Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > INTERESTS AND ACTIVITIES > Ammo and Reloading
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Ammo and Reloading Factory Ammunition, Reloading, Components, Load Data and more.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2014, 9:28 AM
maxumwake619 maxumwake619 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 240
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default How to dissasemble High Primer Rounds

Hello all,

I recently started reloading and my first batch had some primers that were not seated all the way and we finished them on a progressive press.

Now that we have ironed out the process and everything is rolling smoothely we would like to disassemble the high primer rounds and reuse the components (minus primer of course).

We bought a hammer puller and in the instructions it says not to use the hammer puller with high primers.

So my question is, how do we safely dissasemble these rounds?

thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2014, 9:36 AM
Citadelgrad87's Avatar
Citadelgrad87 Citadelgrad87 is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12,734
iTrader: 19 / 100%
Default

Interested in the answers you get, I'm a beginner myself.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjsig View Post
You are talking to someone who already won this lame conversation, not a brick a wall. Too bad you don't realize it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excelsior View Post
Please stop judging me. Your ad hominem attack does nothing more than show you don't pack the gear for this debate.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-Hero View Post
I love this thread. One person standing alone masturbating furiously, while everyone else is pointing and laughing at his small weenie.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lear60man View Post
My transvestite analogy stands.
XXXXXX
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2014, 9:45 AM
rcschummers's Avatar
rcschummers rcschummers is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AUBURN
Posts: 1,254
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default How to dissasemble High Primer Rounds

Edit: my bad, take em apart, you dont want that going off in your face. Kinetic pullers are cheap, i just bought a used one from another calgunner for $6. Ive already made my money back on pulled projectiles.

The hammer says not to use on high primers, most guns say no to reloads. Sometimes you have to be a cowboy LOL.

Last edited by rcschummers; 02-26-2014 at 11:57 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2014, 9:49 AM
maxumwake619 maxumwake619 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 240
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default

RCS.

These rounds are already primed, charged and bullet seated. It was not until the process was finished on the lee 1000 that i noticed the primers were seated too high so i cant run them back through the deprime and resize die.

i've heard you can try to push the primer in all the way using the press but with a live round i don't think that is a smart idea.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2014, 9:53 AM
Kodemonkey's Avatar
Kodemonkey Kodemonkey is offline
Dates Hi-Profile Chicks
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,884
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

EDIT: Nevermind. But I am going to watch this thread.

Why you shouldn't use an inertial puller with a high primer

http://www.shootersforum.com/handloa...r-warning.html

Last edited by Kodemonkey; 02-26-2014 at 9:57 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2014, 9:54 AM
Glockrocks's Avatar
Glockrocks Glockrocks is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 437
iTrader: 29 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcschummers View Post
Run em back through the deprime and resize die
I think these are fully loaded rounds with powder and bullets seated.. not sure if you can run them through the priming station only to fully seat the primer?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2014, 9:56 AM
hermosabeach's Avatar
hermosabeach hermosabeach is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9,666
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

You have two options...

Spend CASH and buy a collet bullet puller to pull the projectiles

If it were me, I would use the kinetic / hammer style puller...

Bullets not in a chamber are safe if they go off... the puller might act as a chamber and build up pressure - aka PVC Pipe bomb...

As long as the primers are secure, just seated a few thousands too high, I would don some eye protection and pull the bullets from the few that are too high....

You could also drill a couple of small holes in the puller to act as vents should a round ignite... this would weaken the puller just a little bit with 2-3 1/16" diameter holes...


Lastly, you can fill a small dish with WD40 and set the rounds Primer down in the WD40... If the WD40 makes it into the brass past the primer, It will deactivate the primer....

If you do this you should rinse the brass with a degreaser- spritz from some brake cleaner or TCE once the bullets are pulled and re tumble the brass before reloading
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2014, 9:57 AM
hermosabeach's Avatar
hermosabeach hermosabeach is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9,666
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/680...ProductFinding



__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-26-2014, 10:05 AM
maxumwake619 maxumwake619 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 240
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodemonkey View Post
EDIT: Nevermind. But I am going to watch this thread.

Why you shouldn't use an inertial puller with a high primer

http://www.shootersforum.com/handloa...r-warning.html
If you look through the thread he used the shell holder from the rcbs press and not the supplied collets. thus causing the ignition.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-26-2014, 10:17 AM
bigdawg86's Avatar
bigdawg86 bigdawg86 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,904
iTrader: 25 / 100%
Default

What about just reseat the high primers with a hand primer tool?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-26-2014, 10:22 AM
frt96 frt96 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 254
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default

Is there some reason why you can't re-run the priming operation and finish seating the primers?? I have a hand held primer tool as well as one on my single stage. I had both of these prior to buying my Lee 1K so If I had high primers I think I would just re-run the operation.
My logic is if I don't blow primers seating them then why would they blow on a assembled cartrige? Please let me know if I'm wrong, I am pretty new.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-26-2014, 10:24 AM
MR_X's Avatar
MR_X MR_X is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: FREE STATE
Posts: 408
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

^ done that a few times. This is why I prime separetly now.

The question is why they didn't seat correctly? Is because the primer sitting tool wasn't correctly adjusted or was it a case problem. If it was because the tool wasn't adjusted correctly, I would run them through the press carefully and re seat them. If it was the case, then disassemble.

Last edited by MR_X; 02-26-2014 at 10:27 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-26-2014, 10:35 AM
mark501w's Avatar
mark501w mark501w is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rivercity
Posts: 1,678
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

You can pull the bullet & reset the primer if your more comfy with that . You can run them thru your priming operation if you don't slam things around. My favorite is to use my Lee hand primer.

Last edited by mark501w; 02-26-2014 at 10:42 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-26-2014, 10:43 AM
madjack956's Avatar
madjack956 madjack956 is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ORANGE COUNTY
Posts: 2,141
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Default

I would use my kinetic hammer with no reservation. That problem posted was because the guy modified his.
__________________
Paralyzed Veterans of America www.pva.org
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-26-2014, 10:46 AM
milotrain's Avatar
milotrain milotrain is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,673
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

If I find a soft seated primer from the progressive I just press it flush with the lee hand priming tool. THe only time this does not work is in the case of five LC10 .223 cases that didn't have the primer pocket fully reamed and the primers wouldn't actually seat deeply enough, but these were so proud that they wouldn't index on the progressive.

EDIT: None of these have been loaded rounds. You could always just toss your mistakes, it's the smart move.
__________________
weg: That device is obsolete now. They replaced it with wizards.
frank: Wait a minute. There are more than one wizard? Is [are?] the wizard calibrated?

Last edited by milotrain; 02-26-2014 at 11:19 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-26-2014, 10:47 AM
hermosabeach's Avatar
hermosabeach hermosabeach is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9,666
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default if it does go boom

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdawg86 View Post
What about just reseat the high primers with a hand primer tool?
I like the Lee Hand prime tool... the difference is that should a primer pop- the shell is pointed away from your face if you follow directions....

With a loaded round, the primer ignites the powder and the brass/ bullet get deformed as the powder ignites and you don't know where the jet of gass will go- at your body is bad
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-26-2014, 11:09 AM
tiller tiller is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 794
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

DO NOT TRY TO RESEAT A HIGH PRIMER IN AN ALREADY LOADED ROUND!! You could possibly set off the primer and blow your face off!!

Do not try to reseat it if its loaded
__________________
.223 & .308 brass processing
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-26-2014, 11:19 AM
highpower790's Avatar
highpower790 highpower790 is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: san lorenzo
Posts: 2,300
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

just use a hand primer and be done!
__________________
Keep it simple!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-26-2014, 11:33 AM
tiller tiller is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 794
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Do not use a hand primer!! The round has nothing to keep it contained!! If it should go off sharp brass debris will blow up right in your face! This is not good advice to give!


Please spend the money on a bullet puller... Disassemble and reseat!

Its 20$ or your eye sight? You choose
__________________
.223 & .308 brass processing
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-26-2014, 11:38 AM
rcschummers's Avatar
rcschummers rcschummers is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AUBURN
Posts: 1,254
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frt96 View Post
Is there some reason why you can't re-run the priming operation and finish seating the primers?? I have a hand held primer tool as well as one on my single stage. I had both of these prior to buying my Lee 1K so If I had high primers I think I would just re-run the operation.

My logic is if I don't blow primers seating them then why would they blow on a assembled cartrige? Please let me know if I'm wrong, I am pretty new.

I originally was thinking this. Then I thought what if powder made between the anvil and pocket. Chances of a detonation are so low, but why risk it. Buy a rcbs puller, you wont regret it.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 02-26-2014, 11:40 AM
Diesel12's Avatar
Diesel12 Diesel12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: North County San Diego
Posts: 54
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

My suggestion would be to use a kinetic bullet puller or a collet puller. Remove the bullet and powder from the case. Then you can re-seat the primer or remove it by running it through the de-capper die. Personally, I would not attempt to re-seat the primer if it is already a loaded round. Way too dangerous.

Listen to tiller!!!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-26-2014, 12:54 PM
maxumwake619 maxumwake619 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 240
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default

Allright guys here is the outcome.

The reason the primers were getting seated too high was that we were not pressing down hard enough on the downstroke to seat them properly using the lee 1000 (this was our first batch and we did not have the rhythm down).

I went out and bought an intertia hammer bullet puller (rcbs) and tried it out on some bullets that were seated too deep (primer just fine) to test out how it worked.

after a couple of successful tries with the hammer. i went on and tried them on some rounds where the primer was seated too high.

worked like a charm and had no issues what so ever.

even though the instructions say not too do it, i think there is little to no risk doing it this way.

good to go now.

thanks for the replies.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-26-2014, 1:10 PM
HighLander51 HighLander51 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,144
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

You just reseat the primers after you have adjusted your machine. The flat primer anvil is not going to set it off.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-26-2014, 9:18 PM
stilly's Avatar
stilly stilly is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Currently in a shanty I made in the river bottom by Eastvale.
Posts: 9,279
iTrader: 44 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxumwake619 View Post
Hello all,

I recently started reloading and my first batch had some primers that were not seated all the way and we finished them on a progressive press.

Now that we have ironed out the process and everything is rolling smoothely we would like to disassemble the high primer rounds and reuse the components (minus primer of course).

We bought a hammer puller and in the instructions it says not to use the hammer puller with high primers.

So my question is, how do we safely dissasemble these rounds?

thanks,
No brainer.

Use that hammer to yank the powder and bullet, then put the shells back on the press or in a hand press and seat the primers properly, then recharge and reseat and recrimp... Done.

There are too many people afraid of primers. Do not worry about them. They are harmless... Just be careful of where you put them. If you put them in the wrong place and zap them with electricity, you will have a claymore on your hands. Else they are harmless...
__________________
`Twas brillig, and the slithy toves...

Need GOOD SS pins to clean your brass? Try the new and improved model...


Author of the NY Times Best Selling book: How to Cheat and Win Like a Pro at Solitaire
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-27-2014, 7:04 AM
Chief-7700 Chief-7700 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Dallas TX
Posts: 3,247
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

Read this about primers:
http://www.predatormastersforums.com/killprimers.shtml
Chief
__________________

XL-650 to feed the .45ACP's Les Baer, SA TRP Full Rail Operator, Ruger SR 1911, Ruger Nightwatchman and a custom built Colt M1911. 9MM SA Range Officer and a Ruger P-85
IDPA A41750 Safety Officer
NRA Certified RSO
"Stay out of the deep end of the pool; correct the problem with your credit card, not your dremel!"
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-27-2014, 7:18 AM
Multra Multra is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 179
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Trying to reseat the primer while it is charged and has a bullet attached is ****ing retarded. Use the green hammer of shame with the supplied collet and you will be fine, there is nothing touching the primer that could cause it to go off.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-27-2014, 7:38 AM
J-cat J-cat is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 5,954
iTrader: 56 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxumwake619 View Post
Hello all,

I recently started reloading and my first batch had some primers that were not seated all the way and we finished them on a progressive press.

Now that we have ironed out the process and everything is rolling smoothely we would like to disassemble the high primer rounds and reuse the components (minus primer of course).

We bought a hammer puller and in the instructions it says not to use the hammer puller with high primers.

So my question is, how do we safely dissasemble these rounds?

thanks,
Are these military crimped primer pockets?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-27-2014, 8:06 AM
maxumwake619 maxumwake619 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 240
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-cat View Post
Are these military crimped primer pockets?
No.


Just operator error.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-27-2014, 8:18 AM
Jimi Jah's Avatar
Jimi Jah Jimi Jah is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: North San Diego County
Posts: 7,431
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by milotrain View Post
You could always just toss your mistakes, it's the smart move.
That's what I do. I'm not a gambler.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-27-2014, 8:41 AM
J-cat J-cat is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 5,954
iTrader: 56 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxumwake619 View Post
No.


Just operator error.
In that case there is no greater risk of explosion in disassembling the rounds using a kinetic bullet puller or reseating the primers using a hand priming tool.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:44 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.