Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2010, 7:18 PM
OCMI_Teddy's Avatar
OCMI_Teddy OCMI_Teddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sandy Eggo, Ca
Posts: 262
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default Network nerds, I need your help (updated)

I'm on a wireless network and cannot connect to a hard line. During the day my internet runs fine, but after 6 or 7 my internet speeds go to **** and my ping goes through the roof. Normally I'm at about 1.5Mb/s and a 50 ms ping but at night I get this. It's driving me crazy! Anyone have any ideas why this is?



Quote:
Originally Posted by OCMI_Teddy View Post
yes

I did the tracert thing; things are good now



I was out of town the past couple days. But it's still draggin ***.





So any ideas on what's wrong and how to fix it?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdsmchs View Post
As long as the firearm is configured to be legal, the lower can be marked "Thermonuclear unicorn-killer, Cal 70mm"

Last edited by OCMI_Teddy; 01-19-2010 at 11:46 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-14-2010, 7:21 PM
JDay's Avatar
JDay JDay is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: El Dorado County
Posts: 18,869
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Call 311 and have them run a line test when this happens. Probably condensation getting into the DSLAM or the box on your house. Has nothing to do with your wireless.
__________________
Oppressors can tyrannize only when they achieve a standing army, an enslaved press, and a disarmed populace. -- James Madison

The Constitution shall never be construed to authorize Congress to prevent the people of the United States, who are peaceable citizens, from keeping their own arms. -- Samuel Adams, Debates and Proceedings in the Convention of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 86-87 (Pearce and Hale, eds., Boston, 1850)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-14-2010, 7:22 PM
G-Man WC's Avatar
G-Man WC G-Man WC is offline
Prawn Lives Matter
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: East Bay
Posts: 9,366
iTrader: 36 / 100%
Default

Do have DSL and did you secure your junk? It could be your neighbours are tapping you if your not locked down on security.
-g
__________________
If ever time should come, when vain and aspiring men shall possess the highest seats in Government, our country will stand in need of its experienced patriots to prevent its ruin.
-Samuel Adams
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-14-2010, 7:36 PM
elrcastor's Avatar
elrcastor elrcastor is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dublin, CA
Posts: 966
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

how close are you to your access point?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-14-2010, 7:53 PM
OCMI_Teddy's Avatar
OCMI_Teddy OCMI_Teddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sandy Eggo, Ca
Posts: 262
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

100 feet/2 rooms, but it world just fine from the exact same spot a few hours ago.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdsmchs View Post
As long as the firearm is configured to be legal, the lower can be marked "Thermonuclear unicorn-killer, Cal 70mm"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-14-2010, 8:00 PM
singlemalt singlemalt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Ping your router when you have the problem (usually 192.168.1.1) -- if the latency is over 10ms, the problem is wireless interference OR someone is hijacking your Internet. Solution to that would be to secure the wireless and try changing the wireless channel (1,6,or 11). Otherwise, it's a problem on your Internet provider's end.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-14-2010, 8:00 PM
goober's Avatar
goober goober is offline
Veteran Member
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: da sloo
Posts: 4,939
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

if no one else is sucking your bandwidth look for appliances/devices/lights/etc. (that may be interfering w/ your wireless signal or affecting your WAN connection) that you only use at night/during the affected times.
try turning things off & on while watching to see if it gets better.
__________________
Live between Santa Cruz and SLO? Want to get involved?
Check out the Central Coast Calguns Community Chapter
And join the Central Coast Region Social Group!
NRA Life Member - CRPA Life & Board Member - SAF Life Member - Monterey County Carry Initiative Sponsor
Statements posted here are the sole opinions of the author and not those
of CGN, CGF, CRPA, or any other institution or agency unless otherwise noted.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-14-2010, 8:47 PM
Oldbud's Avatar
Oldbud Oldbud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Near 605/91
Posts: 208
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default

Can you do a speedtest with a pc "hard" wired at the router during such outages? To see if it is your broadband connection, or the wireless connection.

2.4ghz is popular with many devices, cordless phones, cameras, baby monitors which could be causing interference. Also dsl lines can be affected by numerous devices as well.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Liberty1
Some where there is a POST continuation class missing it's idiot!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-14-2010, 8:59 PM
nick nick is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18,183
iTrader: 138 / 100%
Default

It most likely has to do with people coming home from work.

It could be either your wireless connection, or your Internet connection. To check which one it is, do a few tests using your wireless connection, then connect to your router using an Ethernet cable and do a few tests that way. If the results are the same, it's your Internet connection. If the results are seriously different, it's your wireless link.

For the Internet connection, if you're on cable, you're SOL. They probably don't provision enough bandwidth for your hub (you're sharing the bandwidth with your neighbors at the local hub). You can call the provider anyway, and see what they can do. There're ways to deal with it, but your router likely doesn't support it, and your provider won't be happy.

If you're on DSL, that shouldn't be happening. Call your provider and have them test the line. I don't suppose you're sharing phone lines with anyone. Right?

If it turns out to be the wireless connection, there're likely some devices close enough to interfere. Try getting a dual-band N router or access point, and play with frequencies and channels. For that matter, make sure that your current router isn't using channel 1, 6, or 11 (which are most commonly used by default). Try switching channels and see which one gives you best performance in peak hours.
__________________
"I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than to those attending too small a degree of it." - Thomas Jefferson
"Thou shalt not interfere with the Second Amendment rights of "law-abiding" citizens who want AK-47s only to protect hearth and home." - Paul Helmke finally gets it :)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJgunguy24 View Post
Some people are so open minded, their brains have fallen out.


WTB: Saiga .223 bolt; HK G3 bolt; Chinese AK pistol grips; milled AK cut receiver pieces and stubs.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-14-2010, 9:09 PM
nick nick is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18,183
iTrader: 138 / 100%
Default

Wait, did I just brand myself as a nerd?
__________________
"I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than to those attending too small a degree of it." - Thomas Jefferson
"Thou shalt not interfere with the Second Amendment rights of "law-abiding" citizens who want AK-47s only to protect hearth and home." - Paul Helmke finally gets it :)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJgunguy24 View Post
Some people are so open minded, their brains have fallen out.


WTB: Saiga .223 bolt; HK G3 bolt; Chinese AK pistol grips; milled AK cut receiver pieces and stubs.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-14-2010, 9:15 PM
OCMI_Teddy's Avatar
OCMI_Teddy OCMI_Teddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sandy Eggo, Ca
Posts: 262
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Here's what happened when i pinged my external IP

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdsmchs View Post
As long as the firearm is configured to be legal, the lower can be marked "Thermonuclear unicorn-killer, Cal 70mm"

Last edited by OCMI_Teddy; 01-14-2010 at 9:45 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-14-2010, 9:16 PM
five.five-six's Avatar
five.five-six five.five-six is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 28,024
iTrader: 52 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by singlemalt View Post
Ping your router when you have the problem (usually 192.168.1.1) -- if the latency is over 10ms, the problem is wireless interference OR someone is hijacking your Internet. Solution to that would be to secure the wireless and try changing the wireless channel (1,6,or 11). Otherwise, it's a problem on your Internet provider's end.
sometimes 192.168.0.1 too


are you on cable or DSL, could be your ISPs backbone is getting overloaded... typical in collage dormitory/ high density housing... is it the very worst Saturday nights after 7:00p?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-14-2010, 9:35 PM
OCMI_Teddy's Avatar
OCMI_Teddy OCMI_Teddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sandy Eggo, Ca
Posts: 262
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by five.five-six View Post
sometimes 192.168.0.1 too


are you on cable or DSL, could be your ISPs backbone is getting overloaded... typical in collage dormitory/ high density housing... is it the very worst Saturday nights after 7:00p?
the thing is I live in a very open nieghborhood. Pretty much most of our houses sit on 2 or more acres. Is my external IP the same as the router?

I have no idea what we have. I'm pretty sure it's DSL. We rent our guest house to a tech company and they give us internet. I was going to go down and plug into the hard line for our house router but one of the guys is down there, and I don't think he'd be too happy about me just strolling into his office at 10:30.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdsmchs View Post
As long as the firearm is configured to be legal, the lower can be marked "Thermonuclear unicorn-killer, Cal 70mm"

Last edited by OCMI_Teddy; 01-14-2010 at 9:41 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-14-2010, 10:14 PM
CpuFixrMan CpuFixrMan is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lathrop, CA
Posts: 233
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OCMI_Teddy View Post
the thing is I live in a very open nieghborhood. Pretty much most of our houses sit on 2 or more acres. Is my external IP the same as the router?

I have no idea what we have. I'm pretty sure it's DSL. We rent our guest house to a tech company and they give us internet. I was going to go down and plug into the hard line for our house router but one of the guys is down there, and I don't think he'd be too happy about me just strolling into his office at 10:30.
Well, if they are a "tech company" it could be they are serving "content" that just happens to have a higher incidence of activity after school/work/etc or they could be downloading "content" after work/school/etc. Since this is likely a shared line, their activity will have a direct influence on your network performance.
__________________
NRA Life Member
---------------------------------
"The best diplomat that I know is a fully-loaded phaser bank." -- Lt. Cdr. Montgomery Scott ("A Taste of Armageddon")
----------------------------------------------------------------
Have you taken The Pistolero Challenge?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-15-2010, 12:32 AM
five.five-six's Avatar
five.five-six five.five-six is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 28,024
iTrader: 52 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OCMI_Teddy View Post
the thing is I live in a very open nieghborhood. Pretty much most of our houses sit on 2 or more acres. Is my external IP the same as the router?
no, your router is an internal "traffic cop" everything in your house goes to his intersection which is 192.168.1(or 0).1 most times. Your "external IP is assigned to you by your ISP and is unique globaly

run:

tracert 66.102.7.103

when things are running good and again when things are running bad, we can tell a lot from this... oh yea, post up screen shots too
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-15-2010, 12:34 AM
five.five-six's Avatar
five.five-six five.five-six is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 28,024
iTrader: 52 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OCMI_Teddy View Post
Here's what happened when i pinged my external IP


oh, I think i may see the problem... you on WiFi?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-15-2010, 7:24 AM
OCMI_Teddy's Avatar
OCMI_Teddy OCMI_Teddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sandy Eggo, Ca
Posts: 262
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by five.five-six View Post
oh, I think i may see the problem... you on WiFi?
yes

I did the tracert thing; things are good now



__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdsmchs View Post
As long as the firearm is configured to be legal, the lower can be marked "Thermonuclear unicorn-killer, Cal 70mm"

Last edited by OCMI_Teddy; 01-15-2010 at 8:07 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-15-2010, 9:48 AM
five.five-six's Avatar
five.five-six five.five-six is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 28,024
iTrader: 52 / 100%
Default

you have uverse?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-15-2010, 10:07 AM
ocabj's Avatar
ocabj ocabj is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,155
iTrader: 40 / 100%
Default

Speaking of wireless, this is the WPA2 wireless at work, tested from a 13" MacBook Pro with stock Airport card:

__________________

Distinguished Rifleman #1924
NRA Certified Instructor (Rifle and Metallic Cartridge Reloading) and RSO
https://www.ocabj.net | http://jocabphoto.com

My AR15 Service Rifle - Used for CMP/NRA High Power Service Rifle Competitions
My Eliseo R5 (Remington 700) Tube Gun - Used for NRA High Power (Match Category) Competitions
My M1 Garand Service Rifle - Used for JCG Matches, rebuilt by Dean's Gun Restorations
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-15-2010, 10:49 AM
OCMI_Teddy's Avatar
OCMI_Teddy OCMI_Teddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sandy Eggo, Ca
Posts: 262
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocabj View Post
Speaking of wireless, this is the WPA2 wireless at work, tested from a 13" MacBook Pro with stock Airport card:

I hate you.........


I don't have uverse
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdsmchs View Post
As long as the firearm is configured to be legal, the lower can be marked "Thermonuclear unicorn-killer, Cal 70mm"

Last edited by OCMI_Teddy; 01-15-2010 at 10:53 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 01-15-2010, 10:49 AM
Johnny Diablo's Avatar
Johnny Diablo Johnny Diablo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 629
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Do this during the slowness. You may want to practice this before posting us a bunch of garbled junk.

Go to start button. Click once to make the menu bar pop up. See the "run"? Select that. A little dialouge box pops up. whatever is in there highlight it and type in "command" to replace whats there (no quotes). Hit enter.

A black box popped up? Good! type at the prompt "tracert calguns.net" hit enter. At the very top of the bar where its grey and says something like C:\windows\system32\.... Right click that bar choose edit and select all.

Go back here and right click and past it in the quick reply box and post!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiggy View Post
....
we'll be your friends, you'll never have to leave this textbased world of calguns ever ever again
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-15-2010, 10:50 AM
Johnny Diablo's Avatar
Johnny Diablo Johnny Diablo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 629
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

wow you meatheads are fast!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiggy View Post
....
we'll be your friends, you'll never have to leave this textbased world of calguns ever ever again
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-15-2010, 11:27 AM
OCMI_Teddy's Avatar
OCMI_Teddy OCMI_Teddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sandy Eggo, Ca
Posts: 262
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Diablo View Post
Do this during the slowness. You may want to practice this before posting us a bunch of garbled junk.

Go to start button. Click once to make the menu bar pop up. See the "run"? Select that. A little dialouge box pops up. whatever is in there highlight it and type in "command" to replace whats there (no quotes). Hit enter.

A black box popped up? Good! type at the prompt "tracert calguns.net" hit enter. At the very top of the bar where its grey and says something like C:\windows\system32\.... Right click that bar choose edit and select all.

Go back here and right click and past it in the quick reply box and post!
how is that different then what i did before?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdsmchs View Post
As long as the firearm is configured to be legal, the lower can be marked "Thermonuclear unicorn-killer, Cal 70mm"
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-15-2010, 11:43 AM
goober's Avatar
goober goober is offline
Veteran Member
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: da sloo
Posts: 4,939
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

well since you showed yours....

__________________
Live between Santa Cruz and SLO? Want to get involved?
Check out the Central Coast Calguns Community Chapter
And join the Central Coast Region Social Group!
NRA Life Member - CRPA Life & Board Member - SAF Life Member - Monterey County Carry Initiative Sponsor
Statements posted here are the sole opinions of the author and not those
of CGN, CGF, CRPA, or any other institution or agency unless otherwise noted.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-15-2010, 2:12 PM
five.five-six's Avatar
five.five-six five.five-six is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 28,024
iTrader: 52 / 100%
Default

that's sooo shopped... 38 mb upload
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-15-2010, 2:13 PM
five.five-six's Avatar
five.five-six five.five-six is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 28,024
iTrader: 52 / 100%
Default

nm, you are at school
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-15-2010, 2:31 PM
ocabj's Avatar
ocabj ocabj is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,155
iTrader: 40 / 100%
Default

Note the one I posted earlier was for wireless.

My wired sucks as far as wire is concerned:



Mainly because my desktop is plugged into a 100mbit port and not a GIG-E port.
__________________

Distinguished Rifleman #1924
NRA Certified Instructor (Rifle and Metallic Cartridge Reloading) and RSO
https://www.ocabj.net | http://jocabphoto.com

My AR15 Service Rifle - Used for CMP/NRA High Power Service Rifle Competitions
My Eliseo R5 (Remington 700) Tube Gun - Used for NRA High Power (Match Category) Competitions
My M1 Garand Service Rifle - Used for JCG Matches, rebuilt by Dean's Gun Restorations
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-15-2010, 2:38 PM
juicemansam's Avatar
juicemansam juicemansam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fresno, CA, US
Posts: 197
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

connect your modem directly to the test jack in the service box. the connect your laptop or pc directly to the modem. test, with everything everyone has already suggested, during the times you know you get good service and the times you know you get bad service. that will eliminate inside wiring issues, or confirm them. because you only use wifi, you can suspect the wifi interference, but you still have to check/confirm line quality. but before committing to a possible charge by the telephone company, it's best to confirm the situation so you are not stuck with an unexpected bill.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-15-2010, 4:59 PM
goober's Avatar
goober goober is offline
Veteran Member
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: da sloo
Posts: 4,939
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by five.five-six View Post
nm, you are at school
no, WORK.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocabj View Post
Note the one I posted earlier was for wireless.

My wired sucks as far as wire is concerned:



Mainly because my desktop is plugged into a 100mbit port and not a GIG-E port.
didn't have my lappy so couldn't do apples2apples wireless...

(and by that i mean nothing to do w/ the "mac" connotation of apple, just the analogous fruit)
__________________
Live between Santa Cruz and SLO? Want to get involved?
Check out the Central Coast Calguns Community Chapter
And join the Central Coast Region Social Group!
NRA Life Member - CRPA Life & Board Member - SAF Life Member - Monterey County Carry Initiative Sponsor
Statements posted here are the sole opinions of the author and not those
of CGN, CGF, CRPA, or any other institution or agency unless otherwise noted.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-15-2010, 8:54 PM
badandy badandy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Galt
Posts: 114
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goober_0 View Post
if no one else is sucking your bandwidth look for appliances/devices/lights/etc. (that may be interfering w/ your wireless signal or affecting your WAN connection) that you only use at night/during the affected times.
try turning things off & on while watching to see if it gets better.

Good...
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 01-15-2010, 10:14 PM
DarkHorse's Avatar
DarkHorse DarkHorse is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The United States of America
Posts: 934
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default


__________________
This is my sig line.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-15-2010, 10:45 PM
Blackhawk556's Avatar
Blackhawk556 Blackhawk556 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: FresNO, Ca
Posts: 3,667
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkHorse View Post

after seeing the other people posting some crazy speeds i started laughing when I saw yours
__________________
CZ 75 SP-01 ROCKS!
"If guns kill people, do pencils misspell words?"
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 01-19-2010, 6:17 PM
OCMI_Teddy's Avatar
OCMI_Teddy OCMI_Teddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sandy Eggo, Ca
Posts: 262
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OCMI_Teddy View Post
yes

I did the tracert thing; things are good now



I was out of town the past couple days. But it's still draggin ***.





So any ideas on what's wrong and how to fix it?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdsmchs View Post
As long as the firearm is configured to be legal, the lower can be marked "Thermonuclear unicorn-killer, Cal 70mm"
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 01-20-2010, 6:16 PM
6172crew's Avatar
6172crew 6172crew is offline
Super Moderator
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Concord CA
Posts: 6,271
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

Seems like all the number are high, do you have a box (telco) outside that has a port on it that you can disconnect the inside wiring from the outside?

If so why dont you plug your WLAN router direct and run the test again.

Unless you have a sidekick type meter I think this would be the only way to see if its your issue or the ISP. Sorry I dont know anyone in your area to help with a meter.

I had a customer who had a funky gauge telco cable running through his house and it was causing problems until we ran a dedicated line to the DSL router, the rest of the house wiring was left hanging behind the jacks because it was 12 gauge when it should be 28 gauge cat3-5
__________________

HMM-161 Westpac 1994
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 01-20-2010, 6:46 PM
goober's Avatar
goober goober is offline
Veteran Member
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: da sloo
Posts: 4,939
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

other wiring in the house can cause issues, like if there is an alarm system wired into phone lines. but his is an evening/night problem, so i'd look for causes that fit the timing of the issue first.
__________________
Live between Santa Cruz and SLO? Want to get involved?
Check out the Central Coast Calguns Community Chapter
And join the Central Coast Region Social Group!
NRA Life Member - CRPA Life & Board Member - SAF Life Member - Monterey County Carry Initiative Sponsor
Statements posted here are the sole opinions of the author and not those
of CGN, CGF, CRPA, or any other institution or agency unless otherwise noted.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:29 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.