
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Default

Just to be clear 4moa at 100 meters is a 4" movement, so if you where using a Aimpoint Pro with a 2moa dot 1/3 or absolute co-witness and dismounted and remounted it you will see the dot moved 2 widths up/down/left or right. You can easily see this movement just by using irons dismounting your rds and remount it. You should loose your 1/3 or absolute co-witness with you irons sights which I didn't find with my Aimpoint with a (1)QRP and (2) QRP mounts on (2) 1913 Picatinny A3 flat top upper and a KNS RASII rail.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 12-09-2012, 10:43 PM
SarcoBlaster SarcoBlaster is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,190
iTrader: 60 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rider1k View Post
I just shot my Aimpoint comp4 today after taking it off. It sits on LaRue QD mounts. I was happy to see that it was only off by less than a 1/2 in at 100 yds.
Better edit your post before the LaRue fanboys claim there's no way that's possible.
__________________
"Out of every one hundred men, ten shouldn't even be there, eighty are just targets, nine are the real fighters, and we are lucky to have them, for they make the battle. Ah, but the one, one is a warrior, and he will bring the others back." - Heraclitus
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-10-2012, 1:20 AM
17+1 17+1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,319
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default

Probably depends on the mount you're using. I have no experience with the one you listed.

The LaRue mount I have on one of my AR uppers will return to zero, within a minute of angle. Once it was zeroed for the load I settled on, it was removed and reattached several times over the course of a few months, mainly for storage or transport of the upper. Always returned close enough to zero that I don't really notice it. Other factors like amount of barrel fouling, ambient temperature, barrel temperature, etc. will affect POI as well so it may be hard to isolate POI shift unless you run a test and try to minimize outside variables. This may be a waste of time with a red dot, which isn't going to give you precision anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-10-2012, 4:11 AM
MXRider MXRider is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,932
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default

There is a lot of misconception here about what return to zero means. Like I said earlier, the Larue has about a half moa shift on average. The QRP, while still a good mount, is a bit more. On my phone, so not gonna link anything. Google is your friend.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-10-2012, 9:03 AM
Munny$hot Munny$hot is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,788
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Default

I'm on my computer and googled "QRP problem, will not hold zero, looses zero, etc" and found nothing. Unless there is a lot of "well documented 4moa shift" I have to call your claims.....FUD
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-10-2012, 9:26 AM
MXRider MXRider is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,932
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default

Sigh, its not a problem, its just the design of these mounts. Also consider that you are shooting probably 3-4 moa ammo, out of a 1-2 moa rifle using a 2-4 moa red dot. Lots of room for error and POI shifts are inevitable. Fact is the Larue and Bobro mounts are proven to hold zero better. If they didn't, they probably wouldn't sell mounts.


Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-10-2012, 9:34 AM
POLICESTATE's Avatar
POLICESTATE POLICESTATE is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sunnyvale, PRK
Posts: 18,248
iTrader: 25 / 100%
Default

Depends on the scope and mount. Accucam type mounts should be right on.

Mine is. With an Aimpoint Comp2 I use a GG&G QD Accucam cantilever on my AR.

I take it off and put it on every time I shoot and haven't needed to re-zero since day one. And that's been many times over the last few years.

Plus I have it co-witnessed with my irons so if it's off I'll know right away

Not sure about the stock Aimpoint mounts, I hear they are good if you are up close but can be off a little at longer ranges when you put it back on, YMMV
__________________
If you want a picture of the future, imagine a boot stamping on a human face forever.


Government Official Lies
. F r e e d o m . D i e s .
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-10-2012, 10:29 AM
Munny$hot Munny$hot is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,788
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MXRider View Post
Sigh, its not a problem, its just the design of these mounts. Also consider that you are shooting probably 3-4 moa ammo, out of a 1-2 moa rifle using a 2-4 moa red dot. Lots of room for error and POI shifts are inevitable. Fact is the Larue and Bobro mounts are proven to hold zero better. If they didn't, they probably wouldn't sell mounts.


Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
Nope my every day hand loads will do 1moa all day long at 100 meters, but yes my rig will shoot 1.5-2 moa. As I stated before my groups stayed the same. The key factors to retain zero has to do with how precise the machining of the rails/mount, and the torquing method/consistency used. Mounts for the Aimpoint such as Bobro, Larue, Aimpoint and A.R.M.S all use a tri-lock system. Larue and A.R.M.S all rely on a camming action which some people don't like due to the galling of the rail that this action causes. While Bobro and Aimpoint rely on a compression lock and doesn't gall the rail. High end mounts are more precisely machined especially in the ring are which is one of the reasons they retain zero.

Still with no proof of your post it's still
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-10-2012, 11:28 AM
MXRider MXRider is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,932
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default

Lol, whatever you say bud.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-10-2012, 11:54 AM
SuperSet SuperSet is offline
Vendor/Retailer
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: OC/DC
Posts: 9,128
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Default

I tested the EXPS QD mount once and it had a 1MOA deviation at 100yd so well within the acceptable range. For scopes, I don't remove them and tighten them so you can't remove them without tools. I used to think that I could do the QD thing since I was using LaRue and ADM levers but I saw for myself how it affected the group size.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-10-2012, 12:06 PM
Munny$hot Munny$hot is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,788
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MXRider View Post
Lol, whatever you say bud.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
Funny how you cant back up "Da FUD Butta" your spreading but I'll let you off the hook and stop pressing to back up your post.

There is pleny of info/video that Larue scope mounts retain their zero when remounted. That said IMHO I would gladly trade my QRP for a Larue anyday but only for the lighter weight and no snag profile. I haven't tested a Larue mount so for me to post which is better would be FUD.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 12-10-2012, 12:35 PM
whipkiller's Avatar
whipkiller whipkiller is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,461
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Munny$hot View Post
Funny how you cant back up "Da FUD Butta" your spreading but I'll let you off the hook and stop pressing to back up your post.

There is pleny of info/video that Larue scope mounts retain their zero when remounted. That said IMHO I would gladly trade my QRP for a Larue anyday but only for the lighter weight and no snag profile. I haven't tested a Larue mount so for me to post which is better would be FUD.
Wow, I guess you showed him.
__________________
Too many hobbies, Too little time.

Mind you, I'm 5'7", 180, with a visible Ab...
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 12-10-2012, 12:44 PM
Munny$hot Munny$hot is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,788
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whipkiller View Post
Wow, I guess you showed him.
Yup guess Im OCD on fact vs ficton and on Kool Aide drinkers LOL..
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 12-11-2012, 9:35 PM
Tack425 Tack425 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bay Area California
Posts: 230
iTrader: 23 / 100%
Default

I have swapped optics on my POF 415 with an Aimpoint Comp ML3 in a LaRue mount. Every time it has been within 1/2MOA when set in the same rail slot and pushed forward in that slot then snugged down with the lever. I always make sure to move the mount forward so it will not shift due to recoil.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 12-11-2012, 9:35 PM
Tack425 Tack425 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bay Area California
Posts: 230
iTrader: 23 / 100%
Default

I have swapped optics on my POF 415 with an Aimpoint Comp ML3 in a LaRue mount. Every time it has been within 1/2MOA when set in the same rail slot and pushed forward in that slot then snugged down with the lever. I always make sure to move the mount forward so it will not shift due to recoil.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:28 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.