Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2010, 11:32 PM
2DoorImpala's Avatar
2DoorImpala 2DoorImpala is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,708
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default Need some help installing a hometheater

So i bought one of those theater in a box for the guest room. I have everything hooked up only when i switch over to the PS3 I cant lower the volume from my TV controller it produces sound even when muted. Its super loud. I can only lower it if I'm watching a dvd in the dvd player it came with.

Set up goes:

PS3 connected to lcd via hdmi
5.1 speakers connected to dvd player.
Rcas from dvd to lcd video 1 input

I dont really care if i cant watch movies on the cheap dvd player it came with, i just want it to able listen to the sound when the pop a bluray on the ps3. i got a bunch of of audio and video inputs and outputs but i have no idea what goes where

Also the lcd audio option are

SPDIF: PCM
LEVEL SET: ON
TV SPEAKER OUT
__________________

Last edited by 2DoorImpala; 01-09-2010 at 11:35 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2010, 11:43 PM
Casual_Shooter's Avatar
Casual_Shooter Casual_Shooter is offline
Ban Hammer Avoidance Team
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Did you notice how far over I've moved this part of my info? You should try it, it's fun.
Posts: 9,449
iTrader: 49 / 100%
Default

Something doesn't add up.

If you only have the HDMI cable from the PS3 to your TV and no other cable from your PS3 connected to anything, your TV should control the volume of the PS3- game, DVD etc.

i.e. you sure you didn't hook up the optical audio to your receiver/ dvd player?

How do you have a 5.1 connected to a DVD player? Is it also a receiver?
__________________
Guns, dogs and home alarms. Opponents are all of a sudden advocates once their personal space is violated.

"Those who cannot remember the posts are condemned to repeat them"

I wish I had a dollar for every time someone used a cliché
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2010, 12:18 AM
2DoorImpala's Avatar
2DoorImpala 2DoorImpala is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,708
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default

Yea, its also a receiver. no optical connected.

The RCAs are connected to the lcd video 1.





Is was wondering if theres a way to connect my speakers to my tv without the dvd receiver. All the 5 speakers connect to the sub-woofer. The subwoofer has an option for dvd or switch to tv and its a powered woofer.

right now the speakers are connected to subwoofer which connects via rcas to the dvd/receiver
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2010, 8:52 AM
audiophil2 audiophil2 is online now
Vendor/Retailer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Semi-retired in Arizona
Posts: 6,200
iTrader: 212 / 100%
Default

Tell us the make and model # of the htib and tv.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2010, 7:14 PM
Casual_Shooter's Avatar
Casual_Shooter Casual_Shooter is offline
Ban Hammer Avoidance Team
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Did you notice how far over I've moved this part of my info? You should try it, it's fun.
Posts: 9,449
iTrader: 49 / 100%
Default

Ditto to what audiophil2 says.

But let's stay with the PS3 for now.

You say
Quote:
PS3 connected to lcd via hdmi
.

So, the PS3 is connected to the TV with an HDMI cable yet you can not control the volume of a game/ movie playing in the PS3 via the TV.

But you say sound comes through the stereo speakers. This means an audio signal is getting to the receiver some how.

You say
Quote:
Rcas from dvd to lcd video 1 input
.

This means you are plugging your DVD player directly into the video one input of your TV?

Might help if you took a photo of the back of each of your components.

Can't answer your question on running your speakers from your TV via the subwoofer at first glance. I can't see how you would get 5.1 sound unless your subwoofer has a built in decoder.

This should be fairly easy to square away once we get some accurate information.
__________________
Guns, dogs and home alarms. Opponents are all of a sudden advocates once their personal space is violated.

"Those who cannot remember the posts are condemned to repeat them"

I wish I had a dollar for every time someone used a cliché
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2010, 6:39 PM
the_natterjack's Avatar
the_natterjack the_natterjack is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,057
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2DoorImpala View Post
So i bought one of those theater in a box for the guest room. I have everything hooked up only when i switch over to the PS3 I cant lower the volume from my TV controller it produces sound even when muted. Its super loud. I can only lower it if I'm watching a dvd in the dvd player it came with.

Set up goes:

PS3 connected to lcd via hdmi
5.1 speakers connected to dvd player.
Rcas from dvd to lcd video 1 input

I dont really care if i cant watch movies on the cheap dvd player it came with, i just want it to able listen to the sound when the pop a bluray on the ps3. i got a bunch of of audio and video inputs and outputs but i have no idea what goes where

Also the lcd audio option are

SPDIF: PCM
LEVEL SET: ON
TV SPEAKER OUT
What make/model TV is this? You may need to change your TV audio output from a FIXED level to a VARIABLE level so you can control the volume up and down with the TV remote control. A FIXED level means the audio out comes out very loud and, of course, at a fixed level. It could be the LEVEL SET: has an off or variable option.

Your setup should be . . .

from PS3 to TV with HDMI ( video and audio )
from HTIB to TV with RCA cable ( video )

from TV ( audio out ) to HTIB ( audio in ) ( carries PS3 audio out TV to HTIB )

Try that,

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2010, 12:48 AM
Richie Caketown Richie Caketown is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,385
iTrader: 47 / 98%
Default

is your HDMI cable a 1.2 , 1.3 , or 1.4

the ps3 can actually be picky with certain HDMI cables
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2010, 8:59 AM
Casual_Shooter's Avatar
Casual_Shooter Casual_Shooter is offline
Ban Hammer Avoidance Team
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Did you notice how far over I've moved this part of my info? You should try it, it's fun.
Posts: 9,449
iTrader: 49 / 100%
Default

The OP said sound came out of his stereo speakers NOT the TV yet the only cable connected to the PS3 was the HMDI to the TV. And there was no connection from the TV to the receiver (although there was a connection to Vid 1 "input" of the TV).

What he describes is impossible given the posted connections but should be fairly easy to remedy once we have some more details.

My feeling is the the RCA's the OP mentions are connected to the Vid 1 Input of the TV are actually connected to the "Audio Out" of the TV and "Vid 1 Input" of the Receiver.
__________________
Guns, dogs and home alarms. Opponents are all of a sudden advocates once their personal space is violated.

"Those who cannot remember the posts are condemned to repeat them"

I wish I had a dollar for every time someone used a cliché

Last edited by Casual_Shooter; 01-13-2010 at 9:03 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-14-2010, 5:33 PM
Rob454's Avatar
Rob454 Rob454 is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: so cal
Posts: 10,520
iTrader: 34 / 100%
Default

Take a pic of the actual component connections at the back of the DVD player TV and PS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 8:01 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.